We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, but with very little shade.”
Review of Railay Beach

Railay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.18*
and up
Half Day Rock Climbing Tours at Railay Beach in Krabi
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, but with very little shade.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were told about Railay Beach by one of the other guest at our hotel. It was a really nice beach, but it was difficult getting out of the long boat on to the beach, which was all little shells, I wish I had kept my shoes on. We only stayed for a couple of hours, but there is very little shade, just a row of trees, so you have to keep moving back under the shade. We both got sun burnt. SO BE CAREFUL, especially if you plan on staying all day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank seasoneddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,055
    1,113
    465
    165
    105
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“the beach”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

i find this beach to be an average one. it is beautiful though but it is full of tourists. i came to this beach by having a boat trip and saw the monkey(that is not so cool scenery) that were fed by the tourists. i honestly didn't like that but it seems to be an attraction over there. the beach in some parts of it was full of boats and if you wanted to waste for a while on some chairs you had to pay for the chairs. the gifts shop are ok in this place

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Scenic Beach - Must Visit”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you want a peaceful scenic beach vacation Railay Beach - Krabi is the place. Crystal clear emerald colour water and white sand beaches makes it a perfect spot to relax. You can get mouth watering, delicious and fresh local food served on small boats that are parked on the beach.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful unique beach. Well worth seeing.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This beach is only accessible by boat. You can get a longtail boat for about 150 baht. On each side there are huge rock faces rising out of the water. That's what makes Railay so unique and picturesque.

I would have given it 5 stars if the water were more turquoise. It was actually more brown than blue. That could just be the time of year and the fact is was overcast and there were storms in the area.

I enjoy photography and really enjoy photographing this beach.

The food and drink is more expensive than most other parts of Thailand. I paid $9 US for a mojito at a resort. I wasn't staying there, but they had no issues with me using their sun deck and beach chairs.

If you not staying on Railay the last longtail leaves at 5pm! Don't get stranded there. Also if there are waves the longtail may not run from the ocean side. Walk 10 minutes east to the bay and catch one there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful beach, long boats come and go with fresh food and drinks, and the beach is surrounded by stunning cliff tops.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cariaddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Railay Beach also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Railay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing