We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this horrible resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anyavee Railay Resort
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Avoid this horrible resort”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The customer service at this resort is absolutely pathetic.

After arriving on a flight from Bangkok, bus from Krabi Airport to Ao Nang, long tail boat to Railay Beach we found this resort which we had booked and paid for for two nights on Agoda only to be told there were no rooms available. This was at 3pm in the afternoon.

When we pushed the issue we were shown a room that had an air conditioner that was pulled apart and the room was under repair. We refused to accept that room as it was not what we booked and paid for. The front desk staff were completely apathetic that they could not provide the service that was booked and paid for. No apologies. They did their best to just ignore us and tell us that we had to cancel the booking via Agoda ourselves.

Given that this was Chinese New Year and the elections in Thailand weekend every other hotel we walked up to to enquire if they had a room available was fully booked. We had little choice but to get back on a long tail boat and leave Railay Beach.

This resort absolutely ruined our holiday and caused an undue amount of stress. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    113
    110
    58
    62
See reviews for
44
160
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We booked three nights in a wooden bungalow with double-bed for approx. 2850 Baht per night.

When we arrived in the morning we were told that they are booked out and that they did not receive any reservation but we could come back in one week when they would have free rooms again. After the first shock we insisted and showed them the confirmation e-mail.

Looking through their stack of paper sheets again they found our reservation and told us that they received it too late and they would only have two nights free and we should cancel the reservation with our online agency and book the two nights with them. After this second shock we said we would not cancel anything and that we insist on our reservation.

Looking at their computer again they found out that they surprisingly had a room for the third night but we would have to change rooms.

Since the staff hardly speaks any english it was really anoying and hard to comunicate. Really embarassing for a supposingly 3-Star Hotel. Sadly enough this was not the end of the story.

When we came back three hours later at 2pm to get into the room (they did not let us in earlier) a ladyboy at the front desk told us the room was not ready then laughed because it was a joke. We did not feel like joking any more... We were guided to a bungalow with two single beds. Generally the bungalows are very run-down and in bad shape. Telling the lady that that we booked a room with a double-bed she just said that this was the only free bungalow, turned around and walked away. We did not want to ruin our holiday discussing with the incapable staff so we decided to stay.

Two days later when we were supposed to change bungalows we were guided to a small ugly room. Telling the staff that we paid 2850 Baht for a bungalow and we would not accept to stay in a room that usually is significantly cheaper surprisingly they figured that they also have a free bungalow. So we stayed the remaining night there and were really happy to leave and never come back.

Besides our trouble with the booking here are more points worth mentioning:
- Staff speaks almost no english
- Bungalows are really run-down; wood floor was broken; curtain rail half ripped off the wall
- Bathroom armatures are covered with a layer of chalk obviously not cleaned for a long time
- One breakfast croissant was moldy; when we showed it to the staff she threw this one away and left the others there
- Wild cats are running around the tables while people have breakfast
- Only very few bungalows actually have seaview which is marketed on their website
- ... and so on ...

We can only recommand to keep away from this place. It has been reviewed very poorly in older posts and it definitively not improved.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dakrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night was suppose to be 3 nights in January during peek season. They were charging us 4200 bht this resort is worth 1500 bht. We ended up changing rooms twice both were very dirty and the bathrooms were awful mold and stains on the walls.This resort is over priced it's unbelievable what they are charging people. We felt ripped off. We went for a walk on the east side of Railay and found a beautiful brand new resort charging the same price! We asked for our money back and switched resorts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockyfx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a good time. Location is good, minutes waking to good beaches and restaurants. We paid around 50 euros per night and found it worth for the money as the rooms were big with a/c and the breakfast and pool were really nice. Staff are helpful. Specially with the extremely rude russian guests which were yelling at them in russian like they were supposed to understand. This was a bit down point to us. We felt sorry for the receptionists. Overal was a great place and would recommend. We found all hotels, bungalows and resorts in thailand overpriced for what they offer so its no only this one. Railay is beautiful by the way.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fabiani m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were visiting Railay on the peak season, days before and after New Year's. We booked this hotel already back in August for 6 people, three rooms, and paid 125 EUR/night/room. Unbelievably expensive, emphasised by the poor quality of the hotel.

Everything seemed like the hotel would have been closed at least for the past 6 months and then opened for the season, without proper cleaning. In the first bungalow we got there were dead bugs everywhere, hanging from the roof, walls etc. Luckily we got to change the room and received a little cleaner one. Hideous towels and sheets, light blue towels with teddybears and bunnies on them and wornout sheets with flowers on them. Our friends had a huge mold stain on their sheets and had to get them changed in the middle of the night.

Overall bad service, the workers only facebook and are not at all interested in customers. After complaining about the loss of warm water after our first day, we only got a 500 THB refund on the 5 nights, meaning we paid 122 EUR for each night and didn't get much on return.

The pool and the location are ok, as well the breakfast, but so not worth the price they charge. Warning for monkeys that come to the hotel area every afternoon, stealing everything available from foods and drinks to clothes. The personnel are not bothered by this either, just sit with their mobile phones and couldn't care less.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Due to high season we had to change room twice because we hadn't booked in advance. The rooms we stayed in 2 bungalows and 1 apartment - quality vary greatly. In fact it feels like having stayed at different resorts. The bungalows in wooden style are the better option, I believe nr 100-109.

Pool area is good and breakfast decent and they make eggs if your choice for you and fresh fruit. Coffee is not bad. Service is very slow and resemble the overall Krabi way of treating tourists. However housekeeping is good.

Two strange observations though: they offer accommodation in tent, which drives down the overall feeling of an ok resort. And two, they don't secure garbage which attracts monkeys on a daily basis (in a bad way!) - should be fairly easy to avoid.

With that said, this is my 3rd visit to Railay and I have never been happy with mid range accommodation. You basically pay a lot for what you get. Might consider staying fewer days at a better resort like Bhu Nga. PS be careful when eating at East Railay restaurants that look Backpacker - my travel group got food poisoned twice at two different places. Try Mangrove for good Thai.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildemakrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

As you've probably seen by now this hotel is on the mangrove side (Railay East) which is closer to bars and restaurants but not a beach. This hotel is located right next to the path which cuts across the island to Railay West (beautiful beach) which is great about the hotel's location (nothing is more than 10 minutes away in Railay). Aside from location that is about all that is great about this place (oh, and the pool - the pool is nice). It looks like the hotel was constructed in the early 90s and then left completely alone since then. It wouldn't take much to renovate this place and put it on par with the other resorts around. We stayed in the B-block of bungalows which were fine, just outdated decor, but clean. We met other guests who were in the C-block and said they had not had running water and the staff was not helpful in fixing the problem. It was difficult to find anyone on the staff who spoke English. I would not stay here again unless you really can't find anything better (as was the case for us booking late for New Years Eve).

Room Tip: We had a better room in the B-block than friends in the C-block. We did not see inside the wooden bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Railay Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Railay Princess Resort and Spa
Railay Princess Resort and Spa
#6 of 13 in Railay Beach
895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Garden View Resort
Railay Garden View Resort
#9 of 13 in Railay Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anyavee Railay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anyavee Railay Resort

Property: Anyavee Railay Resort
Address: 390 Moo 2 Railay East | Aonang Subdistrict, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anyavee Railay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anyavee Railay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anyavee Railay Hotel Railay Beach
Anyavee Railay Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing