We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunning location, beachfront at bay with huge limestone towers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railay Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Railay Village Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“stunning location, beachfront at bay with huge limestone towers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had asked our travel agent ( the crew from andaman adventures - they're pretty wellknown in Thailand ) to get us out of our comfort zone and somewhere new, to surprise us !
And boy they did – this place Railay is a wonder of nature. And it looked like we stayed at the very best resort on this little semi-island. The hotel is operated very professionally, and we’ve learned from other travellers complaints that this is quite rare in this part of Thailand ! You always feel looked after and taken care of. The staff was very nice and our room was, well, just great ! We always seem to get the best room in the house Ha! Beautiful views, quiet. Great swimming pool overlooking what may be the most dramatic bay/beach ever. We can recommend this resort and location!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaP185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    345
    150
    59
    42
See reviews for
149
455
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in mid April 2014 where we had a wonderful stay. We booked our transfer from the airport through the hotel and were met at the airport and taken to a pier where we were ushered onto a longtail boat for the 30 minute ride out to the resort. Stunning views as you round the point and come to the west side of Railay. This is not a Four Seasons so don't expect that level of hotel service and amenities. However it is a nice, comfortable, relaxing clean resort. The poolview room we booked was directly above the fabulous second pool at the back of the property. The pool was surrounded by flowering trees and shrubs. The restaurant served an average breakfast with above average omelets. The restaurant had good food for lunch and dinner, much better than the Mangrove Restaurant nearby that everyone raves about. Kayaks were available for rent as well as a number of trips that could be booked through the tour desk. The only problem we had was a septic tank smell (common all over Thailand's islands) coming through the AC but a call to the front desk sent a maintenance guy to quickly repair something and it was gone. All in all, a very nice place to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGreatVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the resort so cannot comment on that. Although by all accounts it looks beautiful.

However, the Chief Barista in the Coffee Shop is very skilled and also really friendly too. He will make you feel very welcome and will brew your coffee just the way you like it.

He has created a great menu in his small coffee shop, some of the coffee drinks are completely unique to his shop.

He has a selection of French pastries and some ice creams too. There is AC in the shop and free wifi too. One of the most hospitable places on the island.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Though it's price is not cheap , house location and service are all good.Breakfast is good. but in May it's very hot so maybe more fans needed in the hotel restaurant and frontdesk. In the room one fan is also needed because air condiontioner is strong,sometimes only one fan is enough. Excellent memory here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumncameq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Staffs very friendly even most of them do not understand english much but they do try give us aw much as they can to serve and help during the stay.

Most of the dishes serve in the restaurant are delicious either local dishes or western delights.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I'm not sure really where to start with this hotel.
The pool & gardens were beautiful.

The room was nice, but we booked the room for 3 adults & the so-called sofa bed is only a reasonable bed for a child, it is way too small for an adult, so in that respsect the room was not the best. There were always a lot of mosquittos in the room & I know that it's a tropical climate etc etc, but there are things you can provide, such as mosquittos nets & bug zappers.

The hotel restaurant was just mediocre, nothing special - there are plenty of better places close by. The fact that it does not sell alcohol was no real issue, they are happy for you to pop to the bar next door & bring your drinks back to the restaurant.

The staff were missing that usual Thai hospitallity, they just didn't seem interested or happy with their jobs & this is the opposite of what you normally get in Thailand. Of course there were a couple of exceptions amongst the staff.

The transport to the airport is not the most reliable. The man at the counter tried to tell me that pick-up would be 2 hours before my flight was due to leave, however I insisted that pick-up was 3 hours before. This was lucky, because the boat showed up 45 minutes late, so if I had follwed the advice & arranged pick-up 2 hours before my flight, I would have missed it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

On a four destination trip organized by andaman sky aventures, We went down to Railay Beach, which is in Krabi. Firstly, this bay is pure paradise. There are three beaches in total. Two of them are great, but I will say Railay East doe not have a nice beach. The resort itself is fantastic with staff being ever so helpful and constantly smiling. The breakfast is not bad, but we have no complaints as we were not expecting the best breakfast, considering its location. The beach is a mere minute walk away. We booked the deluxe pool view room and have no regrets. Great price for what you get.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#9 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Village Resort

Property: Railay Village Resort
Address: 544 Moo 2 Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Railay Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Village Hotel Railay Beach
Railay Village Krabi
Railay Village Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing