We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Railay Village Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Edmonton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Save your money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you are coming from Phi Phi Don, note that the large boat drops you onto a long boat, that drops you off in thigh high water, depending on the tide, and you must walk 50 meters or so to shore. This I suppose is expectable for a backpacker, but we helped some elderly people that had a lot of baggage, so it is something to consider.

Pros:
The hotel grounds are very clean, and the resort couldn't be in a better location. Beautiful breakfast view, the buffet breakfast is mostly thai food, but all the food we had during our stay was of good quality. The pools just outside our room was great on the 30+degree days. They even offered room service when a storm flew in and the restaurant area was closed.

Cons:
The front desk staff woman when we checked in seemed preoccupied and unfriendly. They were also understaffed for bellhops, and the wait time to even get into our room was over thirty minutes. The room itself was large, with an open concept, however an unconsidered design flaw was the windows and glass door in the bathroom. The toilet is directly viewable from the hall, the bed and front door, slightly still with the curtains drawn. Cleanliness was also an issue, fingerprints on many of the windows, floors dirty, no fresh towels, & our coffee cups were left in the bathroom sink.

For the cost in comparison to other hotels in the area, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    352
    150
    59
    42
See reviews for
155
468
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karkur
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel offers convenient access to the beach, but bear in mind that during the high tide hours, there is almost no beach. It also has two swimming pools: a smaller one near the entrance and a bigger and charming one between the Deluxe Pool View rooms.

The hotel restaurant offers average food, reasonably priced (they don’t offer alcoholic drinks at the hotel). The service is like in most places in Thailand, polite and willing to help with all your needs.

The hotel offers two types of rooms: Deluxe pool view and Jacuzzi Villa. We stayed at the deluxe pool view, so I can’t advise on the interior of the Jacuzzi Villa, but I can advise on the location. Due to the shape of the hotel, the Jacuzzi Villa’s (some of them) are closer to the restaurant and to the beach (in the hours) but they are located far from the swimming pool. The Deluxe pool view rooms are two minutes’ walk from the beach but the swimming pool is only two meters from your door step (if you are on the ground floor) or few stairs (if you are on the first floor), which makes those rooms very enjoyable. The rooms are spacious and very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Huh ? What is going here ? This place was just flat-out awesome ! It was as luxurious as other hotels in our itinerary that cost double the price !! We just did another mind-boggling trip through Thailand, mapped out for us by anda;an adventures - looks like they send their high end customers to the same set of hotels judging by the reviews here. But anyway, we wanted something lower priced for Railay, to stay within budget, and Railay Village was just aces! The beach -- one of the world's top ten beaches !! i cannot comprehend how some posters could complain - if you dont find this beach impressive, i wonder how you must feel on regular, run-of-the-mill beaches. Take our word for it : Railay Village's beach WILL blow you away. Seriously. Staff was friendly and helpful at all times, all 7 days of our stay here. The architecture and materials was almost identical to resorts double the price - just wicked value for money in our opinion. we already decided we WILL be back here

Room Tip: our agent got us the villa closest to the main pool (enormous + beachfront). nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The place has some ups and downs, but all in all it was rather nice. We stayed in the poolside rooms not the villas and they were clean, modern and comfortable. The bathrooms aren't fancy but are more than adequate with separate showers and a nice soaking tub. Room was large, mattress comfortable and the AC was good as was the balcony. Pools was very clean.

Breakfast is basic and could easily be improved. Bad reviews for the food otherwise kept me from trying the menu at any other time. Location on Railay West is nice - but because of the design of the hotel there is no such thing as a beach view room. The poolside rooms are way back on the property, almost halfway between the two beaches (which isn't a big deal 5 minute walk). Beach is very pretty but I have to imagine that it gets packed in the high season.

Downside: Hotel comes off badly for trying to charge $30 extra per day for an "extra bed" when all they do is put sheets and pillows on the divan/couch which is certainly not big enough for an adult but is fine for a kid. They really should rethink this policy as two families who were there the same time we were felt very ripped off by this.

Place is quiet and comfortable. Good location. I'd certainly go back.

Big tip here is book your airport transfer directly with the hotel. Everyone who did was very happy - 45 minutes door to door instead of 2 plus hours and having to haggle and struggle with everything. Pretty good deal too as you get a whole van that will easily fit 10 for the same price (believe it was about $40).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc_JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was a brilliant place to come and stay, it was maybe the best place we stayed in our comprehensive and lengthy tour of the region custom built to our requirements by Andaman Adventures (great job thanks a lot to them). The view is absolutely magnificent, even at night, when the rock formations of the one-kilometre-long, 200-metre-high Sleeping Indian wall look like – a sleeping Indian.

The Railay Village’s location on the most prime real estate on Railay is what gives it its wow factor, it makes it such a pleasant place to chill out – just relax, watch the view, wonder why the rock climbers can be bothered to scamper all over it, contemplate the next meal or cocktail – bliss. Don’t be in too much of a hurry here, as this is not a city hotel with lightning quick service, the waiters take their time a bit more here – they can do this without causing a problem though, as the restaurant is located in such a magnificent place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marcsanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Jacuzzi villa: it rained and the roof leaked and cut of the electricity & Aircon 3 times in the night. The rooms are dark, gloomy and musty inside and need a refresh. The mattress is also hard like those in China hotels. They also have ponds around them which looks nice but is great breeding ground for mosquitoes. I was bitten very badly, it would be better if they filled them in as a garden feature instead. Would recommend the pool villas instead. The swimming pools were nice and clean. Overall landscaping is nicely done. Staff are friendly.
Breakfast is uninspiring with stewed coffee, they could do with a decent coffee machine.
The lunch/dinner a la carte Thai food was excellent and very reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose a pool villa not the Jacuzzi Villa as they look newer, brighter inside and are away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HkExpatBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Negatives:
In the restaurant, a very basic salad dish took 35 minutes because of 'a big party' - actual party size of 12. And only one other couple in the restaurant at the time. 2nd time that a simple lunch snack has taken longer than 25 minutes to arrive.
Asked for chocolate milk, but only do milkshake. Waiter told me to go to the resort coffee shop which was 15 meters away (and not open when I attempted 10 minutes earlier), but waiters regularly walk 150m to the shop on the Main Street to buy alcohol for guests.
Horrible 'sewage' smell by the spa and rooms 1031 / 1032 on some days.
TV remote batteries stopped working on the 2nd day. Asked reception for assistance but nothing happened. Continued to use the tv without the convenience of the remote.
Wifi coverage is almost inaccessible for most of the day and night in the rooms despite wifi allegedly being advertised as a free service - unless you sit at the front of the hotel (outside the coffee shop or reception) where it is available, but it can be slow during busy times.
Bed linen not changed for first 6 days. Air con, even on low, in the room was noisy.
Service from the female assistant in the coffee shop on first visit was quite rude. The levels of hospitality demonstrated by the restaurant staff varied widely.
On site shop open occasionally.
The path to east railay is signposted 'staff only', but guests do use it. Rubbish and scrap just left at the side of the walkway which is unsightly and a potential health hazard.
No loungers overlooking the beach (which is by far the west side of the islands best asset and something some of the other hotels provide).
Limited tv channels (approx 5) - much needed when there is a storm and little or no wifi coverage in the rooms.

Positives:
The spa staff were very helpful and welcoming as were the reception staff and the odd site staff.
Room cleaned daily. Fresh towels every day.
Breakfast choice very good, and timings were very expansive (7-10am).
Pool cleaned regularly. General outdoor area is kept clean. Restaurant toilets were clean.
Good location, the front of the hotel - the restaurant area overlooks the long beach.
On the penultimate day, we were asked if we could move to another room because there had been a mix up with another booking by a family who needed adjoining rooms, so we were moved to a villa at no extra cost be it less than 24 hours before we were due to leave.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bif023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Village Resort

Property: Railay Village Resort
Address: 544 Moo 2 Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Railay Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Village Hotel Railay Beach
Railay Village Krabi
Railay Village Resort Krabi/Railay Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing