We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An oasis in the desert”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at Qasr al Sarab for 3 nights for Easter. Overall, we had a wonderful stay.
Plus :
- the location : you 're in the middle of the desert with surrounded by only dunes . It's very peaceful and conducive to reflection & retreat.
- the premises : the hotel is understated in warm desert colours. The pool is fantastic.
- rooms are very nice, comfortable and spacious . We had a balcony room with a fantastic view of the dunes.
- staff overall : very friendly and affable
- food : fantastic breakfast, one of the best I have ever had. My compliments to the Chef.
The dinner in the tent is a must experience.
Water was free which is very much appreciated.

Negative or shall I say rather can be improved:
- more carbon-neutral produces : we don't need salmon, water from Australia.
- better choice for wine : wine is almost prohibitive and the choice is limited. I would encourage the F&B manager to propose an intelligent offer, ie better wines at better prices - you would simply sell more !

On the all, I highly recommend Qasr al Sarab and would have loved to stay longer

Room Tip: Take a balcony room on the 1st floor and order in-dining service for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,640
    277
    75
    21
    28
See reviews for
912
1,535
68
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had a magnificent 3-night stay at the resort. The architecture, decor and grounds were beautiful. The staff was incredibly helpful, and the activities were amazing. The room was large, well-appointed and very cool. (A big plus in the desert!) Go prepared to relax, as there isn't much to do in the middle of the desert, but the view alone is worth the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

After 12 years of living in the UAE, going to the desert did not seem so terribly exciting. I had done numerous desert safaris with numerous family members and friends, who by the way, have never trip advisor'd my place!

Qasr Al Sarab is like something from a film, the vast expanse of desert in colours ranging from the purest white to slate grey to fiery red is unimaginable.

The hotel itself is very cleverly laid out and resembles a village somewhere in the mediterranean, but you cannot really pinpoint where.

The resort is immense and friendly staff are readily available to take you around in golf buggies.

The pool is incredibly clean with an endless supply of bottled water, a swim up bar, casual dining restaurant and a cocktail list for those brave enough to drink in the desert sun!

There is a shaded shallow pool, ideal for small children and an unshaded area with a fountain that will also keep the little ones amused. A nice touch is also a stand selling that forgotten sunscreen, pair of goggles etc.

The lobby of the hotel is magnificent and the finish of the build is outstanding, those who are used to building finishing in the UAE will know just how important this is.

The room itself (one bedroom villa) was by far the loveliest room that I have ever seen, again the attention to detail was fantastic.

The garden had day beds and a splash pool as well as a place to sit and eat.

The activities on offer include a camel ride to see the sunset, whereupon a picnic basket is produced with sandwiches, drinks and fruit.

This was just a fabulous getaway and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

We used the nanny service while we had dinner and this worked very well, there was also the option of an extra bed for our toddler and a very well stocked kids club for a change of scenery.

Huge thumbs up to the breakfast buffet too!

Room Tip: They are all very quiet, the resort is vast so closer to the pool might be better for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Qasr Al Sarab which was for the first half of our honeymoon. The scenery and surroundings are just amazing, and every picture/photo that you see on this site and others really does do it justice.

We had a terrace room which we felt was ample space for the two of us. To list some of the highlights -
The food - fantastic, some of the best throughout our honeymoon. Quite big portions so towards the end we mastered sharing mezze and a main between us. In room dining was reasonable and excellent service.
The gym - might sound odd going on the honeymoon but the resort is isolated so its great that their facilities are so good. Its all state of the art machines - really excellent. Best we've seen/used in any hotels.
Staff are extremely attentive and helpful.
The bed was amazing - huge and extremely comfortable (good pillows!)

The General Manager, Wael Soueid had excellent visibility around the resort. Meeting guests and ensuring we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. We didn't have this at our second resort (of a similar calibre/rating) and looking back really appreciated him taking the time to meet us.

The one thing that is lacking is a well stocked library/games room which guests can use (take plenty with you). The library has pretty much no fiction/light reading books which we think would be an asset to the resort due to its location. Its great to lie by the pool with a good read!

We did a morning camel ride which was fun but pretty basic. The tennis courts are great to use if you get an opportunity.

We heard the pool/pool bar is getting a bit of an upgrade. Its fine as it is but would definitely benefit the resort if it was more modern.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planningatrip1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Just a short two hour drive, heading towards the Saudi border from Abu Dhabi and a stones throw from a place called Hameem, you come across a wonderful piece of imagination and initiative, called Qasr Al Sarab. This was just a quick one night stay to get a taste and feel, and we are definitely going back for a much longer stay. The staff literally swamp you on arrival, sweep you into the hotel and before you know it your in your room with a brilliant outlook of the desert and facilities...ours was a Balcony room, with a overview of the pool and beyond. If you want to feel pampered, then start planning and make the effort it is well worth it. If your into photography, I believe you will not be disappointed and there are a number of activities to get involved in. Kids will love this place as it has one of the best pool lay outs that I've seen, including a life guard next to the kids area. You have a number of restaurants, and unfortunately for our limited time we were unable to try them all , but having said that we were not disappointed with the dinner and breakfast area that we attended. Staff are top rate, they go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay....so what are you waiting for, get going, get planning,and make it happen....you will love it.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed here for the 2nd time this year and booked the highest room category this time. It had a great stay at the pool villa and left happy and relaxed. The staff told me upon checking and checkout that my frequent flyer points will be credited into my account. That did not happen a month back and I contacted the hotel and was told that the room rate does not "qualify" for any points. The reservation manager was not willing to give in even after he learned that I was told during my stay that I will get the points. Very dissapointing for a hotel charging US$930/night for a pool villa. This was my last stat at the QAS.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngmohofArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Warm greetings from Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara!

We have duly noted your comments posted on our Trip Advisor account particularly with regards to airmiles which were not credited to your account. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience you experienced. Moreover, we would appreciate if you could please send your name and Etihad Loyalty guest number to Leo-an Canuday on lcanuday@anantara.com and she will personally arranged to credit the points to your account for both stays.

At Anantara we are committed to providing wonderful memories for all our guests and we hope you will give us the opportunity to share with you true Anantara hospitality once again in the future.

Yours faithfully,

Wael Soueid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We arrived late evening after a 2 hour journey from the airport, just have to sit back and enjoy th ride as there is nothing to see, even in daylight its just sand!
Check in was a bit slow and by the time our bags arrived it was too late to venture to the bar, this could be speeded up as its the last thing you want after the journey.
The hotel is vast, being built in a crescent shape to the contours of the dunes, so if you are in one of the rooms on the north end as we were its quite a walk to the hotel centre and then on again to the pool, so dont forget anything of you will have to walk miles back and forth.
Pool is very good, big with several different areas and a special kids pool too, swim up bar is nice especially when the pool surround becomes red hot in the middle of the day. Friday and Saturdays get very busy with weekenders from Dubai and Abu Dhabi and with this the noise levels increased significantly, advice is to get to the pool early to get nice spot which isnt too crowded.
Pool bar offers cold bottled water all day, free, which is a nice touch as it does get really hot and with a slight breeze the fine dusty sand covers you and all your possesions as the day goes on.
All of the restaurants offered very good quality food, breakfast buffet was particularly good as was the Al Waha buffet in the evening, Suhail was a nice treat and pretty child free.
The rooms are superb, high quality finish with a bath big enough to swim in, comfortable bed and a really innovative lighting control system, which adds a few minutes onto your day trying to work out how to get the room into total darkness.
The only disappointing thing was the main bar, not very inviting, probably why it was empty most of the time, so a pre or after dinner drink was a bit of a let down and of course in true remote quality hotel style, very expensive.
A must do thing is to climb the mountain like dune in front of the hotel, do it early morning or late afternoon to appreciate the landscape and to avoid dying of heatstroke.
Overall this is a lovely place for a short break and be prepared to do very little.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamim
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
#13 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton International Hotel
Clifton International Hotel
#16 of 18 in Fujairah
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl Hotel
Pearl Hotel
#1 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barracuda Beach Resort
Barracuda Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Paragon Hotel Apartments
#14 of 33 in Abu Dhabi
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara

Property: Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
Address: 1 Qasr Al Sarab Road, Hamim 131277, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Liwa Oasis > Hamim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where mystic charm, cultural passion and unparalleled luxury evoke distinctive memories. Set in the middle of the Rub' al Khali or Empty Quarter, the largest uninterrupted body of sand in the world, Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resorts by Anantara is isolated from the world, yet is less than 200km away from Abu Dhabi. The resort brings the mysticism of this eminent location to life, inviting you to discover the unique appeal of its surroundings. Enjoy an array of facilities and immerse yourself in the wonderful splendour of an eternally changing landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Destinology, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort By Anantara Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing