We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Liwa Hotel(Liwa Oasis)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,546)
Filter reviews
3,546 results
Traveller rating
3,087
309
88
27
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,087
309
88
27
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabu dhabisand dunesdune bashingcamel rideunique experienceout of this worldprivate poolamazing placewatch the sunsettwo hoursswim up barlong drivehour drivestunning locationwelcome drinkpool sideyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,791 - 1,796 of 3,546 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Obviously the location of this hotel, located in the middle of the dunes of Rub al-Khali, is its greatest asset - but it is not the only one.
The resort itself is absolutely beautiful, great architecture, wonderful plants, water everywhere. We also liked our room a lot, well sized, very comfortable with a little garden and a great view over the resort and the dunes.
Breakfast is very good with international as well as local dishes. Service is outstanding, almost too much from our point of view (it is almost impossible to carry your plate from the buffet back to your table on your own). The pool area is very nice with (again) a great service during the day.
We just stayed for two nights so we couldn't do a lot of the activities offered - we did the sunrise dune hiking, which is a wonderful experience though the hike itself is a little short. Many guests recommended the dune riding with special bikes, unfortunately it already was booked out that day so we were not able to make it - but it looked like being fun! :)
Dinner at the buffet restaurant "Al Waha" was excellent and with about 50 Euros per person fairly priced. At the Steakhouse "Suhail" you can enjoy a very good sunset cocktail with a fantastic view of the sunset. Dinner however is very expensive - 100 Euros are too much for a steak imho - even for a tenderloin in the middle of the desert...
To sum it up: we love the Qasr Al Sarab and hopefully will return!

Room Tip: We had room 429, which is a garden room close to all the main facilities like pool, restaurants, lobby etc. - we liked it very much!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perilymphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Perilymphe,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful yet candid review with regards to your stay at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara.

It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the accommodation and service. Please be assured that you kind comments will be shared to the rest of Qasr Al Sarab Team.

Furthermore, we always welcome not just positive feedback but also constructive comments which we find it extremely helpful in the continuous improvements of our product and services. Your observation has been noted and will be reviewed accordingly.

We are grateful for your support and we are delighted to hear that you intend to stay with Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara once again.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a stunning location in the Rub Al KhaliI Desert. I have no words to describe this stunning hotel. From the moment you get out of your car, you are treated like Queen/ King. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I was upgraded to a terrace room which was very beautiful. Will go back anytime!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Evs75,

Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay.

I was very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your visit with us and would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the accommodation and service. We will certainly share the compliments with the team so they know that their dedication and hard work do not go unnoticed.

Our sincere thanks for your continuous support and we are very glad to hear that you intend to stay with Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara once again.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed for a night at this most amazing resort in my favorite desert after a few days at their superb hotel in Abu Dhabi (to which I returned again). What an experience! The bathrooms are spectacular with Elemis shampoo and soaps of the finest quality.
Food and service quality of the highest standard be it breakfast, in-room dining or the Steakhouse. Though pricey, I have not had a better steak in years.
My son and grandson enjoyed an early morning ride on Fat Bikes through the amazing dunes. Don’t miss visiting the falcons and saluki’s at their little center.
I will return

Room Tip: Room tip: 1 or 2 bedroom villa with private pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schlumpfi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Schlumpfi1106,

I appreciate the time you took to post your superb review about your recent stay.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests. It was thoughtful of you to inform us of this great news which always serves as great encouragement and motivation for our team. We are also glad that your family enjoyed our new desert activities. Rest assured that such remarkable praises will be passed on the rest of the team.

Once again, your valued patronage is very much appreciated and looking forward to be at your service again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This has been one of the best hotels that I have stayed.

I travel quite frequently and decided to take a short break in qasr al sarab.

The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of the liwa desert dunes and all rooms have fantastic view of the dunes.

The rooms are very spacious and confortable and their decoration really adds to the overall hotel feeling.

Staff attended to all our requests and made sure the stay was perfect.

The breakfast was also very good, even for 5 star hotel standards.

I recommend the desert activities (a bit expensive) like the dune bashing, horse riding in the desert, etc.

Will definitely return when I have a chance.

Please note that the hotel is 200km away from abu dhabi and there is nothing surrounding it. So it is perfect for a short break, if you plan to stay more than 4 days please take this into consideration

Room Tip: I choose the garden room and it was perfect. I loved our little terrace and the over sized bathtub in the room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grao_Mestre_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Grao_Mestre_V,

Thank you for your amazing review and for your appreciation of the resort.

I have read with pleasure your positive comments about your recent stay with us and that we were able to provide you a tranquil and relaxing break. It will be a great motivation for the teams concerned to hear about your satisfaction and I will not fail to let them know.

We are grateful for your valued patronage and looking forward to providing you another amazing experience.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Qasr Al Sarab is an amazing place. It's location is perfect; nestled deep in beautiful red/orange sand dunes in the middle of nowhere. The quality of pretty much everything is first rate and it really feels like a true desert oasis and somewhere that feels totally original. Definitely recommend, although the price is heart stoppingly expensive unless you go in the unbearable summer heat.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a villa which was awesome!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimJammer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear JimJammer82,

Thank you for your lovely review.

Indeed, we are very happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Moreover, we are pleased to hear that you appreciated our location and that you felt comfortable.

Thank you again and we hope we will have another opportunity to wow you.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews