We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic escape”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My girlfriend surprised me to a night at the Anantara Qasr Al Sarab for my birthday, and I must say, I was not at all disappointed. All the way from the lovely drive up to the hotel through to check out I was taken care of by caring staff members and a breathtaking resort experience. It's in the same category as the Banyan Tree Al Wadi and Al Maha Desert Resort - except the really long drive up from Dubai to the Liwa Desert somehow adds to the experience.

The desert view from the deluxe room is overwhelming and the characteristics of the arabian desert flow into the rooms aesthetics. I have to note that the bathroom is AMAZING!

During my visit, the attractive food and beverage outlets were closed hence I didn't have a great F&B experience, the pool bar was also closed as it was during the Holy Month of Ramadan. However, the staff recognized it was my birthday through my loyalty membership and took the initiative to deliver a special cake at midnight - that was the cherry on top.

Do not miss out on the archery experience! Unfortunately I did not indulge in any other activities to comment.

Would I return? Yes yes yes.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe room that oversees the royal villas and the uninterrupted dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiteshGandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear HiteshGandhi,

Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay.

We are always happy when a guest chooses to stay at our hotel, furthermore honored when the stay is tied with a special occasion such as birthday. We are delighted that your stay exceeded all your expectations and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Once again, your valued patronage is very much appreciated and looking forward to be at your service again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,646
    278
    75
    22
    28
See reviews for
914
1,540
68
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

While we had high expectations I must admit that we were not prepared for what we were about to experience! Qasr Al Sarab as a resort is located in probably one of the most breathtaking locations one can find, the architecture of the property, landscape etc blend well in the environment and the arrival experience leaves you breathless – still wondering what we were about to experience it was the genuine care and passion for excellence displayed by each member of the team that made this trip simply “one of a kind” – the kind assistance and genuine care of Grace, the team at Al Waha restaurant and all guest service attendees were simply fabulous - starting with the airport transport until check out it was the passion, pride and professionalism of each and every member of the team that WOWD!!
We had travelled as a family of four (our two boys are still young) and were somewhat concerned whether we would find enough to do, being somewhat remote, but the vast space of the property, tennis, wonderful pools, stunning Spa and the extremely spacious accommodations kept us busy and well occupied. When you visit Qasr Al Sarab you must explore, heading for a Desert Safari, Dune bashing or riding a “Fat Bike” will give you a new understanding of the beauty the Desert does have to offer. I was especially impressed by the Cultural and Environmental educational information made available – as you can imagine there is a story behind the property – go and find out, a trip you will not forget, ever!

Room Tip: Choose a villa located directly at the edge of the Desert - the sunsets are simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikandFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear NikandFamily2014,

Thank you for the time you took to post a review about your stay with us, it is sincerely appreciated.

We really appreciate you sharing your amazing experience in particular the excellent service and hospitality provided to you by our associates. Please be assured that such remarkable praises will be pass on the rest of the team. It is always a great encouragement and motivation for our team to hear about guest satisfaction which is our main concern.

We are grateful for your support and we are looking forward to welcoming you to Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angers, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This resort is a few hours drive from Dubai but it is really worst the visit. It is so different than I thought it was going to be. The desert is just overwhelming by its colours, silence and magnitude. The hotel is just like in a film. We opted for a villa, so you have a bedroom, lounge, enormous bathroom, and private garden with big plunge pool over looking the desert. There is also a big communal pool ideal for late afternoon and drinks in the pool bar. Lots to do on offer. A few different and excellent restaurants, we tried them all and were very happy with the experiences. The spa was very good. We had a couple massage and facials.

The staff was very attentive and efficient.
A fab place to discover as a couple or family.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank frenchfrog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear frenchfrog66,

Thank you for your fantastic review and for your appreciation of the resort.
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you sharing your amazing experience in the hospitality provided to you by our associates. Please be assured that such remarkable praises will be pass on the rest of the team.

In the meantime, we thank you once again for your valued patronage. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you once more in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wonderful place in UAE even in hot summer. It is thee BEST resort in the Area . Fascinating decor ,Impecaable services and staff . You wont ask for anything better ... The Breakfast is top notch and the activities are damn great. I would plan for more stay and fun soon.

Room Tip: Garden view is nice , Balcony view is Great and Suite is grandeur
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinner P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Kinner P,

Thank you for your splendid review and for giving us the opportunity to provide you with our best services and hospitality.I have read with pleasure your positive comments on our accommodation and service. It will be a great motivation for the team concerned to hear about your satisfaction and I will not fail to let them know.

We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We recently visit the resort for a two night stay and I would like to say it was really enjoyable from the moment we left the main road driving through all the dunes and then to be met by very friendly and helpful staff that assisted us from our car in to the lobby. From there the experience just got better, the lovely lady at reception, Maya gave us a warm welcome and she was very helpful throughout the rest of our stay.
On arrival in our room the spaciousness and luxury was really impressive the view the balcony over the dunes looked promising and was confirmed at sunset. Our 1st night we had dinner at Ghadeer restaurant which overlook the beautiful pool area and offering an ale carte menu, we picked venison and it was really an excellent choice. The restaurant staff were very helpful without being at your table every two minutes. The breakfast buffet in Al Waha was just as great and the manager Manu really cares about his guests. The next day we decided to try one of the adventure activities on offer. The choices you have make it difficult to decide if you have limited time, our choice was the hard drive dune bashing. This was a 1st time experience for us and was it not for the professionalism of our guide Azmat I’m sure the experience wouldn't have been the same. The staff is really helpful and go out of their way to meet any request. We travel a lot and this resort is definitely on the top of our list
I would really recommend this resort to others and will for sure comeback to enjoy the friendly professional staff and their excellent service as well as the facilities the resort offers. A really great break away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stejoh463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Stejoh463,

I appreciate the time you took to post your superb review about your recent stay.
It was pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to create for you a unique and amazing experience. Moreover, thank you most especially for recognizing the excellent service and hospitality provided to you by our associates. Rest assured that such remarkable praises will be shared to all associates in particular to Maya, Manu and Azmat .

Thank you for being our guest, and looking forward to welcoming you back to Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We drove here from Dubai, just under 3 hours, bit boring but definitely worth it.

We stayed for 3 nights again in August, having stayed here last year we were hopeful that it would be as good as we remembered and it was. Check in was quick and done while sitting in the lounge with some dates, welcome drink and cold towels. We had a balcony room this time, last year we had the terrace room, both excellent. The garden room just wouldn't have the same view, so I would always recommend the balcony or terrace rooms. Amazing rooms, great coffee machines and lovely attention to detail, including housekeeping making our towels into animals, covered in rose petals and cards from the managers welcoming us back.

The pool is lovely, sunshine butlers help you find a lounger, the place was very quiet so lots of choice. They bring you cold water and clean your sunglasses too, the only thing we missed this time was the iced smoothies that they brought us last year. Big shaded pool suitable for lying in to relax or for children, there were very few children when we were here. Love the swim up bar and special offer cocktails.

Breakfast was fantastic. So much choice and the cheerful chef will make you eggs, omelettes, crepes, waffles etc. We enjoyed steaks for dinner in the main restaurant one night, cooked to perfection and had room service on our balcony the other 2 nights, both super. Staff always serve you with a smile and it makes such a difference to feel so welcome by everyone.

We didn't want to leave and hope to come back again soon. This is an excellent hotel and the first time that we have ever returned to the same hotel on holiday, we are very fussy!

Book here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book a balcony or terrace room, it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoomer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear zoomer81,

Thank you for your splendid review and for giving us once again the opportunity to provide you our best services and hospitality.
We are very happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It is also with great pleasure as I read through your comments and found out that you have been overall impressed during your stay. Your compliments are really encouraging for us to keep delivering heartfelt hospitality to our guests. Rest assured that your remarkable comments will be shared with the team.
May the wonderful memories you had during your stay remain and we will ensure that your next stay will be another amazing experience in the resort.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for Christmas 2013 and we have wanted to come back ever since. The hotel is a quite a long drive from Dubai (3 hours or so from Dubai) but well-worth it. The hotel is fabulous, beautiful rooms (with huge bathrooms and a big circular tub), beautiful grounds, beautiful pool but the most stunning of all is the beautiful red sand dunes that you can climb up to to watch the sunset. This place is magical and we can't wait to go back. We need to try the spa next time. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden deluxe room (cheapest room) and we loved. But I guess the balcony rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Kerima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Anna Kerima S,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic review.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. Please be assured that your excellent comments will be shared to the rest of the team.

Once again, our sincere thanks for your valued patronage and I hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamim
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
#12 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton International Hotel
Clifton International Hotel
#16 of 18 in Fujairah
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl Hotel
Pearl Hotel
#2 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barracuda Beach Resort
Barracuda Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Paragon Hotel Apartments
#15 of 33 in Abu Dhabi
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara

Property: Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
Address: 1 Qasr Al Sarab Road, Hamim 131277, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Liwa Oasis > Hamim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where mystic charm, cultural passion and unparalleled luxury evoke distinctive memories. Set in the middle of the Rub' al Khali or Empty Quarter, the largest uninterrupted body of sand in the world, Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resorts by Anantara is isolated from the world, yet is less than 200km away from Abu Dhabi. The resort brings the mysticism of this eminent location to life, inviting you to discover the unique appeal of its surroundings. Enjoy an array of facilities and immerse yourself in the wonderful splendour of an eternally changing landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Destinology, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort By Anantara Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing