We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off prices and average food”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Irby
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Sensitively restored and brimming with countryside charm, The Anchor Inn - Wirral offers British pub hospitality. Mixing classic recipes and modern dishes, the menu is dictated by the seasons, with daily-changing specials also on offer. The bar is amply stocked with fine wines and smooth cask ales, and chunky wood furnishings and quirky décor make for a homely, relaxed ambience in the dining room. A menu just for kids offers fun yet nutritious choice for younger diners.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed. The food prices are astronomically high for average food and small portions. Two people meal for three course was over £75. Their set mini has reduced and the drinks prices are eye watering. It didn’t used to be like this either. It’s gone down hill in a year and I’ve been to London restaurants and got better value for money!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2018

Looking frward to a hearty Sunday lunch in what we remembered to be a cosey relaxing pub with good food and excellent service. We both ordered the roast Pork which was advertised as coming with crackling. When it finally arrived crackling was a very skinny piece no longer than 2inches, one bite and it as gone . !!! so, on with the meal, which to be fair looked very good, only problem it was luke warm. After a further wait we finally got a piping hot meal which was Ok.Have to say we have had better for less. On the plus side the staff were both friendly and apologetic. Would I go back? No.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank potflower2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Had an early evening meal here. Food was ok if a little flamboyant. Very nice surroundings and friendly efficient staff. Would go again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Brimar3942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Second rate gastro pub in Irby. Used to be a nice and affordable place. Now its 7.50 for a pint and a half of lager and 5.50 for a single Baileys. You have to be joking. This is Irby, not Venice. Its grimy and untidy with surly staff. Wont be going back until its under new management.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SOOPERTRAMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

I’ve been visiting this pub for thirty four years. It used to such a lovely family pub, my husband and I had many dates here, my daughters had meals out with us here and we’ve entertained many guests here. It’s not what it was. The food is hit and miss, the staff are somewhat surly, it needs a face lift and the prices are way too high. And please, why oh why is it so plain in the outside? The sign is rusty, no hanging baskets or climbing greenery, and no Christmas tree or lights for years?? This is our local. Pull your finger out and make the effort. There’s plenty of other pubs ready to take your business

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank 415lindsayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

 
Thingwall, Wirral
Thurstaston, Wirral
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing