We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good seafood, a bit expensive.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Vecio Pipa

Al Vecio Pipa
Reserve with
Al Vecio Pipa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 29 Restaurants in Burano
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Krivoklat, République tchèque
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very good seafood, a bit expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Canal-side traditional restaurant, very good huge baked whole fish for instance, good service.
Curse of the evening mosquitoes, bloody expensive, the canal can be quite smelly later in the season..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dieu_Vivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    100
    46
    44
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Grove, Or
Level Contributor
179 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good, fresh seafood in a nice place. Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Actually had a good time plus good food in a purely tourist oriented island. Staff loved my attempts at Italian and offered samples of a local drink I had never heard of. Zuppa di Pesce was in my top 10 list and wife and friend loved their dishes too, and neither particularly likes seafood. Pasta was well cooked even though the place was packed. Looks like they recently expanded, and they certainly needed to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ForestGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Staff, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Sitting on a canal, this place is perfect. The food was wonderful, after we were offered a complimentary sparkling wine, the bread and salad were great.

I had fish which was very fresh and well prepared, two had pasta which was wonderful, and my youngest had steak which was surprisingly great.

Dessert was decadent and the espresso dark, sweet and inviting.

Staff didn't hover but showed up at the right moment without fail. If on the island, go there, and then shop locally...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jim o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wife, Great Food, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a fantastic lunch. The service was great. It was recommended to us from the Hotel, and I’m telling you try it. The manager let me open a bottle of Ornellaia Superior that I bought at the hotel. I was a bit worry they would not, but actually join us for a glass.

Ok so the Food, I had the biggest lobster, Fresh, and GREAT with a linguine seafood plate that was to die for. My wife had the spaghetti with fish and it was great. We sat with no hurry, enjoyed the company and conversation with the staff.

When we finished our bottle he recommended a nice bottle of wine, and also join us. The best parts of all the prices were great. I’m still not great at the conversion, but I think the lobster was 14 American US. I thought to myself I can live here.

So when you go to Burano make sure you enjoy this great restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Risotto is to die for!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

The best risotto I've ever had, hands down!!!!! I'm not really a fish person but this was soo sooo delicious I could eat it every single day. Like a bit of heaven in your mouth. Really a must try

Lovely ambiance as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Vecio Pipa also viewed

Burano, City of Venice
Burano, City of Venice
 
Burano, City of Venice
Burano, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Vecio Pipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing