We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Greg and the team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Daltons Banana Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dublin Island
Jodhpur, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thanks Greg and the team”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A group of volunteers from the UK spent two nights here, and loved it. The location on the beach is lovely, the large central area providing plenty of comfortable space, and the grilled, freshly caught fish it just delightful.

1 of the group went on a scuba trip and really enjoyed himself, while the rest enjoyed a snorkeling outing. Dublin village is fun to explore, and I spent a great morning walking through the jungle.

I recommend Dalton's as a great place to escape to from Freetown for a relaxing break. Thanks again guys.

Room Tip: Book early to get the budget rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
9
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freetown, Sierra Leone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Daltons Banana Guesthouse stands out from the other beach resorts in Sierra Leone, due to its charm and location. Sandwiched between dense forest teeming with wild sounds in the night and the sparkly blue waters of the Sierra Leonean seas. The location is hard to beat, but there is more to this little resort. The activities offered are the highlight of any list of things to do in Sierra Leone while on holidays. Snorkeling trips and fishing trips are the best. The price is also fair considering the expensive equipment used for fishing, and the fish can be very big. Scuba diving is also exciting with old Spanish war ships laying on shallow depths, and colorful fish surrounding most of the reefs. The historical tour is short, but a good introduction to the culture and history of Banana Island. The forest walk can be done easily independently but the guided option is offered for those who want an insider’s view of the forest and the comfort of a companion in the long trek. The food is excellent and well priced. The rooms are rock bottom cheap compared to accommodation options in Sierra Leone, and the general value/quality of this little resort is hard to beat anywhere in west Africa. All in all, have a lot of time for this place. Use the 076278120 number as the other number seems not to be working.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Mohamed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed a night at the Banana Island Guest House and didn't think it was great value for money so wandered over to Dalton's, which we definitely didn't regret.

Great value for money - there are a number of different options as far as rooms are concerned. We took the basic option which is a sectioned off room in a big circular hut with a number of 'rooms'. There isn't much in each room but the bed is comfortable, there is a mosquito net and a good breeze. There is the option to have a hot shower which is not always available in Sierra Leone. There is also a really nice area to relax in and look out over the ocean.

Greg was an excellent host. He gave us lots of travel advice over dinner and came on a snorkelling/fishing trip with us the following day. There are lots of activities on offer but I would definitely recommend the snorkelling and fishing combo which took about 3.5 hours (was supposed to be less but Greg said we would carry on if everyone was enjoying themselves)!

We understood from Greg that the staff were all new at the time and so he was training them still. We didn't have any issues and the food was pretty tasty and good value.

All in all, a great place to stay and an amazing area of Sierra Leone to visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mairi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Value for money: great. Atmosphere and surroundings : unbeatable. Service :professional. Food : a pleasant surprise. Activities: the reason to come again! In few words this is the place we enjoyed most in west Africa. The owner and staff went a long way to make our stay comfortable it is seems that the place runs with the guest’s quality experience in mind at all times. The fishing/snorkeling trip was a triumph. Much more to do on the island though, three days were not enough. Call ahead 076278120 to book as the place is busy and the budget rooms (50.000Le) fill up quick. The hot water in the common shower –and top end rooms apparently- is a bonus. The perfect ending for our long trip. Thanks

Room Tip: Budget rooms are airy and bright and very very cheap. Luxury rooms have hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anrewsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This place is amazing. The activities offered are diverse and worth signing up for. I cannot pick one up to recommend (scuba diving, snorkeling, guided forest walks, historical tours…) but if I only had time for one this would be the fishing/snorkeling trip. It is fun all the way through. The staff is knowledgeable and professional. The standards of the restaurant are high. The rooms are cheap for what you get -there is even hot water!-, the views from the canopy platform are amazing. Wish I had more time to stay…

Room Tip: Have enough time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandritta_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Daltons Banana Guesthouse is a unique place to visit. In terms of where it is located it stands out from any other accommodation in Sierra Leone. A very beautiful forest ends on a secluded beach in a small and quiet island. It could not be more idyllic location even for the traveler who has seen it all! The beach is just on your feet from the bungalows, or you can hover above the waves on the canopy platform. The roof of the restaurant is simply grand and blends in with the nature perfectly. In general the architecture of the common spaces is spot on with the Eco-friendly spirit maintained. The budget rooms are simple but clean (good value for $10).There may be more comforts in the standard and luxury rooms. The restaurant is nice with good meals, well prepared, well priced and good service. The best of all is the fishing/snorkeling trips. This is a reason alone to come to the island. Several boats and trained skippers take you out to the best fishing grounds and snorkeling locations. With big groups several boats depart and cruise parallel and the competitive fishing is great fun. If you get Greg the Greek in one of your boats you might see some amazing spear fishing action on the way too. There are more tours (cultural and nature tours) but fishing/snorkeling is the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Manu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Dalton's for two days and then left because the hospitality and service were not great. We arrived with a large, fresh caught barracuda and asked the owner if he could have his cooks serve it to us with our lunch. He then served us all small portions of our fish and served larger portions to himself and his wife. Then he charged us for a fish lunch after eating our fish without even saying thank you. When we spoke with him he expressed a very negative opinion of Sierra Leoneans and the country. We enjoyed the island for all it had to offer but I would not recommend staying at Dalton's.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin Island
0.0 mi away
The Place
The Place
#1 of 2 in Tokeh
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Mammy Yoko Hotel
0.0 mi away
Swiss Spirit Hotel & Suites Freetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leisure Lodge Hotels
Leisure Lodge Hotels
#11 of 14 in Freetown
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Essential Kimbima
0.0 mi away
Country Lodge
Country Lodge
#6 of 14 in Freetown
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daltons Banana Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daltons Banana Guest House

Property: Daltons Banana Guest House
Address: Banjoko Beach | Dublin, Western Area, Sierra Leone
Region: Sierra Leone > Western Area > Banana Islands > Dublin Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dublin Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Daltons Banana Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daltons Banana Guesthouse offers accommodation, seafood meals, fishing and snorkeling trips, scuba diving and a wide choice of tourist activities and excursions. It is famous for the vast choice of recreational activities in Sierra Leone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Daltons Banana Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daltons Banana Guest House Banana Islands, Sierra Leone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing