We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome family adventure!”

Review of Indie Campers

Explore Europe with us! 
Go Indie!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Explore Europe with us! 
Go Indie!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
233 reviews
Explore Europe with us! 
Go Indie!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Camper van -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sacavem, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 233 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
James F
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome family adventure!”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Luis and we team were fantastic from day one. The booking process was easy and friendly and Luis was happy to communicate through WhatsApp and responded very quickly. The van was incredible fun and had everything that we needed. We have two little boys aged two and three who were right at home on the top bunk! And the two child seats fitted in perfectly. Luis picked us up and dropped us of exactly where we needed to be. Thanks for a fantastic break. P.s our boys named the camper van 'Boris'! :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
Dear James, We hope that everything is going great since we last saw you! It was with great pleasure, we read your review! The Indie Campers team is truly grateful for your beautiful comment! We are very pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your adventure and that you understood and used your Indie Camper as you pleased. That´s the spirit! We will let Boris know, I am sure he will be jumping to the roof knowing you guys had a blast :) Is there any moment or experience that made your journey unforgettable and you would like to share with us? We are also very pleased to let you know that in 2017 we expanded to France and Italy; and will be adding a few more locations next year! Ready for a new adventure?! Thank you once again for your feedback, Best regards, The Indie Campers team #GoIndie"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan S
1 review
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I've rented a campervan from Indie Campers two years in a row now. I can't imagine any better way to travel in Portugal. Park in the city of you want a night out, or right by the beach if you want to wake up to the sound of waves. The freedom is priceless.

Only reason they don't get five stars is only minor issues. The first time we couldn't connect our smartphones to the stereo to be able to listen to our Portugal road trip playlists that we worked so hard on, and one of the electricity outlets wasn't working which made charging of phones and portable speakers slightly complicated. The second time around the hose for the water faucet kept coming off which made doing food and dishes a hassle.

I recommend Indie Campers for everyone. Great staff, good communication through e-mail, user-friendly website. Go Indie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Service
Liked best: The freedom
Liked least: Top bunk bed is quite uncomfortable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
Dear Martina, We hope that everything is going great on your side! It was a pleasure to read your review! The Indie Campers team is truly grateful for your constructive comments! We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your adventure despite the minor hick ups you experienced. That´s the spirit! As you might know, we are a young portuguese company, and it is feedback like yours that allows us to lear from our mistakes and grow into the mature company we want to be. Is there any moment or experience that made your journey unforgettable and you would like to share with us? We are also very pleased to let you know that we expenaded to France and Italy, and there are many new locations to be added by next year! Ready for a new adventure?! Thank you once again for your feedback, Best regards, The Indie Campers team #GoIndie"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very intense experience!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Me and my friend rented the van from Lisbon for 15 days, it was the first experience in our lives travelling with a van for more than a week end.
We have been picked up at Lisbon airport and driven to their office 15 mins away.
We drove from Lisbon to Faro, where we drop the van off, at the end of our trip.
We visited very accurately the South of Portugal, always looking for the best spot to surf and to sleep.
We enjoyed a cup of coffee every morning when we woke up.
We loved every single place for its own aspects.
Renting a van gives you the chance to sleep everywhere you like and to travel everywhere you want with your "house" always behind you!
The design of the interior is very smart and it comes with everything we needed.
Its also well kept and clean!
Indie crew are very nice peolpe and always very helpful when we needed. Congratulations for your services and I hope in the future to be able to discover another country driving with "my" Indie Camper.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Liked best: Tha van is very clean and easy to drive
Liked least: the water tank is not very roomy and instead of a blackboard would be more useful a mirror
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2016
Dear Martina,

We hope that everything is going great on your side!

It was a pleasure to read your review! The Indie Campers team is truly grateful for your comments!

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your adventure and that you understood and used your Indie Camper as you pleased. That´s the spirit!

Is there any moment or experience that made your journey unforgettable and you would like to share with us?

We are also very pleased to let you know that we are expanding to France and Italy! Ready for a new adventure?!

Thank you once again for your feedback,
Best regards,

The Indie Campers team
#GoIndie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena...
1 review
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My friend and me started our trip in beautiful Lisbon. The IndieCamper crew was very nice and friendly when we picked up our camper. With surfboard and kitesurf equipment we went along the beautiful and wild west coast down to Algarve.

It was a truly amazing experience as the nature is beautiful, the people very friendly and the sunsets just stunning! With the camper we were flexible and could camp wherever we found a nice spot along the coast and the best conditions for surfing or kitesurfing.

We stayed a couple of days at Amado beach, which had great waves during that time. Amado is a special experience with the camper as there is always a super friendly camper community. So already at the first night we cooked and hang out with some of the other campers and actually ended up staying longer than planned :).

From time to time fishermen are going to the little rocky island just outside Amado Beach. We were lucky enough to buy two fresh fish at the beach from one of them and grilled them at our cozy campsite the same night - it was just delicious.

Seeking for wind and nice, calm water for kite surfing we went down to Lagos and camped at the lagoon Ribeira de Odiáxere. Down there we had perfect conditions for two days of amazing kitesurfing. Dropping off the van back in Lisbon was super smooth.

During our time with the IndieCamper we met great people, had the best seafood and good conditions for being active. We both fell in love with Portugal during that trip and staying in the camper was the best way to be flexible, stay outdoors all day, watch sunsets and go where we could find the best conditions for our sports :)

All in all, super good experience!

Travelling group: Freunden
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Hi Magdalena! We are thrilled to know you had a blast during your trip! Portugal is a great place to explore, with beautiful nature and beaches, with some challenging waves as well :) You route was just perfect for you, with very nice spots to camp and good atmospheric conditions for surf and kite surf!! And Portuguese sunsets are just beautiful, aren't they? If you want to plan your next holidays, just send us a message! We have some very nice tips and locations for you :) Stay adventurous and best wishes, Indie Campers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin P
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best way to enjoy Algarve for us!”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

When we decided to visit Portugal we decided to start from the south, the Algarve region. And we wanted to do so by exploring every beach and tiny town on the coast. To do so with public transportation looked like too hard or sometimes impossible, so we decided to rent a van and Indiecamper was our first choice. It was amazing! Such a good company. Easy going people, reliable and always smiling. The van is perfect and has everything you need. We loved the showers after a day on the beach. (every gas station has free water refills). The beds are really comfy and having the possibility to cook makes the adventure experience even more enjoyable. We managed to do things we could not do otherwise hence the title of this review. Portugal is beautiful, Algarve is a beauty and Indiecamper is the way to go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Freedom and shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Hi Alvin! Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope you had an amazing time! Algarve was a really good choice and the chance to cook in the van makes everything much more exciting doesn't it? The freedom of movement and the possibility to go everywhere you want to is something we truly care about and want to provide to all of our travelers! Plus, we design and transform our vans in order to make them comfortable and practical, so thank you for your words. If you want to explore more locations with one of our camper vans, just send us a message! We have more depots that will amaze you for sure! Best wishes, Indie Campers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veselin D
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thank you, Carina and Team, for a great camper week! Welcoming and warm staff, clean and super pimped van with wifi, shower, toilet and all the nice extras. Pickup and dropoff at the airport included. Highly recommended and already planning our next camper tour in Portugal. All the best for you and hopefully see you next year:) Cheers, Veso and Kristina

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Hello Veso and Kristina! It was our pleasure having you as our travelers :) We hope you had a nice trip and enjoyed Portugal's landscapes! Thank you on behalf of all the team, it makes us really happy to read kind words like yours! if you need help planning your next trip, send us a message!! We look forward to hearing from you soon :) Stay well, Indie Campers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruhlisras...
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Definetly one of the best trips in my life! The Van was just perfect and had more space than i expected. The service was excellent and the guys from Indie in Faro were very kind and helpful.

This is the best way to explore Portugal, especially the areas which aren`t crowded with tourists.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Hallo! At Indie Campers we cherish unforgettable experiences and share the love to drive off the beaten track - and Portugal is just a perfect country to do that! We are extremely happy to know we were able to provide you with some great memories and unique holidays!! If you wish to explore another destination, we would be thrilled to give you some great tips! Thank you for your review and we look forward to hearing from you again :) Best wishes, Indie Campers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;