We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Landing Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Internet - No
Pool - Yes (not attractive)
View - Yes
Waterfront - Yes
Telephone - No
Service - Good
Price - Reasonable

Close to main dock and located in the main town. There are several places to eat in close proximity such as Big City. Other place in close proximity are supermarket, immigration, vegetable and fruit market, clothing stores, arts display and beach.

Room Tip: If its raining, choose a room on the ground floor
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpiceVibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Kings Landing Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed one night in Union Island en-route from Tobago Cays to Carriacou. Kings Landing Hotel was excellent—well equipped bathroom, large bedroom with balcony and great view across the bay and after a long day sailing from Bequia and snorkelling/swimming at the Cays, welcome aircon. Unusually luxurious for this part of the world! Staff were helpful and guided us to the best room. Union Island is the last outpost of the St Vincent & Grenadines chain, a key sailing base for these parts and an interesting mixed history giving it a distinctive 'last frontier' character. We had drinks round at the yacht club and dinner at an excellent restaurant near the hotel run by a French lady. If you are travelling to/from Carriacou check your ferry/boat connections as they don't run every day.

Room Tip: Go for pool/sea view rooms on first floor for better view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dansview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

King's Landing Hotel is a good and well-located place to stay. The hotel has comfortable and large rooms with very nice beds. True the bathrooms and furnishings are getting a bit dated, but the rooms are clean and comfy and offer big balconies. Coffee maker in the room, but bring your own coffee as it isn't provided. The small pool is nice, but could use with bottom sand removal and a good water filtering. The WiFi signal just reaches some rooms closer to the detached office/reception building - but the comfy garden bench near the office offers a good connection. The proprietor, Marius, is a very friendly, professional, flexible and well-connected guy who knows the local scene. Other staff are friendly and cheery, too. Good cooked breakfast, but those with big breakfast appetites may be left a bit hungry.

A restaurant tip... For lunch or dinner you could try Jennifer's Restaurant, Bar and Boutique. Her modest and locally-oriented place serves up super-tasty dishes. The fish and beef stew are excellent and come with several side dishes! Despite the upscale dining options in Clifton, we had the best meal of our Union Island stay here! Jennifer's is located about 5 minutes' walking, on the road to Ashton just as it starts going uphill, from Clifton town and King's Landing Hotel.

Room Tip: The sea (and pool) view rooms are nice. The rooms closest (and about midway down the hotel building...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This is a friendly family run hotel.

I did take them about a week to get back to me by e-mail to confirm my reservation so efficiency could be improved in that department.

The hotel started as just a few rooms and grew from there. Rooms face the harbor and they have a small pool. Rooms are clean and have a kitchenette if you want to self cater but it's a lot more fun to try the local restaurants such as the excellent French run West Indies restaurant right next door. The window frames leadinf out to the balcony are very old and I couold hardly get them to open. Bathroom fistures are also 1970s style and while the hotel lacks charm, it is comfortable. Rooms have a queen bed and a single bed so quite spacious, the airconiditioning unit works well, cable line up is terrific (but TVs tiny) and you do get a weak but free Internet signal in the rooms. You get a breakfast of eggs, toast and a banana included in the room rate. Like many places on the island, they don't like taking credit cards and say their machine is broken and will send you to the bank to get cash. (They should be able to call in your card details though if you get stuck).

Union Island is a very laid back place and the locals are amazingly friendly. Worth a stop and the King's Landing is the place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed at Kings Landing for a night, waiting to meet some friends coming to pick us up on their boat. Kings Landing is a very nice family run hotel located at one end of Clifton harbor (and town). The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and it has the welcome feeling of a family run place. The rooms are very clean and air conditioned with beautiful views of the harbor. A very good breakfast was included. There is a boat dock right next to the hotel where you can tie up a dinghy. Next door to the hotel is an excellent restaurant run by a french woman. This is not a beach hotel, but it is a great place to stay in town. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bozo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Don't want to oversell, but Union is a lot of fun and this hotel was a great place to relax at the end of a long day. Marius the Manager is top notch as are the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmonkey_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We decided to visit Saint Vincent's southern Grenadines because we were vacationing in Grenada. After reading a bit on the net and listening to people comment on how beautiful the Grenadines were (not to mention all the beautiful pictures online plus Pirates of The Caribbean movie sets) we thought that it would be a shame to come all this way south (we are from Canada) and not venture to some other islands. So after leaving Grenada and spending a couple of days in Carriacou we hired a water taxi, The Lambi Queen, and came over to Union Island for three days. We did not arrive with reservations for Kings Landing Inn but I did e-mail Marius, the manager, a few days prior to leaving Grenada and he told us he had two rooms available for us. We are two couples traveling together on a quest to find the perfect beach. Kings landing Inn is water front but not beach front. It has a great view of Clifton harbour with all the lovely sailboats anchored out abit. There is a pool onsite which is slightly above ground and it was just fine. As we were all very tired of several days of moving about on boats, ferries, different islands, renting vehicles and seaching out beaches we decided to just relax around Kings Landing Inn pool for the afternoon. The weather was spectacular, the views stunning with Palm Island and Petit Saint Vincent in the distance and the drinks were nice and cold. The rooms at Kings Landing Inn were okay. We had two twin beds, a great airconditioner, a small kitchette that was not very well equipped at all and a decent bathroom. There was a hair dryer in the bathrrom. Small t.v. as well. The cleaning ladies did not clean our room the next day or make our beds but our travelling companions room was made up. It was probably just an oversight. Our room number was 10 and we walked right out to our small patio and then onto the grass directly in front of the pool. It was a very good location. There was rooms behind the building we were in with no view. I would definitley recommend asking for a room in front of the pool facing the water/harbour. There was also two cottages just over to the side also facing the pool with larger patios. They were more expensive but they were lovely. We peeked in them as one was unoccupied. If I was staying on Union Island for any length of time these cottages would be a very good option. The manager, Marius, was very helpful with getting us hooked up with a tour guide to bring us to all the beautiful islands around. Harris, was a thirty-ish gentlemen that we had arranged to meet at a certain jetty at nine a.m. and for the day he toured us about in his motor boat. We first set out for Mopion Island (amazing), then on to the Tobago Cays first stopping at Petit Tabac. Harris would slightly disappear so we could have some time on our own and then magically reappear when we were ready to head to the next island. From Petit Tabac we ventured in around the horseshoe reef to Baradel Cay. Again we spent some time relaxing, swimming, sunning and drinking. Did I mention we brought a cooler full of beer and mixed drinks? From Baradel Cay we went over to Mayreau and Saltwhistle Bay and this is were we fell in love. Saltwhistle Bay beach is absolutley stunning but don't tell anyone. We have been seaching for the perfect beach for many years travelling throughout the Carribean and actually have found some gorgous beaches but when we laid our eyes on this beach we knew right away that this was "it". I cannot say enough about it. Anyway, from there we went to Palm Island and then on to Happy Island where Janti the owner/proprietor welcomed us to his home and we limed away the rest of the afternoon on his small piece of paradise drinking rum puch and listening to reggae. Harris then returned us back to Union Island totally beat and extremely pleased with what we had experienced that day. You can either hire someone on your own like we did or there is also large catamarans that take out groups of people. We seen Captain Yannis tours out on our tour and they had a large group of people with them. The only thing with them is that it is probably on a schedule and a set itinerary where hiring someone like Harris we set our own course and timetable. What ever works best for different people. The main thing is that you get to see some beautiful scenery either way. The day tour to all the islands was deinitely one of the highlights of our trip and would highly recommend it. We cannot wait to return to Saint Vincent and The Grenadines to not only revisit the islands we seen but to look further up the chain and explore all the other gems that lie north of Mayreau.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank traveljunkie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2305.0 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
40 reviews
2305.7 mi away
No photo provided
Clifton Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
12 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn Savannah
Quality Inn Savannah
#2 of 3 in Savannah
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hurricane Inn
Hurricane Inn
#2 of 3 in Waynesboro
53 reviews
2307.1 mi away
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Palm Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Union Island
1,378 reviews
2305.8 mi away
Anchorage Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Landing Hotel

Address: Clifton | Union Island, Clifton, Union Island
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Union Island > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kings Landing Hotel. With over fourty years of operation this magnificent 17-room hotel, which offers all of the modern amenities one could wish for, is located on the beautiful Clifton harbor of Union Island. From your private balcony, you can enjoy some of the most breath taking sunrises and the perfect setting for a romantic evening under a moonlit sky. Kings Landing Hotel was designed with the ultimate Caribbean experience in mind, being located in the island's capital gives you an authentic feel for our culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Landing Hotel Union Island/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing