We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy Catalunyas countryside here... while not being too far from Barcelona”
Review of Can Patiras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Can Patiras
Ranked #1 of 2 Cistella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had an amazing time here with our friends. We'd had been in Barcelona for a couple of days before and as soon as we entered Can Patiras we completely forgot all the stress of the city. The surrounding is breath taking. The rooms and whole house itself are very well decorated and Chris and Bart are just the perfect hosts. I can only recommend Can Patiras to the people that like the countryside but still want to be close enough to go to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enygmatys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

i don't understand all the praise?! we have travelled a lot, and this b&b is certainly not a number one.the beautiful surrounding and pool can not hide the clearly poor rooms.hello, where is the toilet?oh! it's behind my bed!not even a' bathroom' separated with a door! for this price you also expect an airco and fridge, maybe even tv.although the breakfast is with home made products, it is not very copious. we felt uncomfortable we didn't want to have diner there, because they clearly expect you to. we can not say they where not friendly, but it is way overpriced!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reismeisjevlaanderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canpatiras, Eigenaar at Can Patiras, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear,

We are very sorry that you didn't like your stay, but we want to explain some things about our B&B:

First we are a bed and breakfast and not a hotel, so we do the things like we want to do the things. That means we don’t put a TV in the rooms, because it doesn't give an extra. if you prefer a TV then a big naturally garden with plenty of private places or a good working and fast internet, maybe it’s better to go to a hotel rural. Also there are no fridges in the rooms, because everybody can use the fridge in the kitchen and we have a honesty-bar with reasonably prices.

Then the thing about the airco: There is no airco, because it’s impossible! Just because we produce our electricity with sun power. It’s true we have a big installation, but it is not enough for a good airco. And in June, because you were here in June, this year it was definitely not necessary to use an airco.

I'm sorry to say this, but we do not expect from our guests to stay for diner. We always ask if you like to stay for diner when they have their breakfast.

And last but not least, it’s true, if you stay only for 1 night, we are quite expensive, but especially in spring and autumn we give very good reductions if you want to stay for a few days.

All information, also about the bathrooms, are on the website.

sincerely,

Ps: We can’t remember you stayed in our B&B, sorry about that. Strange because in June because we didn't have a lot of customers who stayed for 1 or a few nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Bart was a delight to meet through email as we corresponded arranging our pick up in Figueres vilafant train station. Our tandem bike stored in two large bags was not a problem and things only got better when we arrived and were introduced to his wife Chris. Their effusive hospitality new no bounds, from arranging rides to the Dali museum, to dinner arrangements in cistella, to wonderful meals produced by Chris in the evenings. They have done an awesome job of not only creating delightful sleeping quarters but most impressive are the grounds, garden, swimming pool and views across the hillsides to neighbouring villages. The one rain storm day was awesome as the clouds marched across the mountains in the foreground. Bart and Chris have made themselves independent of the electrical grid relying totally upon solar power. Bart has become a solar electrical specialist in this regard as he has to do the maintanence. A truly delightful couple who we now consider good friends. After five nights it was hard to leave home! Thanks again, Roger and Sharon Mitchell, Cranbrook,BC,Canada

Room Tip: They are all lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

It was a really nice place to be with a very good host and hostess! We could ask anything we wanted and they always gave us the best advice possible. The weather was also excellent and we certainly wants to come back! Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: The Dali room is the most beautiful room of them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fotoliefhebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Room decorated with individual, nice little pool, great breakfast and nice dinner - hospitable hosts - quiet at night - kids also loved tabletennis and pool in new indoor area - suberb garden and easyly accessible from Figueres/A7 coming to Spain from France. We enjoyed the stay and will be back :) Free wifi in lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterTillegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

In such a nice place, you expect passing your days quietly. During the day, it was OK but in the evening, the host and his wife were very noisy (music or conversations with other gasts) until midnight or even later. Unable to sleep!! They didn't accept any comment to this subject, they reacted even aggressif to us when we asked more tranquility at night.
The breakfast was very good but dinner was moderate and it was not clearly informed that drinks were not included! For these reasons, we (and we were 4) haven't a nice memory at this journey.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanne_leen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canpatiras, Owner at Can Patiras, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear guest,

we regret very much that you do not have enjoyed your stay.
We always accept comments with great interest.
It can only improve our quality, and that is important.
but, we like to comment on wrong judgements.
Drinks were included with the meal.
Thursday is paella-night and therefore always a feast for our guests.

always welcome, Chrisje & Bart, the Can Patiras team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

this place has the best view, never seen a place like this before
it is situated in a calm rural area, yet only 15 minutes away from the city of Figueres.
food is real catalan cuisine, very tastful !
swimming pool is great, while floating in the water you see the fields and a small village some kilometers away - this is so peacefull - a great place to be
a large garden where children can play
in the small village of cistella the people love children - go to the local bar a mix with the locals - cataluna at is best

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathleen020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Can Patiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Patiras

Address: can Patiras s/n, 17741 Cistella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Cistella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cistella
Price Range: £74 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Can Patiras is a cosy B&B with a full view of the Catalonian countryside. An ideal place to come to rest. Nearby, there are small and typical villages like Cistella, Vilaritg and Llado for you to discover, on foot or by bike. It's also an perfect spot for birding. Somewhat further are the historical cites of Figueras, Barcelona, Besalu, Girona, Olot. And of course the hidden gems of Salavador Dali. In Can Patiras rooms (2 or 4 persons) are accommodated with shower or bath and toilet. You can enjoy an extensive breakfast and (on request) a full supper in the authentic dinning room or on the terrace with a view on our 200 years old oak. The woodburner gives the large living room a cosy touch. The beach is only a half an hour drive. Golfers will love the golf-course of 'Torremirona' (3 miles). Mountain bikers can bike at their heart's content on the indicated mountain bike trails. It's grand to sit on the large terrace near the pool, enjoying the wide and unspoiled scenery. Relaxing under the ancient oak tree, looking over the valley admiring El Mont: reflecting was never more enjoyable ! Can Patiras is situated on a terrain of 2,5 acres where you can practice a diversity of sports. If you don't bring a bike with you, we hire out mountain bikes ourselves. We offer a variety of different services: babysitting, guided walking-tours, guided mountain bike tours, weddings, parties and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Can Patiras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing