We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Destination for Active Group Holiday”
Review of Mas Pelegri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas Pelegri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serinya
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal Destination for Active Group Holiday”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We are a group of nine cycling enthusiasts who have recently enjoyed a weeklong stay at Mas Pelegri. With the benefit of having taken several similar holidays in some renowned cycling locations in both Europe and North America, group consensus is that Mas Pelegri rates among the best yet.

The positives start with the terrific hospitality provided by the owners, Gareth and Fiona, who not only made the booking process easy, but went out of their way on a daily basis to ensure the needs and wishes of their guests were taken care of. This started with serving up a large breakfast early every morning to accommodate our schedule, supplying us with a series of superb rides together with tips for stopping points and meals etc., shuttles when necessary, a well-stocked refreshment fridge and fresh coffee for our return each day, impromptu tours highlighting the nearby towns and local history, bike maintenance in the evenings, and most notably the preparation of some fantastic meals served on one of the beautiful outdoor terraces or at the large communal table indoors. We felt at home instantly upon our arrival, and the hospitality we received throughout our stay was genuine and unfailing.

The building itself is also worth the trip. It has been beautifully restored from the ground up, offers 11 very comfortable rooms with private baths, as well as several spacious and well-appointed common areas for relaxing before or after a day of riding. It was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay, and includes a 25m lap pool which was well used given the fantastic weather that Spain offers in September. It is also the perfect jumping off point for cyclists – all but one ride during the week started and finished at Mas Pelegri and without exception they were fantastic. Kudos to Gareth for mapping out such a fine itinerary. If there is one regret about location, it is that we didn’t have or take the time to enjoy some of the other wellness-oriented services available at Mas Pelegri that would surely have been delivered with the same excellence and consideration for the needs of the guest.

One last comment on the riding itself. It is easy to see why the regions around Girona are favourites amongst discerning cyclists. The roads are for the most part in superb condition, the terrain varied offering the spectrum of beautiful coastal riding to some sufficiently challenging climbs including Roca Corba, drivers are very courteous, and there are many fine locations to kick-back, enjoy a coffee, and take in some of the local scenery. From start to finish, a truly memorable experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
10
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a really lovely part of Spain.. with great scenery, friendly locals and not many tourists in the area it seems! I stayed at Mas Pelegri with my 3 children and it was an ideal base to explore the area with our hire car from Marius Cars (highly recommended!) We went to the Banyoles market and swam in the wonderful lake, went hiking in the hills and swam in river pools, a trip to the beach (really super!), fantastic water park, horse riding locally, a high ropes course (quite pricey though!) visited the Dali museum (fairly random!!) and a couple of trips to a stunning medieval town not far away!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zulujock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Mas Pelegris was a wonderful place to spend 5 days, in peace and tranquillity. I found the owners to be charming and extremely helpful (taxi trip to airport). They are very engaging, unintrusive and interested in their guests, even getting up very early to see them off!. The house is beautiful, spotlessly clean, and very welcoming. The pool area is totally safe and very clean. It is a great place for children, completely safe. Mas Pelegris offers a refuge from the bustle of city life. I would recommend it highly. Anne-Kirsten (Ireland)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Hats off to Fiona and Gareth for getting the formula of 'home from home' combined with the quality and conveniences of a hotel just right! They provided everything needed for a successful family holiday. Both children and adults had a wonderful time. Something to suit everyone, in- house sports...pool, cycling, gym, running and massage. House set in secluded countryside with horse riding, beautiful lake and shopping down the road. Communal meals meant there was interaction with other people and plenty of chilling by the pool. We would definitely recommend it for a weekend away, girlie/ boys holiday or family holiday

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor or ground floor as communal rooms are on first floor and if you want an ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croriordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here as a family of 5 and we all loved it.
Great place, lovely hosts, great cycling and good meals - what else do you need?

There are plenty of options for activities: walking, running, swimming, horse riding, road cycling and mountain biking, and probably much more. Fiona and Garrett are great at finding just the right activity for your party, and helping you plan rides etc.

Also good fun to meet other guests at breakfast, and compare notes on the day's activities over dinner.

A breath of fresh air compared to the average commercial tourist experience - highly recommended!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank belgian_family_in_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Mas Pelegri, and absolutely loved it. Fiona and Garrett (the owners) are wonderful hosts, willing to accommodate any request. We stayed in a room with with a private bath and access to a lovely patio. Meals provided by the owners were amazing and they had excellent knowledge of the area for recommendations. The grounds of the house are beautiful and it was very quiet and peaceful. Our accommodations were setup through Equestrian Escapes as part of a horseback riding tour. The stables are about 1 km from Mas Pelegri. The swimming pool provided a refreshing workout and there are many running routes that travel nearby. Overall, we cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I spent a week at Mas Pelegri, where the weather (in the last week of February) was brilliant: almost unbroken blue sky, and warm enough to be in a short sleeve jersey in the daytime. The location is brilliant, with a mass of recommended rides to suit a variety of abilities or stamina, across terrain ranging from high mountains to flatter valleys nearer the coast. For me the highlight was a 100-mile day ride across the Pyrenees into France and back.
My room was very comfortable, there was always ample hot water for bath or shower, and the sheets were crisp and fresh.
Gareth and Fiona are excellent hosts, very friendly and helpful, providing evening meals on demand (there are not many local restaurants, and the only one I tried to get into had quirky opening times...). Gareth provided me with recommended rides each day, which enabled me to explore the local area in each direction. The Spanish have built a large number of wide, smooth surfaced roads, which seem to be largely empty: basically a cyclist's paradise!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serinya
3.2 mi away
Els Jardins de la Martana
4.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Anamaria
Hotel Casa Anamaria
#1 of 1 in Vilademuls
137 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel La Sala de Camos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Cal Sastre Hotel
Cal Sastre Hotel
#1 of 1 in Santa Pau
178 reviews
11.2 mi away
Finca El Ventos
Finca El Ventos
#1 of 1 in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
67 reviews
6.8 mi away
Apartamentos Suites Vila Birdie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Pelegri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Pelegri

Property: Mas Pelegri
Address: Veinat de Bosqueros, 17852 Serinya, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Serinya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serinya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mas Pelegri 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas Pelegri is a beautifully renovated old country hotel set in the midst of the beautiful Catalan countryside. There are 11 bedrooms all with private bathrooms, three are full suites and two are disabled accessible. There is free WIFI, 25 metre pool, sauna, jacuzzi, a media room, massage, laundry facilities, freshly cooked dinners, sports coaching, gym/bike room & road and MTB rentals. Hotel Mas Pelegri (3*) is available for individuals and groups who want to enjoy the countryside, with the option to take part in outdoor pursuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mas Pelegri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas Pelegri Serinya, Spain - Province Of Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing