We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Family Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Laurentii Hotel and Restaurant
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We organised a family wedding here this year.
Stephan and Christina were extremely helpful and our whole experience was excellent.
The food and accommodation in the hotel are stunning and everyone was positively raving about the place. The rooms have mini bar, free wifi, aircon etc.

The village is small and fairly quiet but is full of character and there is plenty of life here during the summer. I would recommend Sant Llorenc to those seeking a relaxing time rather than a mad one.

Overall, we couldn’t have asked for more. If you stay here you won’t be disappointed!

Room Tip: You need a rental car to enjoy this area....its only about 25mins from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilo00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stephan, the owner of Torre Laurentii, met my husband and me at the door when we arrived and made us feel comfortable immediately. He and his wife have renovated this old house beautifully. Our room and bathroom was as nice as those found in 4 star hotels with lovely linens and towels, toiletries, slippers, and a big jetted bathtub. The outdoor areas of the hotel are nicely landscaped with lots of places to hang out. There was also a common area outside of our room with chairs, sofas, books, and a piano! Breakfast was simple and delicious and we did buy dinner our first night there and that was equally tasty with a gourmet touch, a great buy at 25 euros (each). My husband and I loved strolling through the town and spent time in the town center social hall, drinking beers and watching the goings on of this small town. Stephan also provided us with maps and directions to nearby destinations. I recommend Torre Laurentii to anyone looking for a quiet few days, especially Americans because there is nothing like it here in the States!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mssuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
181 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

The location is undoubtedly beautiful, the garden and public spaces are very attractive, but the bedroom/suite was an odd mixture: attention to decorative detail but not very comfortable chairs, impossible to sit at the desk to use a laptop because the chair was so low etc. Very good bathroom, however, in fact almost "bathroom with bedroom en suite", rather than the other way round. The most off-putting element for me was the fact that the bedroom's window and its french doors open on to the verandah walkway that is used by anyone seeking access to other rooms or the garden or the parking area: i.e. if you want to have your windows open, or any natural light, you have no privacy whatsoever. Also worth being aware that although the hotel's website clearly indicates that lunches are served at the weekend, when we arrived on a Saturday and asked about lunch we were told that the restaurant was closed, although "something might be done", almost as a favour. We decided to try one of the local restaurants instead, which was fine. Breakfast was OK, rather than good: after 3 weeks of travelling around in Northern Spain I have had much better, served with less fuss, most places.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jb5753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We spent three nights in Torre Laurentil in August - 2 adults, 2 children aged 4 and 12. It was absolutely and I imagine one day it will be impossible to get a room here. Great personal but discreet service, beautifully renovated building, gorgeous rooms, lovely food. We stayed in the large suite which was incredible value for money. I had to take pictures of the private balcony to show back home because it was so incredibly large! I've read other reviews saying there is no air con - but our room had an excellent up to date air con facility - you could have set it low enough to grow icicles if you wanted to! In a two week holiday where we stayed in lots of places, Torre Laurentil stood out as remarkably special. The village too was incredible - must be off the tourist trail because it was so quiet and peaceful...but it was a pristine beautiful medieval spot and definitely worth visiting - we simply couldn't believe how quiet it was. Lots of local people clearly out and about using it as a 'normal' town so it felt like we the tourists were definitely in a minority - very nice feeling.

Room Tip: Do try to stay in the suite if you can afford it - REMARKABLE value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymote, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights for a family wedding in August. The place was fabulous, the setting is exceptional, Stefan and Christine and all the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. They were so attentive to everybody who stayed, they couldn't do enough to help.

The room in which we stayed was fabulous, also, like a suite. there were two double beds, each in their own little recess, and the rest of the room was a beautifully appointed sitting-room. The only down-sides to the room were a lack of built-in air-conditioning, but the standard fan was fine in replacement. I can only imagine how difficult it would be to install AC in the stone work of this building. I also thought some water in the room might have been a nice touch.

The food for the wedding was excellent, it just kept coming all night long, and was beyond reproach. We loved everything about our time here, so much so, that a week later we returned to the hotel just to see it again, and take some personal photos of the place.

Yes, the hotel is expensive to stay in, but you get what you pay for,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheQ47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wormerveer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed three days in this hotel. It is beautiful, mice green garden, quiet and is has a very very nice owner.
This prefect American speaking guy is absolutely a fantastic host. We did enjoy the simpel meals in the patio. The wine was great.
The village is also remarkable clean and special. We higly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maroeska m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Torre Laurentii for three nights in July. The hotel is a beautifully renovated medieval stone building nestled within a small, welcoming medieval village. The village itself is in the foothills of the Pyrenees and is surrounded by forests; a great base for hiking or simply somewhere to rest and relax. The hotel provides lots of room to relax both on the spacious verandas and in the garden, which is lovingly maintained. The village square is only a few steps away and provides all of the charm of Catalonian village life.

We stayed in a superior room, which was incredibly spacious. The bathroom was vast and included a very large open shower as well as a jacuzzi bath. There were stone floors throughout which help to keep the rooms cool - the owners provide slippers! The windows and doors have beautiful wooden shutters. We stayed during the height of summer and although there is no air-conditioning (the whole hotel is sympathetic to the environment) we always felt cool and comfortable in our room.

The hotel runs its own restaurant and provides a 3 course dinner for an impressive 25Euros. The food is expertly cooked by the owners and is of a very high standard - it isn't pretentious, it is simple, really well-cooked, and truly enjoyable. The continental breakfast is lovely, and is complemented by homemade jams and locally produced olive oil of the highest quality.

The hotel is run by Stephan and Cristina. They are perfect hosts who made us feel so welcome, and went above and beyond what anyone could expect to make our stay memorable and enjoyable. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nojjers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Llorenc de la Muga
24.4 mi away
El Raco de Madremanya
El Raco de Madremanya
#1 of 2 in Madremanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Fornal Dels Ferrers
La Fornal Dels Ferrers
#1 of 1 in Terrades
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
18.7 mi away
Finca El Ventos
Finca El Ventos
#1 of 1 in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Hotel Mas Lazuli
Hotel Mas Lazuli
#1 of 1 in Pau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
24.5 mi away
Can Bassa
Can Bassa
#2 of 2 in Madremanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.7 mi away
Els Cacadors de Macanet
Els Cacadors de Macanet
#2 of 2 in Macanet de Cabrenys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Laurentii Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Laurentii Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Torre Laurentii Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Placa Paula Armet 2, 17732 Sant Llorenc de la Muga, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Sant Llorenc de la Muga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Llorenc de la Muga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Laurentii Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run hotel in a medieval town in the wine-producing region of the Spanish Pyrenees. Less than an hour away from the Costa Brava, and only 2 hours from Barcelona by car. Run by Spanish/U.S. couple. Only 7 rooms. Beautiful, peaceful and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Torre Laurentii Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing