We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Patuno Resort Wakatobi
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed for 4 days, pre-booked deluxe room with 3x dive trip package through the general manager, Pak Winarno who responded our queries very quickly. The service from arrival to departure are top notch, everything was well organized. Our dive master, Pak Amir is fantastic and has a very good eye to spot weird fishes during our diving trips. He also took good care for us, specially when we informed that we haven't been diving for 2 years. On the third day we went for dolphin watching and the crew really make an effort to find us group of dolphins. The restaurant serves western and indonesian food, we choosed grilled fish couple of times which was nicely cooked. Indeed the serving time tooks minimum half an hour, but we are at a remote island where things go slowly, so we just relax and manage our expectation. On the last day we have actually called the restaurant from our room and asked for grilled lobster to be prepared and ready for us when we get to the restaurant. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and looking forward to return to Patuno Resort Wakatobi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yulien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

This resort has a superb location for beach lovers, divers, snorkelers. However, the hotel doesn't function very well. During our five-day stay, the restaurant was frequently out of many foods, sometimes did not have cold beer, and generally could not serve meals within a reasonable period of time. Given that there are no other eating options, this is a significant problem. The huge Executive rooms, while impressive, are poorly designed. There is no separation between the main room and the bathroom, the enormous bathtub requires 30 minutes to fill, and the a/c is not sufficient to cool the room. Diving is expensive, but the diving and dive sites are good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KarenTLevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I spent last christmas holiday in patuno resort with my family. The service was good though the management of the staff was a little bit uncoordinated.
We booked 2 rooms and planned to have a diving and snorkeling trip so we wanted to arrange it with mr. Fajar beforehand. He told us that it would be better to book it on the day we arrive at patuno. So we arrived on 28th december and the staff picked us up from the airport. We searched for mr. Fajar but he was unavailable at that time so we arranged our schedule with another staff. We thought everything was fine and done. Short story, we were not told that we must book and arrange the diving trip at the dive center with mr. Iwan so our diving was nearly cancelled. they had only 2 boats and they were both fully booked. they then informed us that we should have booked before the arrival. *Duh* The staff was terribly lacked in communication so we were confused and transferred back and forth. We complained about the misinformation and the mess in our trip and fortunately the manager was able to solve it nicely. Finally *whew* we got the diving trip we wanted and everything else. A little bit of advice, you better book everything before your arrival at patuno.

Beside that incident, everything ran out smoothly. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It was my first time diving and the experience was exquisite. The ocean was wonderful, my family and i had a great time. The deluxe rooms were clean. The bathrooms were spacious and clean. The restaurant had lots variety of menus and you can order lobsters for cheap price. The food was quite good. I'd like to recommend mr.samsul as your diving guide for locals (i don't think he speaks much english but you can give it a go). He was totally friendly and experienced. you can communicate what you need and he would care and seek a way to fill it. Overall, it was a great experience in wakatobi and patuno resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ndreangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Wakatobi patuno resort is an excellent resort and it is wonderfully located. The facilities and the service are of very high standard. All the staff are perfectly trained to satisfy the guests with all their needs. Have to make a special mention to the quality, variety and presentation of the food. It is magical! Wakatobi Patuno Resort is a perfect combination of good diving, luxury treatment in accommodation, service and food. We recommend it! Another special mention to the impeccable service of housekeeping and restaurant staff

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Halston j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

I have a holiday with my family, in Patuno Resot. A good and beautiful room, nice staff help full , friendly. I like the jetty restorant, nice food, good cheff ,calm with blue ocean and sky . Clear air, calm windy, white sand and clear with plastic waste, I like the clear ocean . Various fish and colourful healthy coral ., amazing panorama, good and clean room, big, good wooden house with traditional arthirect . I am satisfied with every available service , I 'll back in next holiday

Bob andrew


Mike BENDICTA

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobmoramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Truly bad experience at Patuna Resort – Wakatobi… ignorant, arrogant, rough, uncoordinated and unprofessional !

We spent our family holidays at Patuna Resort , Wakatobi from 26th – 31st December 2012. The beach was truly nothing special, as common as other seaside can be easily found anywhere, but the room was nice, the staffs were very friendly and the service was excellent. The only place to eat was in the hotel restaurant because it’s in the middle of nowhere; no standard quality on the foods, extremely long service (normally took 1 – 1.5 hours to get our orders)..and once a while with horrible cooking, raw bloody grill chicken, unwell-cooked bloody fish.

We enjoyed the relaxing and friendly atmosphere from the local people and staff during the first few days. It was truly boring if didn’t do diving because this was what Wakatobi all about, and of course we didn’t want to miss it..and the experience DESTROYED our feeling of the whole trip !

We booked the program a day before and confirmed to leave at 8 am the next day. Make story short..when we showed up at the Dive Center at 7.30, the office was closed and we were told the group had left at 7 am. We found our name and program noted on the whiteboard outside the office with another family, but we were left in frustration !

We made a big complain to the General Manager who responded nicely and promised to replace the program for the next day and will ask the Dive Center Manager to contact us..and the HORRIBLE thing happened !!

The Diving Center Manager, a 20’s girl Bryony Robert from Scotland, came to our table while we were having dinner. She apologized very shortly for the problem in a very insincere manner and I responded saying :” Ya, what happened today was ridiculous”. She immediately turned her face down and said :” I already said sorry and come to offer you a solution, but if you don’t accept my apology, then I don’t need to offer you anything”. When I told her not suppose to talk in such manner, she turned into very aggressive and said :” Fine, then that’s it and I don’t need to continue”..and she left ….

I stopped her to protest her behavior and attitude, instead of being sorry and trying to clarify the problem, she started to fight aggressively with me in the middle of the restaurant. She was so arrogant, ignorant, rough and unprofessional ! She didn’t know at all the basic attitude of service, I couldn’t believe this happened with a tour manager of a 4-stars resort !

Water activities program are all what they can sell in Wakatobi, and if it’s managed by such a manager, what else Patuna Resort can offer ???

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
8  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

resort-nya bagus, nice place, service-nya juga bagus, staf yang ramah dan sangat helpfull. kamarnya besar, tidak hanya pakt diving tp highland tour juga ada.. i had very great diving with cool buddies..we'll be back to this place again

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank novaliap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Patuno Resort Wakatobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patuno Resort Wakatobi

Address: Jl. Raya Patuno | Wangi-Wangi, South East Sulawesi 93791, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South East Sulawesi > Wakatobi > Wangi Wangi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wangi Wangi Island
Price Range: £29 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Patuno Resort Wakatobi 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patuno Resort Wakatobi is the Wakatobi's most accessible 3 STAR Resort, situated only a 10 minute drive from the Matahora Airport in Wangi-Wangi. The Wakatobi National Marine Park encompasses over 12 thousand hectares of protected marine park and is made up of four main islands; Wangi-Wangi, Kaledupa, Tomia and Binongko. Patuno Resort stretches along a long white sandy beach which is ideal for sunbathing on, snorkeling from, strolling along, or organizing an impromptu barbecue on. A long barrier reef in front of this resort offers great diving and snorkeling opportunities. The breathtaking overhangs and steep walls of colorful corals are teaming with schooling pelagic fish and hammerhead sharks have recently been spotted here too. The resort is designed with natural building materials such as bamboo, teak wood, coconut wood, rattan and palm leaves, adding to the natural ambiance of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Patuno Resort Wakatobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patuno Resort Wakatobi Hotel Wangi Wangi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing