We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shower I've had in a while”
Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Exeter Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best shower I've had in a while”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

As others have said, this hotel isn't the location for that long-awaited honeymoon; it does, however, serve as an excellent stopover to or from Cornwall. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was a bit disappointing as some items were dry and overcooked and some undercooked. Not horrible, but not great, either.

On the positive side, however, the reception desk staff was very friendly, and, as the title indicates, I had a lovely shower here, I had to almost drag myself out. Overall, would definitely stay here again for a one-night stopover en route somewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    217
    93
    35
    24
See reviews for
92
201
20
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The only good thing about this hotel was it's location and the homemade curry I had!

It is just off a major road outside Exeter so brilliant if you are stopping off on your way to somewhere else. Petrol station next door for a newspaper and chocolate bar but nothing else around you.

Room was hotter than the surface of the sun and I didn't sleep well at all. All the rooms are on the ground floor so you can only open you window to the safety catch, and this does not get the air moving in the room. No fan no air con.

I wouldn't stay here agian, I am sure I could find better hotels for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Small but clean room. Friendly staff. The hotel has the appearance of a American motel and the rooms look out over the car park. Don't book for a romatic getaway or more than 1 night. Sundaynight offer good value for money (55gbp)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne_trvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Really nice place. Excellent on/off access to main highway. Has a petrol station across the steet. On site dining facility was O.K. for breakfast, however, just about 300 yards away was an excellent pub with alot more choices and pretty reasonable prices for supper. Rooms were reasonable size, however, the heated towel rack had no on/off switch and tended to make the room a little to warm. Ample parking, staff was great.

Room Tip: Family room has bunk beds for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Our family (10 of us) stayed here while touring various parts of Southwest England. Good central location, rooms were clean and onsite restraunt was good. Gas station right across the road and one other offsite restraunt about 400 yards away with good food also. For some reason they do not have an on/off switch for drying rack for towels so the room can get warm because of it. Do ask for a fan. Staff was outstanding. Plenty of parking and easy access to highway system.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Have stayed here before and it has been ok. As i booked 16 rooms Hotel insisted on a Tour Contract but no discount on published rates. Was a discrepancy between contract and invoice paid up front which Manager who was not on site refused to honour.
We all went to Restaurant where chef suggested he could not cope with a la carte and would provide a buffet! Ended up with a bar meal as no other option readily offered.
Staff helpful but limited English made communication erratic.
Rooms small but ok. Some of my party dubbed it Fawlty Towers
I note Manager responds to these but note incresing %age of negative reviews

Room Tip: all small no tip worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger050950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I arrived around 8pm they took payment straight away, I normally let them swipe my card but this time full payment up front as if i was checking out. The rooms are not sound proof all I could hear was the lady next door coughing all night. I went to breakfast around 8am, I was sat at a table with some of the cuttlery missing and the milk for the tea had been used by the previous occupants and the milk was spilt and was still on the bottom of the jug, only 1 person working who did not look happy, no fruit or yogurt out as described on the menu (it eventually came out after my breakfast). A lot of the other tables were still dirty do i know they had a few in before me but they need to address there staff levels, the poached eggs I ordered were very hard, enough said. At £75/night I could of stayed at the Devon in Exeter (where i normally stay) and had changed but they were fully booked.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharpy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCourt, Manager at Exeter Court Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for leaving your comments. We really appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continuously improve customer service, which is extremely important to us. We were disappointed to hear that on this occasion you did not experience the excellent levels of service we strive to achieve; and are looking into the issues you mentioned. We hope to welcome you back for a stay that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennford
0.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,041 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.9 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Property: Exeter Court Hotel
Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing