We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The American Motel experience, English style”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Exeter Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The American Motel experience, English style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst travelling on business to Exeter. I chose it because it is conveniently located, and looked good on the website. I liked the idea of being able to park pretty much next to my room, and it looked different to the usual business hotel. Also, the menu in the restaurant looked interesting, but in the end I chose to eat at the pub next door. I booked an extra large room, which made me wonder how big the standard room was, because it was adequate but not generously proportioned.

The bed was comfortable, with a good quality mattress and I slept well (despite the people talking loudly in the room next door at 2.00 am - the walls are very thin!). The TV was adequate and overall, the room was acceptable, reasonably clean and comfortable. It also had a central light which gave good illumination should I have chosen to work. So many hotels provide ill-thought out lighting, with wall lights, standard lamps but no overhead light fitting.

I couldn't get the free WiFi to work at all, but it is there and my colleague managed to connect so it may have been my fault.

The bathroom was probably one of the smallest I have ever come across, but was fairly clean and the shower was adequate if not particularly forceful. White sanitary ware would have been preferable to the rather dated pale avocado suite, but I am being picky...however, the soap and shampoo provided did not inspire confidence, being the cheapest you can get, I expect.

An iron and ironing board was available and necessary because my shirt needed pressing.

Breakfast was excellent; I ordered two poached eggs, bacon tomato and hash brown. It was all freshly cooked, well-presented and high quality. All too often hotels provide quite unpleasant bacon, which has poor texture and no flavour; I am happy to report that this is not the case here. The coffee was good too, and a generous buffet spread available in addition. Service was prompt and efficient as well as friendly and polite. The reception staff were good-humoured and chatty, and it was good value. If I go back to Exeter (which is likely) I will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the extra £10 and go for the 'extra large' room. Especially if you have a tendency to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1nv1ctaH0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    206
    89
    35
    24
See reviews for
88
188
20
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was looking forward to this 2 night stay with my two children and husband. The pics of this hotel make it look smart. I was shocked by the strong smell of damp when I opened the room door. Room 42. We discovered it was the shower curtain. Then looked at the broken and loose tiles around the sink and hair in the bath and for the first time in my life I called reception and asked to change rooms. They did find us another room which was better. However still shocked by the amount of dust everywhere we coped with it as we had important things to attend to in Exeter and knew that most places were fully booked.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 42. Room 58 wasn't much better. Think they have these two family rooms any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for three days whilst visiting relatives. We were drawn to the hotel primarily due to the price. What a surprise, advertised as 3 star but could very easily with a small upgrade in some parts be a 4 star.
The staff were excellent, friendly and attentive. The hotel is very clean and presentable. Food was excellent. Very convenient for Exeter and the South coast.
Our only concerns were. 1, The mattress needs replacing but was adequate for a 3 Star. 2. The breakfast sausages were locally sourced. Too much herb filling. Would really have liked plain god quality pork sausages.

Apart from that no complaints what so ever. Well done, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

When places like this are around. ...I do question my travelodge fascination.

Location is spot on if you're exploring exeter. As you know I would normally advocate a travelodge....but Exeter court trumps travelodge...and at the same sort if money too.

Breakfast was superb too....

I didn't dine there in the evening so I couldn't comment.

But if you're in the exeter area...passing through going south or back up the m5...try it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed at the hotel 26th-28th July as part of a large family group for a wedding reception that was held there. The foyer and all public areas were spotless and the welcome we received from the staff was wonderful. Over the weekend, they did not disappoint, as nothing was too much trouble for them and they helped make it an unforgettable event.
The rooms were clean, if a little small and the bathroom pretty basic and showing some wear and tear. But we didn't pay the earth, after all and everything was serviceable. Like a previous reviewer, I found the room extremely hot, but after some fiddling, managed to open the window wider to let some air in.
The food for the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The vanilla pannacotta with mango and ginger compote was to die for! The waiting staff were a joy, especially as we had a lot of young children in the group and they were very patient and smiled their way through the whole event.
There was a good selection of juices and cereals at breakfast and the hot portion of the meal was served very promptly and was very good. All the children in the party were enthralled by the large fish tank in the restaurant and it kept them quiet all through the meal!
All in all, a very enjoyable and extremely good value for money stay and the only thing that keeps me from awarding top marks is the tired bathroom and difficulty in cooling the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossie-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Foyer was lovely, the staff were efficient.
The room was average.
The bathroom was ancient, tiny and noisy.
The lamps were positively disgusting!
The breakfast was OK.
It was extremely hot overnight and the bedroom window didn't open far enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Having stayed at this hotel for the past 18 months, what more can I say but fantastic. Fantastic value for money. Staff are first rate, the food has always been great. The rooms are clean and tidy with very comfortable beds. I have stayed in nearly all the rooms and not one has been a let down.

Thank you for looking after me and I will miss you all very much. When I'm next in Exeter staying, I will make this my first port of call.

Cheers Tim

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennford
2.9 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Property: Exeter Court Hotel
Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing