We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rather tired hotel!”
Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Exeter Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A rather tired hotel!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent one night here and it didn't really live up to expectations. The good points were:

Great location, just off the M5.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room was basically clean although the bathroom was slightly less so.

The bad points were:

Our 'large room', that we'd paid extra for, was no bigger than the average Travelodge room and we'd assumed (obviously incorrectly) that a bed in a 'large room' would be king size but it was just a standard double. The mattress was also rock hard and very uncomfortable.

The bathroom was very tired with an unappealing old off-white suite and cracked tiles that had definitely seen better days. The 'luxury toiletries' advertised on the web site turned out to be two cheap slivers of soap in plastic wrappers and an empty Dove dispenser on the wall.

The cooked breakfasts seemed ok but I like a continental style breakfast and choice here was severely limited. There were three large open bowls of cheap cereal, a pile of long-life strawberry yogurts (no other flavours available) and bread for toast. Surely there should be extras such as croissants, muffins, fresh fruit etc? Would also be nice to see veggie options on the cooked menu, such as Quorn sausages or Vegebacon.

In summary, a hotel with a convenient location and nice staff but it needs considerable updating before I'd consider returning to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhc507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    222
    94
    35
    24
See reviews for
96
202
21
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Good things about the hotel included:
1. Nice and cosy looking rooms, however small,
2. Good power shower,
3. Toiletries provided: soap, shower cap along with Dove shower/shampoo gel,
4. Tea and coffee making facilities (Nescafe coffee, milk, tea and sugar) with welcome packs of biscuits; replenished daily,
5. Good free parking,
6. Free wi-fi.
Little annoyances:
1. Plumbing: everytime somebody (even one of your neighbours) uses the sink/shower/toilet, the pipes go mad and noisy which woke me up twice in one night,
2. The noisiest bathroom fan I've ever experienced - was that a helicopter? I went to the toilet with my phone light just to avoid waking up my partner with the automatic fan,
3. Curtains seem thick and heavy, and yet they do not block the light out at all. I slept with my (clean) pants over my eyes from dawn on,
4. Red microscopic splatters on the bathroom wall next to the toilet bowl which suggest blood not being cleaned off,
I'm not sure if those problems affect all the rooms, thought. It's a shame because the room was lovely otherwise, but if you're a light sleeper like me, you will have a problem. I would have slept 1-2 hours longer each time if all those nuisances hadn't affected me.
Breakfast:
Full English, porridge (freshly cooked while you wait), tea and coffee (ordered), cereal, mixed fruit salad, juices, yoghurt. Not much choice but enough to stuff yourself and not eat until 6pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zembak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Staff were so helpful and friendly,even emailed me a copy of the childrens menu when we booked and when i phoned with a query they were very helpful. Bedding and towels were spotless and the room was clean. The bathroom could do with some updating but it was clean,the shower was fantastic,i was very impressed!!
We had dinner in the restaurant on the Sunday (roast) which was excellent and the childrens food looked good as well,breakfast was also very good,lots of choice for continental and cooked.
Would definatley consider staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzy6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst travelling on business to Exeter. I chose it because it is conveniently located, and looked good on the website. I liked the idea of being able to park pretty much next to my room, and it looked different to the usual business hotel. Also, the menu in the restaurant looked interesting, but in the end I chose to eat at the pub next door. I booked an extra large room, which made me wonder how big the standard room was, because it was adequate but not generously proportioned.

The bed was comfortable, with a good quality mattress and I slept well (despite the people talking loudly in the room next door at 2.00 am - the walls are very thin!). The TV was adequate and overall, the room was acceptable, reasonably clean and comfortable. It also had a central light which gave good illumination should I have chosen to work. So many hotels provide ill-thought out lighting, with wall lights, standard lamps but no overhead light fitting.

I couldn't get the free WiFi to work at all, but it is there and my colleague managed to connect so it may have been my fault.

The bathroom was probably one of the smallest I have ever come across, but was fairly clean and the shower was adequate if not particularly forceful. White sanitary ware would have been preferable to the rather dated pale avocado suite, but I am being picky...however, the soap and shampoo provided did not inspire confidence, being the cheapest you can get, I expect.

An iron and ironing board was available and necessary because my shirt needed pressing.

Breakfast was excellent; I ordered two poached eggs, bacon tomato and hash brown. It was all freshly cooked, well-presented and high quality. All too often hotels provide quite unpleasant bacon, which has poor texture and no flavour; I am happy to report that this is not the case here. The coffee was good too, and a generous buffet spread available in addition. Service was prompt and efficient as well as friendly and polite. The reception staff were good-humoured and chatty, and it was good value. If I go back to Exeter (which is likely) I will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the extra £10 and go for the 'extra large' room. Especially if you have a tendency to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1nv1ctaH0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was looking forward to this 2 night stay with my two children and husband. The pics of this hotel make it look smart. I was shocked by the strong smell of damp when I opened the room door. Room 42. We discovered it was the shower curtain. Then looked at the broken and loose tiles around the sink and hair in the bath and for the first time in my life I called reception and asked to change rooms. They did find us another room which was better. However still shocked by the amount of dust everywhere we coped with it as we had important things to attend to in Exeter and knew that most places were fully booked.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 42. Room 58 wasn't much better. Think they have these two family rooms any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for three days whilst visiting relatives. We were drawn to the hotel primarily due to the price. What a surprise, advertised as 3 star but could very easily with a small upgrade in some parts be a 4 star.
The staff were excellent, friendly and attentive. The hotel is very clean and presentable. Food was excellent. Very convenient for Exeter and the South coast.
Our only concerns were. 1, The mattress needs replacing but was adequate for a 3 Star. 2. The breakfast sausages were locally sourced. Too much herb filling. Would really have liked plain god quality pork sausages.

Apart from that no complaints what so ever. Well done, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

When places like this are around. ...I do question my travelodge fascination.

Location is spot on if you're exploring exeter. As you know I would normally advocate a travelodge....but Exeter court trumps travelodge...and at the same sort if money too.

Breakfast was superb too....

I didn't dine there in the evening so I couldn't comment.

But if you're in the exeter area...passing through going south or back up the m5...try it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennford
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,686 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
2.9 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Property: Exeter Court Hotel
Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing