We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple of nights while working at Exeterchiefs”
Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Exeter Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived late on Friday night and it took a little time to raise the attention of the receptionist. When we did we were checked in and directed to our room. All rooms were on ground floor so good access.
However our room was very small only just enough room to squeeze round the bed. The bathroom was also small.
Breakfast was quite good with cereal and toast fruit juice fresh fruit & a full English with nice sausage.
On our second night there was a wedding party in full swing so no chance of a quite drink or meal but not to worry the local pub is just a short walk away.
Would I book in again? Probably not.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Rodders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Exeter Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

I needed somewhere to stay near the airport for an early flight. It was ideally situated for that being only 12 mins drive. Unfortunately I was there when there was a wedding so I was kept up and.most of the guests were staying on my corridor so I wasn't best pleased being woken up at half midnight given that I had to get up early. The free WiFi was non-existent and when I phoned reception for assistance I was just told that it wasn't available in some areas. The towel rail would also not switch off which made the room really hot. I have stayed in far nicer places for the same money. If it wasn't for the location I wouldn't go again. It was clean and is ideal for a brief trip.

Room Tip: Make sure it has WiFi and a towel rail that switches off. Also if there is a wedding on ask if you c...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorbi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We found this hotel by looking online for a wedding venue close to where we live. From the very first contact, the manager and staff of the hotel could not have been more professional and helpful. On the actual day of the wedding everything went smoothly and the staff worked hard to make sure our day was perfect. Alongside our wedding they also catered for a full hotel, including a coach party of foreign tourists. All our guests that stayed at the hotel thought the rooms were clean, tidy, well presented and reasonably priced. For ourselves the suite that we stayed in was very nice, the food of a very good quality and reasonably priced. On our last morning we over slept a were half an our late for breakfast, however the staff still managed to serve us with breakfast despite the fact that the kitchen had officially closed 30 minutes before. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as both a wedding venue and as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here when we were in Devon, we stayed at the Ashton Suite.

The room was very big, and for a hotel had some good lighting.

The WiFi was a bit of hit and miss.

Food was nice from the Bar.

Only let down was the towel rail in the bathroom could not be turned off, so it made the whole room on the warm side.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Reception staff very helpfull. Bar staff helpful. Room was damp with damp marks and mould on the ceilings. Very noisy due to a wedding takeing place and a fight outside our window. The bed was the smallest double bed i have ever slept in .

Room Tip: Breakfast was very good
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here with a family group earlier in the year and although the hotel was not expensive I still left feeling I had not received value for money. The issue I had was the room quality, in a word "tired" . The bedroom had a carpet that you didn't want to put your bare feet on the bathroom needed replacing and the room interior was just in need of updating. The bar and restaurant were obviously more recently modernised and all the better for it. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the food was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniels980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for one night having seen the photos on a hotel booking site although when i booked i had no idea it was next to a motorway! I have named this review 'kippers & curtains' as that about sums this hotel up.The foyer, bar & dining room are all lovely - clean, shiny & glitzy. However the room are a different matter, it is a bit like sleeping in a barracks. We stayed in room 22 which was advertised as extra large but in reality was a snug basic double - ok but a little dated. The bed linen looked fresh except for the remnants of something on the bed runner - we couldn't decide if it was food or vomit. This was removed and not replaced when we complained. The bathroom was definately past its best to say the least - i believe the colour was 'wild sage' back in about 1984!! The sink had a dated tiled surround which was all cracked and uneven with a wobbly looking cupboard under -hideous. The dove soap dispenser was dirty but the worst was the covering of black hair all over the floor, particularly around the sink and also on the bath - couldn't bring myself to shower in there. There was no Wi fi connection. The plaster & paintwork in the hallway was chipped and scuffed.
The breakfast was adequate - bacon fatty and leathery fried egg, nice sausage, but not large portions and only just warm. Basic bread in bags on the serving tables, no croissants etc. The waiting staff were very pleasant and food served promptly.
Overall - wouldn't return and not worth £75.00 a night. You are asked to pay for your room when you sign in - maybe we would have gone elsewhere if we'd seen it or at least negotiated a discount. Give me a Premier Inn any time!!

Room Tip: Room 22 a bit dilapidated but not too much road noise as on the side.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanapips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennford
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,740 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
4.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range: £53 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing