We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely ”
Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Exeter Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

On arrival I was a little sceptical of what the hotel would be like, I was greeted by a very welcoming receptionist and lovely lobby area.
Our room was exceptionally clean which is great to see! Small but suited us perfectly. Bathroom was done to a really high quality! :) only things I could complain about were the curtains as let lots of light in a blind would definitely be better. And our room unfortunately was right next to the blocks main door so we were disturbed all the time with the banging. (Strange that even the bathroom draws and toilet have soft close yet main door doesn't) besides broken sleep due to these it was a lovely stay. Restaurant was good as was the bar and lady on the bar xx

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glitzy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

If you are looking for an average hotel then this is perfect, is in need of a little sprucing up, but clean and tidy. Breakfast was average, a little dry where obviously it had been sat under heat to keep warm, location is perfect for people wanting to use A30 - A 38.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

On our way from Derbyshire to Cornwall, and with friends in the area, this was ideal for an overnight. Small room for two, but well-equipped and clean. Wifi worked well for us, but strangely we didn't get good mobile reception even to our friends just down the road, and our travel radio wouldn't go without much interference. Lovely towels, deep bath and good shower, rather clattery fan though. Some light noise from the road, it was quite stuffy and warm, so we needed the window open overnight, but it didn't keep us awake, very comfy bed. Good hot breakfast politely and very speedily served, in spite of a very busy dining room. We thought the dinner menu was a little unadventurous, so walked about 15 minutes into Kenn village and had a superb and very good meal at the Ley Arms pub.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the road as possible. Ours was no 55, and reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Nice stay, good bar area. Good food. Rooms are a bit small but great showers. Breakfast cooked fresh for you in the morning. Parking is easy considering i had a big van. Close to motorway. Would probally stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danny_boy22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Clean and tidy Friendly and handy for the commute to Exeter Torquay and Plymouth.....Bus service not to good to the village which is a shame....But there is a local Post office...Which is very good and helpful.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willyboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Made a reservation here to finish off our Silver Anniversary celebrations. Paid for an upgrade to a suite imagining a lovely ambience and surroundings from the website. Findings totally different. Two minutes from motorway, dark and dingy room (the view was of a grass bank and we had to have the lights on in the middle of the day - oppressive). Couldn't have bedroom window open because of motorway noise. Room was nice and clean though. Simple shower over bath (which I struggled with as an 'over 21' because there were no handrails ... and the bathroom was small. We expected a walk- in shower which would be more fitting of a suite. Bed was comfortable. Food was good in the bar but there were a lot of non-residents in attendance which made it rather noisy and intrusive over dinner. When our grievance was first pointed out to reception - we were made to feel uncomfortable rather than special. Nothing was said or done to allay our obvious disappointment. Following this, the receptionist chose to ignore us for our whole stay not even making eye contact when she walked through the bar. It was very unprofessional and made us feel even more unwelcome. We would not return and would never recommend. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: This hotel boasts excellence but is little more than a motorway services hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardie356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel was booked for stay after rugby in Cardiff to break journey home. For many it may be ideal stopping point before or after flight from Exeter airport which is about 10 minute drive away. Have stayed in a few budget hotels for rugby games and they are OK for what you want. This hotel though whilst budget price, was much much better than experienced elsewhere. Lovely quiet location not far off M5 on A38 with rolling countryside around. Format is one of modern external blocks of rooms, all nicely laid out around main building with lots of parking and space. Rooms very well equipped, free wifi, breakfast (adequate) included and reception staff very friendly/helpful.

Room content was very good quality and very clean. Would recommend this for more than a one night stay, comfortable reception area to sit and read paper, nice bar area and relaxing location to tour from. There is also a petrol station nearby, so you can fill up here instead of being hit with motorway prices for fuel.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullNotGlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennford
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,788 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,130 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range: £53 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing