We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idealy suited overnighter for travellers on journey to cornwalt”
Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Exeter Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Exeter Court Hotel is situated after the Southern end of the M5 and is several miles from Exeter.
It is a motel and is ideally sited for travellers wanting an overnight stop on their way to South Devon or Cornwall.
Not too close to the centre of ExeterThe rooms are ok with all necessary amenities
I did not eat dinner in the restaurant but had a snack in the bar. The quality of this was rather poor hence my decision not to use the restaurant but to eat out. There is a pub right next door, Gissons that do carveries and stuff which was rather good plus the Ley Arms about a couple of miles down the hill behind the Exeter Court. It is a dodgy walk down a country lane and a mountainous hike on the way back. Well worth the effort though

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ME&ERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

late booking in transit to Cornwall. Very pleasant one night stay. Rooms quite small but comfortable with fantastic power shower. Good breakfast. Ate in the restaurant in the evening and enjoyed a very good meal at a reasonable price.
Good venue for a stop-over

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jirah_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Luckily we just stayed one night in Exeter Court hotel. It started with problems right away as the key card to the room is tricky to use. Dinner in the evening was disappointing, the main meal, a roast dinner, did not taste freshly prepared and I did not eat much. Rooms are clean, but very warm and it is not possible to open the windows wide. One bed side light did not work either. Breakfast was a rush, I managed to get one piece of toast and one coffee, before everything was turned off and put away by the waiter, even officially it was still breakfast time. Will not stay here again and would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birgit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night. We had a family room which had a double bed and bunk beds. Was really surprised as we booked last minute online. Our too was lovely , modern furnishings and spotlessly clean. Bathroom had lots of fluffy white towels and complimentary toiletries. Small kettle with tea/coffee also provided. Had a great nights sleep in a comfy bed! We also had breakfast. We had a freshly cooked full English which was ok. It was a little dry. There was also cereal,toast, fresh fruit salad and yoghurts on offer. A good stay overall with helpful staff and great rooms...would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollykate37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed for one night, visiting Exter University. Whilst the building looks like your classic 70's hotel from the outside, it's clean and modern on the inside.

The reception staff were efficient and friendly. Our room - a standard - was small, but fine. The window was a bit difficult to close, but sorted easily enough. It more or less silenced the noise from the nearby A30. Telly had good reception on Freeview, tea and coffee provided. Bed was comfortable with two good pillows each. Bathroom was nice, really good hot shower over the bath.

We had dinner in the bar - slightly odd situation here as you can eat either in the bar or the restaurant, which are separated by a glass screen and have different menus. But the food comes from the same place and is served by the same staff. So you need to check the menus first (included in the room info pack) to decide where you want to sit to eat.

The food was good, hot and tasty and served in good time. Nothing pretentious, just well presented and value for money. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Very limited buffet, cereal or toast, no pastries etc. The cooked breakfast was pretty plain. It says "local sausages" on the menu and I'd guess they came from the local Aldi - pretty plain and cheap. But hot and filling and properly cooked.

All in all, not a bad place to stop overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tikky110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Plenty of parking and easy to find. Well placed to get in and out of Exeter. Our room was spotless. Bathroom looked new and again was spotless. Breakfast was very good, with a cold buffet and hot option. I would definitely recommend for a one-night stop.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsKBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

On arrival I was a little sceptical of what the hotel would be like, I was greeted by a very welcoming receptionist and lovely lobby area.
Our room was exceptionally clean which is great to see! Small but suited us perfectly. Bathroom was done to a really high quality! :) only things I could complain about were the curtains as let lots of light in a blind would definitely be better. And our room unfortunately was right next to the blocks main door so we were disturbed all the time with the banging. (Strange that even the bathroom draws and toilet have soft close yet main door doesn't) besides broken sleep due to these it was a lovely stay. Restaurant was good as was the bar and lady on the bar xx

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glitzy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennford
4.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,816 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,149 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range: £52 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing