We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Pixxidix
Berlin, Germany

Great service and breakfast

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jul 2018via mobile
There are two gentlemen working in the hotel. One is rude, but the other very polite, helpful and friendly. Breakfast is on the expensive side, but nothing unheard of fir Swiss prices and contains breakfast ceewals, cheese, cold platter, breads, homemade jams, fruit salad and a variety of beverages. Rooms are small but clean. Internet does not work in some rooms.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hostettlera, Inhaber at Hotel Ermatingerhof, responded to this review
Responded 11 Jul 2018
Thanks Pixxidix
A really nice description of your experience with us. Bad-Cop, Good-Cop has a system with us. Because where there's no shadow, there's no light. Seriously, we all want you to like it here and we do everything we can. If we don't always succeed - we are so sorry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.0 miles from Hotel Ermatingerhof
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £243
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Hotel Ermatingerhof
Free parking
Restaurant
Garden view
Booking.com
    0.3 miles from Hotel Ermatingerhof
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £163
    • Booking.com
    2.8 miles from Hotel Ermatingerhof
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £130
    • Hotels.com
    3.0 miles from Hotel Ermatingerhof
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Tripadvisor
    £87
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Vio.com
    3.5 miles from Hotel Ermatingerhof
    Free Wifi
    Bar/Lounge
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    5.1 miles from Hotel Ermatingerhof
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Whirlpool
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    3.4 miles from Hotel Ermatingerhof
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    4.6 miles from Hotel Ermatingerhof
    Free Wifi
    Bar/Lounge
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    3.6 miles from Hotel Ermatingerhof
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Ermatingen
    Reviews (136)
    Filter reviews
    136 results
    Traveller rating
    103
    30
    2
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    103
    30
    2
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 136 reviews
    Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

    Very homely, very clean and very friendly.
    We Will definitely be back again. We slept so well that we were to late getting up so sorry to say we had to skip breakfast. we had to meet friends . Next time we will definitely have breakfast.

    Date of stay: August 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank JaneK2589
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

    Its was the same "homey" atmosphere 3 years ago, thats why we keep coming back. The location is quiet but since the hotel is like a big villa, you might hear the footsteps of other guests at night.
    It has a nice view of Bodensee- the beautiful lake near the border of Switzerland and Germany. Just 5 mins to the nearest train station and 2 mins to Germany. Great for a weekend getaway or longer. Mind you my fav thing about this hotel is that theyre using Clarins products!!! 👍👍

    Date of stay: August 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank tourist_binich
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    hostettlera, Inhaber at Hotel Ermatingerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

    Great comment. Thank you very much!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 June 2016

    I highly recommend this place. Everything was fantastic! The hotel is well decorated (with a French flair); the rooms are spacious, the reception area feels more like your living room than a hotel reception. Breakfast was absolutely lavish and delicious.
    To top it all, the level of service is extraordinary! The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home.

    Date of stay: June 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank CatherineSW3
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    hostettlera, Inhaber at Hotel Ermatingerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

    Thank you very much Catherine! Best wishes from the lake of constance. Marie-Anne

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 August 2015

    We celebrated our wedding anniversary in this fabulous hotel and had a great time. The owners are wonderfully warm people, who cater to all your needs. We especially appreciated the little French touch in all things : Le Petit Marsaillais soap, Caramel Cream, and of course, the talks !
    Our room was very welcoming, with a view on the lake, and the bed was really comfortable.
    Celiacs are welcome, glutenfree bread is available for breakfast which consists of a great buffet. Separated jam will be provided to avoid contamination (the jam pots are next to the bread).
    The situation of the hotel is also perfect, near to the lake and restaurants. We choose the full programm and went by bicycle to the Thermes of Constance, a great experience.
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back !

    Date of stay: August 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Soleil71
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    hostettlera, Inhaber at Hotel Ermatingerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

    What a lovely comment. Thank you very much!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 August 2014

    We arrived at the hotel early after an evening flight from the US to Zurich. Fortunately, our room was ready at 10:30am and they gave us the key. We stayed in room 203 which has a lovely view onto the Bodensee. The room was spacious and there was a large bathroom. I had only two complaints with the bathroom. First, the fan came on after a certain period of time that the bathroom light was on, whether you needed it or not. Also, once on, you had to wait for the fan to decide to turn off (even at 3am). The more critical complaint was that the shower was located in a tub with a high side making it difficult to step down to the floor, especially when the tub is wet. A hold bar is needed since the tub bottom is about 3" higher than the floor and the side of the tub is very high. To me, who has slipped and had a bad fall in a hotel tub before, this is an important safety issue. Beds were comfortable, though there is lots of road noise making it harder to sleep. Staff usually had acceptable english, though once we communicated more effectively in french. Did not have breakfast here, but did partake in an apero in the afternoon and after dinner Williams in the bar area which was nice. Nice patio area. Internet was slow and spotty. Loved that they had coupons for several restaurants, which saved $5 each. They also had a free entry for the Napoleon Museum. Adequate parking, though be careful coming down the driveway as one can hit the road due to a dip. The town is very nice and has several good restaurants. Thus, while not perfect, the experience for two nights was very pleasant.

    Room tip: 203 has a gorgeous view.
    Date of stay: August 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank aagourmet
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    hostettlera, Inhaber at Hotel Ermatingerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2015

    Thank you very much. Even if not everything was perfect, your judgement is absolutely fair. We try harder!!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews