We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Park Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hethersett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Choose this hotel due to our son getting married at a nearby location, we booked a superior room. The room we were given was in our opinion a standard room. We double checked this hotels website and the size of the room we were given was the same size as the standard room, decor was the same also. We went back to reception and after a long discussion with the receptionist trying to tell us it was a superior room our room was then change. The room they change us to was bigger and the same as the superior room advertised on the website.
Before we checked in we had lunch in the bar with some wedding guests who then brought us a bottle of wine and asked at reception for this to be sent to our room as a surprise. Our friends then learnt that our room had been changed so notified reception that the wine need so be changed also.
We did not receive this wine and it wasn't until the wedding the next day when we were asked if we enjoyed the wine that we realised we should have had wine delivered. Our friend did telephone the hotel and this was waiting for us we we returned.
The spa is nice but it is a shame that they allow children in the jacuzzi and steam room, not very relaxing.
The food is very good and the staff In Both the restaurant and bar were very nice and service was good.
Unfortunately although we would happily return to the restaurant and bar we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Front Office Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Debbie,

We were very disappointed to read your negative comments after your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering all of our customers a faultless experience while with us, so it is discouraging to read of our shortcomings on this occasion. We hope you will accept our apologies and assurances that you did not experience the best that Park Farm has to offer.

In regards to your dissatisfaction with your bedroom, I must highlight that we do stipulate on our website:

"*All pictures are a representation of what the majority of each room type looks like. Should you wish to ensure you are allocated a specific bedroom please call the hotel directly."

I must also state we are not a branded hotel chain with lots of bedrooms all furnished identically. Many of our bedrooms are different and individually designed. We and many of our previous guests consider this to be part of the Park Farm charm and we stand by this opinion.

The mix up with the wine ordered was unfortunate and your feedback has been circulated around all departments to prevent these issues occurring again.

We do appreciate your feedback and shall use it in our ongoing endeavours to provide perfect stays to all of our guests.

Kind regards

Michael Bannister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Were treated by my Husbands work collegues to a spring wine and dine over night stay as a retirement gift. What a lovely treat! We had a lovely big bedroom with Jacuzzi bath and a little patio area looking onto the garden. All very clean.
The staff were all very friendly and polite, especially the Boys and Girls in the Restuarant.though we did find the reception experience rather rushed. We were not told how to find the main restaurant or what time breakfast was.But no big problem, we looked in the imformation folder.
All food was of very good quality and very nicely presented it was only let down by the Baileys torte which seemed to be full of gelatine and had no flavour,
The leisure facilities are brilliant.
thank you Park farm for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minimaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Front Office Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback after your recent break away with us.

We were delighted to read such positive comments about your experience and will use your thoughts regarding your arrival to maintain our ongoing improvements to our customer service. I would however like to assure you that this is not the usual standard of our welcome.

We have taken note of all your comments and shall hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Michael Bannister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Check in a bit awkward having to ask where brekkie and gym is. Also I found out when I checked out that they put me one of the last rooms that hasn't had a refub. He actually told me this with a smile as I was complaining out the rom and the terrible shower that didn't clean me at all. NICE!

Good points:

Amazing scenery
Swimming pool is AMAZING.
Check in a bit awkward having to ask where brekkie and gym is
Room dated pink floral curtains and brown flecece - no quilt
Bed comfy
Breakfast staff all smiles and cheering everyone up.

Bad points:

Noise outside room - Loads of work going on. They wouldn't move me
Terrible dribbled shower and soap didn't work
Poached eggs arrive way before toast I was actually finished them

Would I stay again? Yes but not in that room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basurq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Front Office Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your insightful comments after your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read you had such mixed feelings about your experience.

We believe a guests arrival at the hotel is paramount to the enjoyment of their stay in general and as such this is very important to us. Breakfast times and the gym facilities are explained to all new guests so I am surprised to hear this was not the case. We will be raising this issue with our front office team to ensure standards of check in are maintained.

When dealing with any feedback or complaints our staff do try and approach this with a friendly and professional attitude, we are well known for our big smiles but can only apologise if you felt this was not the correct demeanour for the situation.

As usual we will take on board all feedback and use this to ensure high levels of hospitality are offered to all of our guests.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We went to Park Farm as a very short honeymoon the hotel and spa were first class the food was great and the staff could not do enough for you
The location is good only 5 miles from Norwich city centre
So from my wife and I thank you for a great break

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mitchell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Guest Relations Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Congratulations to both you and your wife on your recent wedding. We are delighted to read that you decided to spend your honeymoon with us here at Park Farm Hotel.

It is lovely to read that you experienced first class service during your stay with the staff fulfilling your every need. I have passed your comments on to all the staff to show their hard work does not go unnoticed.

Enjoy married life and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie hood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A well located hotel within 15 minutes of Norwich centre... First night arrival was late and our apartment style room was poor and dated - we were relocated to an executive refurbished suite on day two and the comparison is startling. Well worth the price in the refurbished room, and although relatively compact, is good for adult plus one child - thumbs up to the hotel for listening to their guests and making us feel valued as guests.

Room Tip: ensure you ask for one of the refurbished rooms... Don't accept the 'cottage style' fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Guest Relations Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after your recent family stay with us here at Park Farm Hotel.

We have a wide selection of rooms here at Park Farm from Standard through to Boutique rooms which vary from the traditional style rooms to the more modern styled rooms. Should you be staying in the area again and have a preference as to which sort of room you prefer, then please do not hesitate to contact us directly. I am pleased to read that on this occasion the staff were able to accommodate your needs.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie Hood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A very lovely setting so near to city of Norwich. The hotel has a long tree lined drive down to the hotel reception. The original farm house comes into view as you reach the car park. The reception area is modern and bright, the welcome from the staff is friendly and the sign in is simple. There is help with luggage should you need it. On previous occasions we have used a few different rooms in the hotel, plus the facilities for weddings and private dining for a celebratory dinner. On all occasions the rooms and staff have been excellent. We have recently used a disability friendly room which has been a real refuge after a busy day! The room has plenty of space to move around in and a delightful table and chairs on an outside area from the room. The hotel has a swimming pool, gym, and beauty treatments too. A superb stay every time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Guest Relations Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Many thanks for your great review after your most recent trip to us here at Park Farm Hotel.

We find that for all visitors, from business clients to families to couples like yourselves, our location is ideal being only a short drive away Norwich City Centre yet being set in the picturesque Norfolk Countryside. During the (rare) warm summer months, the patio's which accompany some of the rooms are an extra luxury to soak up some British sun so I am pleased you managed to use these.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie Hood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

First time we have stayed here and certainly will not be the last. My family arranged a dinner for 23 of us to celebrate my 70th birthday, and it was first class. The food was wonderful as was the service of the staff. Everyone too was very friendly and helpful on reception, the rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Definitely will be recommending Park Farm to family and friends in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet we were on the ground floor which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelist44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Guest Relations Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Happy 70th Birthday to you. It is lovely to see that your family arranged to spend such a special occasion for you with us here at Park Farm Hotel.

I am very pleased to see that everything was perfect for you and your family. Our staff appreciate all your kind words which I have passed on to show that their hard work doesn't go unnoticed.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie Hood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hethersett
4.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,880 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
4.9 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
12.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
981 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Farm Hotel

Address: Park Farm Studio Norwich Road | Norwich, Hethersett, Norwich NR9 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Hethersett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hethersett
Price Range: £93 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe Park Farm Hotel is one of the finest examples of Norfolk hospitality. If your visit is for business or leisure you can be assured of a warm welcome, a great stay and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Farm Hotel Hethersett, Norfolk
Park Farm Norwich
Park Farm Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing