We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aspires for mediocrity but doesn't quite hit the mark”
Review of Park Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hethersett
Certificate of Excellence
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Aspires for mediocrity but doesn't quite hit the mark”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We came for dinner on a Saturday evening. Food generally disappointing, fillet steaks were tough but flavoursome, no veg included in the grill set menu, veggi option of beetroot tart with rocket salad was just rubbish (puff pastry with sliced beetroot, handful of nasty rocket and a pile of raw red onion!). Set menu pricy for what it is. Menu priced as either 2 or 3 courses (at about £25 and £28 respectively but the majority of main courses attract a supplement of between £3 and £6, what's the point in that?) Staff polite but all very young and seemingly inexperienced, service slow. Drinks expensive for Norfolk.

It had the general feeling of a business travellers hotel where the prices are set in line for bored 'road warriors 'on an expense account. Decor, service and menus feel dated and tired, it really could have been the inspiration for Alan Partridges Norwich travel tavern.

We did not stay the night so cannot comment on the rooms, but the public areas were clean and tidy , if a little Holiday inn/Posthouse circa 1992

In short it just doesn't cut it in 2014.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattfromnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Front Office Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Matt,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts after your recent visit to our restaurant.

I have investigated your feedback and would like to offer our thoughts below.

The menu as with many restaurants in our market tier does indeed have some dishes with supplements. After checking the menu from Saturday night I can confirm there was 6 starters and 9 mains. Only one of the main dishes incurred a supplement. This was a rack of Lamb. The only other dishes that incurred an additional charge were from the grill menu Eg Fillet steak (£6 supplement).

Many restaurants would charge you £25 just for a fillet steak meal so we do not feel this additional charge is unjustified.

The kitchen team have assured me the Beetroot Tart is a very popular dish on the menu currently and they were surprised to read your feedback. The raw red onion is part of the roquette salad as it is described on the menu.

We are a very popular hotel for business and leisure guests alike so we would disagree with your description of a business travelers hotel. We do feel are prices are inline if not cheaper than many of our competitors.

We encourage the employment of local people and do employ a number of young staff who are looking to enter a career in the hospitality industry. Training is an ongoing task at Park Farm so I can only apologise if you felt the team appeared inexperienced.

Park Farm is an independently owned and operated hotel so do not feel we are comparable to a Holiday Inn.

Feedback is very important to us here, so please be assured yours will be used in a constructive manner.

Kind regards

Michael Bannister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    289
    74
    31
    11
See reviews for
150
514
24
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The staff are very welcoming and are happy to help. The rooms are above standard and very well equipped. Only down point was our particular room didn't have air conditioning. But the food was excellent. And overall i enjoyed my time here. Would recommend this venue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 89Mell92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Front Office Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We trust you had a great time during the wedding celebrations and we are pleased to read you had such an enjoyable stay.

Many of our higher grade bedrooms do come with air-conditioning, but as with the nature of Park Farms buildings some areas of the hotel are not able to accommodate air-con units.

It is great to read the heat did not ruin your stay and we will hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Michael Bannister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The whole place is lovely, this was our first visit here and would definitely come back... Staff really polite and helpful, and facilities are top class... Also free upgrade on room which was fantastic... Would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting a lovely night away!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Front Office Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Jake what an excellent review, we are so grateful you decided to leave your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community.

Free upgrades are always a bonus and I am pleased to read you were lucky enough to receive one on this occasion.

We shall look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Michael Bannister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here after going to a wedding, bar was still open at 1am, had a couple of drinks then hit the sack. Room was nice clean, bed very comfortable. Breakfast stops being served at 10am on a Sunday, luckily we just made it. Good choice of friend food as well as continental. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Front Office Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
"Perfect" what a lovely review title, you have given us all something to smile about this morning.

I was thrilled to read you had such a positive experience while with us. Residents of the hotel do indeed enjoy a 24 hour bar and it is encouraging to see this complimented your stay.

We are grateful for your recommendation and shall hope we have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Kind regards

Michael Bannister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Have stayed here many times whilst visiting my sister over the years.This hotel is run very well indeed from the welcome at reception to the housekeeping and restaurant staff. The food is excellent and good value. Presentation and quality is first class and I always seem to compare the food at ParkFarm no matter were I dine and they are always the winners. Location is tranquil with easy reach of Norwich and other Norfolk attractions.

Room Tip: No lift in this hotel but plenty of lovely ground floor rooms with patio area for those who cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Front Office Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Joanne I was pleased to read after so many visits you only have positive things to say about us.

The staff were so pleased to read your high praise, and it is flattering to see you have used our food as the benchmark for any other dining experiences you have.

See you again soon.

Kind regards

Michael Bannister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A friend and I have recently had afternoon tea here. I was really pleased with the amount of food we got for our money and we were even able to get our tea refilled when we wanted in that price too.The staff were very friendly. After we had finished we took a walk around and it was all very pretty. A lovely experience. I shall be going again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Front Office Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
The Park Farm afternoon tea has become extremely popular over the last few months, and we were encouraged to receive such positive feedback.

Our rural setting is a plus for many of our guests as an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city can be what we all need from time to time.

We shall look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Michael Bannister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for a birthday treat, and was upgraded for free on arrival which was nice! Staff were super friendly, food, lovely and swimming in the pool and relaxing in the spa areas was a lovely way to spend the evening. Unfortunately the mattress had two dents in it where people had been laying and at 4am when it kept waking me up I went down and complained because I couldn't sleep as it felt like I was laying on a hill trying to spoon my girlfriend. I was offered to come back at no extra cost a few days later no make amends, so a month or two later we went back, only to be put in the same room on the same mattress! I couldn't be bothered to complain again as by this point it was just comical!! Maybe the mattress at the time was suppost to be that shape I'm guessing!?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Farm Count... h, Front Office Manager at Park Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Adam,

It is great to see you found the staff, food and leisure facilities all such a positive part of your stay.

I was however very disappointed to read of the problems with your mattress and the fact you returned on a complimentary stay and experienced the same issue is quite frankly embarrassing, so for this oversight I would like to offer our sincere apologies.

I must stress that we pride ourselves on a stellar customer experience and I feel that you did not receive this while with us.

Should you be staying in the area again please do not hesitate to contact me and we would love to be given another chance at showing you the real Park Farm Hotel experience.

Kind regards

Michael Bannister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hethersett
4.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
5.8 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Farm Hotel

Property: Park Farm Hotel
Address: Park Farm Studio Norwich Road, Hethersett, Norwich NR9 3DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Hethersett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hethersett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe Park Farm Hotel is one of the finest examples of Norfolk hospitality. If you visit is for business or leisure you can be assured of a warm welcome, a great stay and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Farm Hotel Hethersett, Norfolk
Park Farm Norwich
Park Farm Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing