We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break and great value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great break and great value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Having just spent two nights at Dunston Hall for my partners Birthday celebration, we were made to feel really special.
it always amazes me how people can be disappointed with the Hotel. The room we were given was spacious and clean with lovely soft furnishings. Every member of staff that we encountered was helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Leisure facilities were included and the pool was warm and inviting. The carvery was above standard with all food hot and of good quality, breakfast was exceptionally good. If people feel the need to complain about these kind of facilities on this site do bear in mind that you can't please all of the people all of the time, there must be an awful lot of spoilt people out there.
We will definitely be back. Thank you Dunston Hall.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor with a terrace, perhaps a little cold but heating was adjustable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toninewmanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your partners birthday celebration. I will pass on your feedback to the relevant departments, I am sure they will be thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the facilities. I do hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
Many thanks

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    687
    506
    264
    164
See reviews for
387
1,093
36
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Enjoyed our stay at Dunston Hall. Room was very roomy although a little dated but I expect this was because we had a special group booking rate. Staff very attentive and meal at party very nice. Only complaint was that there were far too many tables cramped in for the party night making it a nightmare to get out to the toilets, and the waiting staff had an awful time trying to get around with the serving of meals. In fact it was a bit dangerous with hot tea/coffee service, and when we got home I found custard had been spilt all over my pashmina which was on the back of my chair. However not the staff's fault, I thought they did very well under the cramped conditions. I did think however that the number of tables were a safety hazard.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor as we could hear people in the room above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. Our Christmas Party nights have been very well attended however I am glad that you enjoyed the event. I am sorry to hear that you had custard spilled on you. Please contact me at the hotel and I will happily pay for the cleaning cost for the garment concerned. I am available at the hotel on 01508470444 or on david.graham@devere-hotels.com. once again many thanks for giving me your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Kindest regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Despite a letter from De Vere legal department attempting to prevent me posting on Trip Advisor please find below my review on my stay at the above. I have posted some images of the condition of the rooms for information and guidance and I will update you if i receive any comments in justification from the hotel. Date of stay was 1st December 2011.

I am afraid my stay in the hotel was blighted by two things.

1. The state of the room - please see attached. This condition also extended to the dining area where the carpets were badly stained
2. A reasonably serious case of food poisoning. As the hotel food was the only food I ate for a reasonable period before the outbreak I can safely assume that the hotel kitchens were the source.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simonp000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Never having been before, set the sat nav to the advertised post code only to end up ain a tiny village with no hotel. Phoned Hotel but just get a central switchboard, no help there. Report to reception after finding it and mention no phone answering, a shrug but appareantly not a surprise. Bar was chaos with everyone running round after a large and noisy group who had clearly already consumed more than enough. The quiet and patient people waited an awfully long time to get served. Restaurant was ok and food ok too. Decor tired and worn out needs a serious makeover. No safe in the room 4 star hotel, not on ! particularly in ground floor room great big window looking out the back.Checking out tried to charge me again when I had paid in full at time of booking, a long debate later and rummaging for booking info was greeted with a less than gracious refund and new bill for extras only. Unless you are going for the golf give it a miss there are much better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chumley08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I was sorry to hear that you had experienced issues whilst you were here. I have passed your feedback on to the relevant heads of department to ensure they take action to avoid these types of issues. I will personally address the issue with regards to reception as I am concerend with this type of attitude. If you would like to discuss your stay further with me I am available at the hotel daily on 01508470444 or you can email me on david.graham@devere-hotels.com
Once again many thanks for your feedback and I hope to speak with you soon.
Sincerely
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We six friends always spend an early 'Christmas' together, and this year Dunston Hall was chosen. We were impressed with our initial view of the building, the friendliness of the receptionists, the presentation of the rooms and facilities. The waiting-on staff were quick and efficient, and the carvery meal more than adequate. All in all a very enjoyable stay. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan-malcolm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Many thanks or taking the time to review the hotel. It was great to hear that you had enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on your feeback to the Brasserie team who will be delighted. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
557 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Just back from a one night stay at Dunston Hall. Booked a deal that included a deluxe room, bottle of wine and breakfast. Arrived at the hotel at about 4.30pm after spending a lovely day in Norwich. The hotel was very impressive as we approached along the drive. We were welcomed warmly and efficiently and were soon in our deluxe room. The room was large, modern and well equipped. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Our complimentary wine was delivered promptly to our room. We didn't eat in the restaurant because we had eaten a large lunch in Norwich. Instead we enjoyed a nice swim in the virtually empty pool, followed by a soak in the jacuzzi, which could have been a bit warmer.
The hotel seemed to be very busy with Christmas parties however we enjoyed a great nights sleep without any disturbances from other guests.
Breakfast was delicious and the staff friendly and efficient.
Overall a great stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We have had a very busy time with Christmas Parties and I am glad to hear that they did not spoil your enjoyment of the hotel.
Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We as a family over the years have been regular visitors to Dunston Hall for sunday lunch. this particular weekend we had not been for a while so we were really looking forward to going.It had in the past always been hit and miss but this time a big miss!!

We were seated in the conservatory, waitress took our drink orders and meal requirements, we as a group of 9 were all having the carvery except my son who was having sausages and mashed potaotes of the kids menu.
Half of our drinks arrived, asked the wairer who apologised and brought the remaining drinks after we had eaten our starters followd by a waitress with our complete order agaim, drinks were all incorrect.
After our starters we waited about 20 mins for my sons pre ordered meal to arrive but as still not on the table the adults decided to get their carvery lunch which was very good, I asked the waitress for his kids meal she said it was on its way (was ordered 40 mins ago) when I was half way through my lunch giving most to my son I requested it again, her reply was that the kitchen is very busy!!!! cheek of it, I told her to get sausages and mash off the carvery for him.
We had all finished and sat with our dirty plates piled up for about 20 mins we decided to get dessert. The counter as self serve was a mess, cakes broken up, 4 empty bowls which should have been profita rolls and fruit salad, all the cream jugs were empty. we finished our puds and our plates were still piled high in front of us from our main meal!!!!

The bill arrived....what a shock, as regular diners we had a rough idea what we pay....£50 too much. Drinks had been put on twice, extra dinners added.
Really need to pick their socks and pay attention to detail, was a bit of a shambles to say the least.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dummydots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Brasserie at the hotel. I was disapointed to read about your experience. Firstly please allow me to apologise for this, I can assure you that the feedback on this occasion is not indicative of the feedback normally recieved about the Brasserie. I would like an opportunity to discuss the experience in more detail. I am available at the hotel daily on 01508470444 or you can email me at david.graham@devere-hotels.com.
Once again many thanks for your review and i look forward to speaking with you in the near future.
Best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing