We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again!”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Back Again!”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Is this what you want when you stay in an English Country House Hotel? This is what impresses us:
* you know reception will offer you the most favourable terms available
* you will receive a warm welcome from every member of the hotel's staff
* the bedrooms are deluxe, clean and have impressive views (the rooms in the new block are even larger, some with their own terrace, are worth paying extra for).
* the excellent food whether the Fine Dining, carvery or the selective menu - which is well worth trying. Also the extensive breakfast selection, again the opportunity to select smoked haddock, or kippers adds a different dimension
* the leisure facilities, including a warm swimming pool, sauna and steam room, gym, weights room and jacuzzi
* not forgetting a 18 hole golf course, definitely challenging and worthy of hosting the Ryder Cup, where you will also be given a warm welcome...
and these are some of the reasons we return to Dunston Hall, Norwich...again and again and again.
(Last stay: 20,21,22 December 2011)
Bob and Janet Ainsley

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    738
    542
    294
    197
See reviews for
428
1,180
38
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at Dunston for 3 nights B&B between 27/12 - 30/12 and it was well worth the price. Had a small issue with booking a table for dinner on the first evening but the staff managed to resolve quickly and found us a much better/quieter table in the corner. Excellent recreation facilities on site (pool, steam room, gym) never that busy early in the morning which suited us and gave a good edge to the buffet breakfast every morning.
We shall return again and again .....

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the golf course are very nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Philip,
Many thanks for your review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had enjyed your time here. I hope we do see you again and again and again in 2012.
Kindest regards and Happy New year!!
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed at Dunston Hall for 3 day Xmas break.
Extremely enjoyable and good value,particularly when we considered that the price included a gift box of 'smellies ' each and a trip to the pantomime in Norwich.
The staff were friendly and efficient and food was of a generally good quality.
I would certainly consider a return this year ,probably as a golfing break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerH969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Roger,
Many thanks for your feedback on the hotel. Christmas at the hotel is always a fun time to be here. I know I enjoy it every year, in particular the Pantomime which is always great fun in Norwich. I do hope to see you again next year for their showing of Aladin!! I cant wait.
Kindest regards and Happy New Year.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We only live 45 mins away from this lovely venue but had never stayed there or visited before. We will not make that mistake again:) The surroundings are wonderful, the hotel divine and the staff delightful. Our room was lovely and the meal and entertainment excellent. Will recommend to all I know and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Jean, many thaks for your feedback about the event you attened at the hotel. I was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed it. I know the Christmas Parties this year at Dunston have been very busy and many of the guests have had a great time. The Band and the DJ's have worked very hard to keep the dance floors full. I do hope you will come back to the hotel in the near future.
Kindest regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great room, friendly helpful staff, lovely breakfast selection, what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgesmumNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you Georgesmumnorfolk for your feedback on the hotel. I was delighted to ready that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Impressive, imposing, massive Victorian property standing in substantial grounds and accessed via its wide tree-lined drive. Very conveniently located just outside Norwich on the road to Ipswich (SatNav delivers you to the front door). Many attractions/amenities - that we were unfortunately unable to try because of our advancing years age. Very comfortable room/suite. The gratuitous bottle of bubbly found in our room on arrival was an unexpected treat. Very good breakfast buffet completed our booking terms - we were visiting friends so we did not partake of the various evening dining options. First time at this particular De Vere hotel - it will not be our last!

Room Tip: Elect for a room in the main body of the hotel - less far to walk to reception, dining facilities, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Many thanks for your feedback about the hotel. I was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you managed to pick up some bargins in the Norwich Sales I know I did. I hope that when you are next in the Norwich area you are able to come and visit us and take advantage of some of the facilities you were not able to use on this trip.
Kindest regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Having paid £25 each for our Christmas Party on 15 December 2011 we went anticipating a great meal - at least a carvery as Dunston Hall trades on their carvery reputation - we actually were surprised to see the romm, which was far too crowded, set up for a buffett. Oh Well we thought it will probably be something really nice and having not had anything to eat since lunchtime we were looking forward to it. When it was served we saw some very sparsely spaced trays with bland things on them. When getting food we found there was no labelling so vegetarians had to wait and ask others what was actually there. There were GREEN fajitos with a terrible cream cheese filling or plain tuna filling all on the same tray. There was one tray with beef slices on french bread - no pickles, mustards, horseradish etc. Yorkshire puddings with a bit of stuffing in them???? No gravy. Large chipolatas sausages which had a stick stuck in them lengthwise and cranberry sauce wiped over them! French bread pieces with sliced stuffing laid on them!!!!! Everything was on french bread - no salads, not even pasta salad which would have been more stodge anyway. When a tray of filo parcels came out I managed to get two which were lovely and thee were some samosas which I didn't manage to get, but both were oh so similar to a famous stores party snacks. At least they were warm and this was the ONLY warm food we had! The trays were never re-filled once gone so if you did not show your greedy side you did not even get a chance to try any of the grotty selection. Not enought food for approximately 50+ guests. There was no drink to greet us with, not even one bottle of wine on the table and the bar had only one choice of red wine and charged £5.80 for a large glass! Bar staff surly. The only good thing about the evening were the DJs who played some decent music which consequently made the minute dance are too small! I was warned about the food as my boss refused to go because she had experienced it several times when having to go to functions with her husband. She said it would be grim and she was correct!

Room Tip: Make sure you know what food is going to be provided for your party - you need to check the food wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent visit to the hotel for your Christmas Party. I was disapointed to hear that you had not enjoyed the evening. I know our conference and events team have spoken with the organisor for the event and she was happy with what had been provided. I am happy to discuss this in more detail with you should you wish to do so then I am available at the hotel daily on 01508470444 or you can email me on david.graham@devere-hotels.com
Once again many thanks for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,163 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
896 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
894 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing