We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay - excellent staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunston Hall
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay - excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This was a leisure trip. I do have high expectations of De Vere and Dunston Hall did not disappoint. Very pleasant comfortable room with good facilities. I had a meal in the Bar and the Club Sandwich was delicious. All the staff that I talked too were friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in your experience of the hotel. The leisure facilties - pool area - are excellent, changing rooms were clean. The loaction is lovely with the golf course sourrounding the hotel and also very quiet. I would definately stay here again and have already recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky37Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Ni Nicky,
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel. It was great to hear that you had a good time at the hotel. I was pleased to read your comments about the staff. It is such good motivation for the team when they hear good feedback. I hope to see you at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    677
    501
    260
    162
See reviews for
377
1,074
36
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My short stay at Dunston Hall for Burns Night, was a great experience. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The food, facilities & rooms were excellant. Well worth the visit & somewhere i intend to re-visit for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Hi Paula,
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel, It was good to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Burns night is a very popular night for the hotel and each year our guests are treated to a night of great food and great entertainment. Perhaps we may see you next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

As it was a business trip, i was not expecting to find the hotel have such good facilities. The health club was very good with a decent sized pool, and the gym looked to be very well equiped. The food was very good and the staff were all friendly and very helpfull.

After breakfast i was thankful for keeping my golf clubs in the car, as the course was in very good condition for the time of year. On the whole an enjoyable and relaxing break. Would definately like to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Hi Mark,
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps next time you will get a chance to play golf and once again enjoy the Norfolk area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Enjoyed my short stay very much. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good. The gym, swimming pool and health club facilities were great. Unfortunately I didn't have time on this visit for a round of golf - would definately stay again. The room was very good - although a bit tired. Beautiful location and hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Hi Paul,
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I was pleased to hear you had enjoyed the facilities. Next time you come you must remember to bring your golf clubs so you can test your skills on the course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is our fifth Christmas away as a family at a country house hotel and I think Dunston Hall has to be one of my favourites. The rooms were very comfortable and plush, although quite a trek from the main hotel! The food was very good and plenty of it so maybe it was just as well that we had some exercise. I think between the 11 of us we made use of most of the facilities, spa, pool, gym, beauty salon, bar, but sadly not the golf on this occasion. Although the grounds were great for dog walking. A very enjoyable stay, with friendly, attentive staff, The only comment we would make was no bottles of drinking water were provided in the rooms. By the time we had walked to the room, it was a long way back to the bar to ask for some! Although the package was great value for money so we couldn't really complain about that.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor, not too far from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen_W13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Many thanks for your feedback about the Christmas break - I am thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities. I know that the staff enjoy the Christmas period too and the package is good. I hope you made it to the Pantomime? It was good fun this year. Many thanks once again and I hope to see you this Christmas?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great yarmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here in December for the missus birthday.
Such a beautiful hotel. We booked one of the Deluxe Double Rooms in the new extension.
Lovely room, massive bed, really comfortable.
The swimming pool, although the water was a bit on the cool side, the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were really good. Didn't make use of the gym facilities, but it appeared quiet and the equipment looked really up to date and would definitely take some gear to make use of it next time.
Breakfast in the morning, massive buffet style, all you can eat. Could not fault it.
Overall, a lovely stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeanneRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel. It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We get lots of positive feedback about the beds in the deluxe wing - they are very comfortable. I will pass on the feedback about the pool temperature to the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This was our fourth stay at Dunston and we have never been disappointed. The bed was sooo comfortable I wanted to take it home with us. We went on the 7th Jan and it was extremelly relaxing after the hectic Christmas period. The break was a treat for my husband's 40th Birthday and it really felt like a treat. Came back very relaxed and ready for the New Year.

Room Tip: We had a standard king and the bed was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Hi Melanie,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to hear that we had made your husbands 40th Birthday so memorable. I do hope to see you in the future for another family celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing