We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smiley Happy People”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Cambridgeshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smiley Happy People”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This gorgeous hotel was stunning with a fabulous spa and restaurant (food delicious and reasonable). Rooms were clean and cosy with everything you needed. The main pull to go back to this hotel was the staff. The cleaners greeted us as we walked along the corridors to our rooms, reception staff very welcoming, waiters and waitresses in the restaurant seemed happy in their work and pleased to help as were the staff in the Spa area. The management here obviously look after their staff and make a lovely atmosphere for everyone - Wicked!!!

Room Tip: I think any room that you choose at Dunston Hall would be clean, comfortable and cosy. What more can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverleyDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Beverley,
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I was delighted to see that you had, had a fabulous time. I get a lot of positive feedback about the staff and they are always thrilled to receive positive feedback about what they have done. I do hope you will come back and visit us again in the near future,
Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    738
    541
    294
    197
See reviews for
428
1,179
38
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Third stay at this great hotel. Spacious rooms, nice bars, friendly staff and hearty breakfast. Excellent setting - easy to get to but well away from the Norwich - Ipswich road. Plenty to do nearby - would recommend the excellent Wildebeest Arms c 2 miles away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Phil,
Many thanks for your review of the hotel. I was pleased to see that your had had a relaxing time while your were here. I know from personal experience that the Wildebeast Arms is a fantastic place to visit. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed here one night for a business trip. Found all the staff to be very helpful and polite. My bedroom (number 541) was spacious and modern, and quiet as it was at the end of a small corridor. Had a swim in the pool which was very nice.

Had breakfast and lunch at the hotel, both of which were delicious.

Just wish I'd had more time to stay there and make use of the facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmazCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Maz,
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. It was good to see that you had enjoyed the facilities. I do hope that next time you are in the area you will considder staying with us and perhaps make more use of the rest of the facilities.
Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

my boyfriend and i had two wonderful days at dunston hall. It was relaxing and great to spend quality time together. we will definately be doing it again.

Room Tip: all the rooms that ive stayed in over the years have all been comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Samantha,
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. i was pleased to see that you had enjoyed your time. i do hope to see you soon.
Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was fantastic. We were provided with a free upgrade on our second night to a four postr suite over looking the golf course. This was a very welcome trteat for our wedding anniversary. The rooms were very clean and more than acceptable for the price we paid. The breakfast which was included in the price was very tasty with a good selection to suit all tastes.
We dined in on our second night and whilst the food was acceptable we felt that is was a little too over priced. The pool area is clean and tidy and adiquate for our needs. Over all we had a great stay with very little or nothing to complain about and we would have no hesitation in visiting again or reccomending the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Look for offers before booking as there are some real bargains to be had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Rob,
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel. i was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your aniverary stay with us. I know the 4 poster rooms are very nice especially for a special occasion. I do hope you will come and visit us again in the near future
Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel. We had a de-luxe room on the top floor. It was nice and clean with modern furniture and the bed was really comfortable. We had the carvery which was average but adequate. The breakfast was really good with lots of options, the fresh fruit was particularly nice.
The pool was really good with part of it marked out for lane swimming. Tried the steam and sauna rooms, also the jacuzzi, all really enjoyable.
The staff were all friendly and helpful.
A nice couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Valerie,
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that you will come back and see us again sometime soon.
Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have stayed here on business a couple of times now and I like the hotel, the staff are friendly, the rooms are generously sized and the pool is really lovely. I've had room service which was fine and I enjoyed breakfast very much. The bedroom furniture is a little tired but the beds are comfy, thew only real criticism is the layout of the hotel....you have to go down stairs walk across and then back up to get to the majority of rooms which would be a pain if you had loads of luggage or mobility problmes but overall I like Dunston Hall and will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Mrs London,
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel. I was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay. We do have a strange layout but i think this is probably because the hotel has expanded over the years and each bit meant a change in floor level. I do hope you will come back to the hotel in the near future
Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,163 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
896 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
892 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing