We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charity diner dance”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunston Hall
london
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“charity diner dance”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

HI good gerneally. But could be better! Great location,great golf course and ball room! rooms confy two large beds. lovely bathroom. But shame servery was awkward thru some table areas causing seats to get food on! we felt in the way! Also noice from the integral bar meant we couldnt hear the Auction or speaches! the mobile door could have been semi placed back to block the noise! Servery manager did try and relsove the issues. She was very thorough and efficient! Some area around the outside of the hotel could do with sprucing. BUt pool and spa area great fro chilling out! Loads of parking!

Room Tip: Ask not for a car park view! Ask to be overlooking the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel I was pleased to read that generally you had enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your feedback on to the team about the bar issues in the Sunningdale Suite. I know that the team worked hard on the night to keep disruption to a minimum.
Once again many thanks for your review
Best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    723
    531
    283
    186
See reviews for
411
1,162
38
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Never been here before, was my 18th wedding anniversay surprise,
1 staff made you welcome, friendy helpful, and efficient
2 Good location, beautiful grounds and scenary, over looked there own golf fareway,
3 Nothing wrong with room, quiet , clean comfortable, had a fan and air con if needed,
4 Breakfast was great, WIDE VARIETY TO CHOOSE FROM, and they do a carvery everyday of the week ,book for dinner on arrival, as can be busy ,finish serving dinner about 930, in the evening ,lovely,
5 Pool and changing rooms clean, surplied towel, and spinner for costumes after,
6 Would definatley save up and stay there again,

Room Tip: we just aske for a quieter area, was fine, big hotel to accomodate ones needs, no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveyjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Julia,
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel. I am so pleased that you had a great anniversary break with us. We are aware that people will often choose our hotel for such breaks and we will always try our best to make the occasion as special as we can for them.
I do hope that you will come back to the hotel in the near future perhaps next year for your anniversary.
Best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

My son Paul and daughters law ColleenWalker got married at the weekend and had the reception at dunston hall what a wonderful time we had 66 rooms were booked by all the wedding guest not one person had a complaint only praise for the service we received wonderful food fantastic wedding reception they made there whole wedding weekend exceptional thank you dunston hall would highly recommend people use them would love to go back again

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Tricia,
Many thanks for your review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that everything had gone well for your son's wedding. At Dunston Hall we pride ourselves on the way we look afer our weddings as they are a really important part of what we do. I am sure that the team will be delighted with the feedback as it encourages them to carry on doing what they do so well.
Best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Have stayed once a year for the last 4 years for a corporate golf day and dinner dance. The accomodation, service and facilities have been very good. This last time i needed to leave early before breakfast was served, John on reception was excellent and offered to make up a picnic bag for my journey . This was gratefully received early this morning and I would like to thank him for going that extra mile.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Hi Richard,
Many thanks for your review of the hotel. I know John will be thrilled to have his name mentioned on trip advisor. He and his team on nights work very hard and its great for him to be recognised for something that he does so freqently for our guests.
I do hope to see you back at the hotel next year.
Best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay,it's a beautiful building, in a lovely setting. The room was clean and comfortable with a pre-booked bottle of wine waiting.The staff are very friendly, helpful and polite. The restaurant was relaxing and i cannot fault the food. We used the pool, sauna and jacuzzi, very relaxing.All in all no negatives and would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Debbie,
Many thanks for your reveiw of the hotel. I was delighted to see that you had enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I do hope that the next time you are looking for a short break or for somewhere for a special occasion you will considder Dunston Hall.
Best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Fabulous first impression as driving in, shame the room didn't match up! Our room was one on the ground floor and definitely needed a make over. The bathroom was dirty and I had to ask for it to be re-cleaned, the tiles (both floor and walls) had black mould grouting, the false ceiling tiles were broken, the bath panel was broken. This room looked like it had been done in the late 80's, it was very dated. On the good side it was a good size, even more so because it had a double bed, quite unusual for this day and age where normally queen size is average. The bed was ok, a but springy, pillows were at the end of their life.
We didn't eat other than breakfast which felt fairly institutional, I ordered the special eggs benedict on the first morning and the hollandaise sauce was obviously from a packet and my egg was hard. Second morning decided to just have the buffet, which was ok but not exciting. Oh dear, this sounds very bad, it wasn't, just ok, not somewhere we would ever go again or recommend if you were looking for something special. Probably suits the golf weekenders which it caters for in the main.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGOpsMgr, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Trisha,
Many thanks for your review of the hotel. i was disapointed to read about your experience in the room and i am sorry that you had to ask for it to be re-cleaned. I have asked the housekeeping team to review this floor of the hotel to ensure that the rooms are being cleaned properly. I know the bedblock that you stayed in is due for refurbishment and there are plans in place to do this towards the end of this year or the beginning of next. I do hope that once this has been done you will considder returning to the hotel.
Best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,114 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
885 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
875 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing