We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25 August 2012”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“25 August 2012”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had booked expecting to be in the restaurant only to find that the main one was closed and we had to eat in the carvery area. We ordered our starters which arrived ok but then had to wait 90 minutes for our mains. The waitress did come after an hour and say it was on its way and that she was sorry, but we still had to then wait another 30 minutes. To say the portions were small was an understatement they would have fitted quiet easily onto a tea plate and the desserts were very disappointing. This was supposed to be an al a carte menu.
We will not be rushing back

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
many thanks for taking the time to let us know about these issues.I apologise for the wait with your main course and i`m glad your server apologised at the time.I`ve spoken to the kitchen team about your feedback in order that we can look at increasing the size of our portions also.The Brasserie Restaurant and Carvery is our main restaurant at Dunston Hall and the much smaller La Fontaine restaurant only opens when occupancy and demand is particularly high,therefore its always a good idea to check on availability when booking at Dunston Hall.I do hope the rest of your experience with us was positive and hope you`d consider coming back to see us in the future.Please contact me on paul.murfitt@devere-hotels.com if i can be of any more assistance
regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    738
    542
    294
    197
See reviews for
428
1,180
38
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was a lovely hotel.Good clean room,food very good ,and the staff looked after the wedding most effeicentlyOur needs were looked after all the while.. We would like to visit this hotel again with more time to spare.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarrieandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
thank you for sharing your positive experience as the team like to see how we are performing on Trip advisor-let me know when you`d like to come back and see us and i`ll make sure you get another great stay
.Please contact me on paul.murfitt@devere-hotels.com if i can be of any more assistance
regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Very Disappointing!

We booked this Hotel for one night and was really looking forward to it as it was the most we have ever paid (£129) and we have stopped in some really lovely Hotels. The drive up to Dunston Hall was impressive, the hotel itself was very impressive but the room was in desperate need of upgrading! The toilet hadn't been cleaned properly and neither had the bathroom floor, the white grouting was black and moldy in places and so was the shower head. There were crumbs on the carpet, the bedside lamp was falling to bits and both were very dusty. The lighting was bad as I couldn't see enough to read. My husband tried to iron his shirt but the iron didn't work.The view was terrible, we looked out opposite another hotel room. I should have read the reviews before I booked! We will definitely not be stopping here again and wasting our money!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
many thanks for your feedback.I apologise for the issues with your bedroom,we were not aware of these during your stay as we would have adressed them immediately had we known.I`ve spoken to housekeeping in order that we can address these issues in the future.Please contact me on paul.murfitt@devere-hotels.com if i can be of any more assistance
regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

Show Prices
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed for a wedding and was origianlly supposed to be taking my daughter (5 months) with us, but very glad we didnt... I specifically asked at reception when we checked in for a room with a nice view overlooking the golf course, but was given a room with two of the smallest windows in the world, which then overlooked the CAR PARK! If it wasnt for the fact we had just had to walk about ten minutes with all our bags to get to the room in the first place i would have gone back to reception and complained, but we had a wedding to get back to! I am also sure that we were 'tricked' into paying for a deluxe double, which had TWO double beds in when all we wanted was one double bed... IF we had have taken our baby it would not have been ideal as to get to the room we were allocated, you had to go down a lift to then walk along a long corridor to our part of the building and then up onto the third floor. The lifts i would also say would be a tight squeeze for most buggies. Our room was dark and dingy and didnt even have a fridge... Overall, i do not think i would stay here again unless it was for at least half the price we paid. This hotel has great potential I feel they have crammed far to many rooms here, when they should have fewer rooms and look after/update them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly6958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
many thanks for your feedback,i`m sorry you were disapointed with your stay- It is indeed unfortunate that all the golf view rooms were taken by the time you checked in but as im sure you understand only a small amount of our rooms overlook this area.However these rooms can be pre-booked.
When we have upgrades available such as the deluxe rooms we like to give customers this opportunity however this is optional.Im sorry you felt the room was not up to standard,however we are updating those rooms in the near future..Please contact me on paul.murfitt@devere-hotels.com if i can be of any more assistance
regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

paid a lot of money for 1 night, when we got there 2 weddings were underway. Hotel staff very stretched. Room quite old and shabby in places. Thick dust on head board and around the bed sides. For £160 no safe in room, no bottled water either. The drive to the hotel is very grand but i am afraid that is where the luxury ends.
We had dinner in the brasserie, very limited menu, waited 45 mins for starter, 50 mins for main meal which had to be returned as was cold and not cooked correctly. Room service breakfast cold.Staff very helpful and apologetic but wouldn't stay there again at that price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorini1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
many thanks for your feedback.I apologise for the issues with your room and issues in the restaurant,I`ve spoken to the relevant managers about how we can improve in these areas in the future.Please contact me on paul.murfitt@devere-hotels.com if i can be of any more assistance
regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I booked afternoon tea at this hotel for myself and a friend to celebrate our 41 years of friendship (somehow missed our 40th) As this hotel is meant to be a local high class hotel I thought it would offer a really good afternoon tea. How disappointing and completely average the outcome was. Our tea consisted of mixed sandwiches but as my friend is vegetarian she got the egg and cheese ones and I got the chicken and salmon ones which meant she got some nice brown bread and I got the white. Obviously no choice or a special effort made to ask what we wanted. We got the impression these were all pre-made. The scones were ok but it was a shame that the jam was just a tiny pot of ordinary jam that you can buy in any supermarket. The cakes consisted of a tart which was reasonably tasty and 2 small pieces of cake each which were not nice at all. The tea was in china cups but took ages to get the attention of the staff for more water due to the long conversation they were in with someone but they were friendly and polite. Was it worth the £25.00 we paid? No, not at all. From a revered hotel in an excellent setting I would have expected a bit more individuality and speciality with the choice of food rather than it being very ordinary and average. I could have thrown together something better at home and saved some money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
many thanks for the feedback and i apologise for the disapointing afternoon tea-you dont mention if you specified a vegetarian preference on ordering as this would have definitely been taken into consideration had the kitchen of known.I`ve spoken to the team about the home-made cakes and pastries to ensure these are of the requisite standard in the future.Please contact me on paul.murfitt@devere-hotels.com if i can be of any more assistance
regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire, england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel 4 times as we try to book it for his birthday treat. It is set in beautiful grounds and is not far from Norwich City Centre where the shops are lovely. They have great staff, lovely food and it is just a lovely break! Big tip, the hotel does have treatment rooms and they are run by an external company, as they are very good they get booked up quickly!! Call as far ahead as possible (The Lilac Room - Norwich) and book your treatment. Can't praise this hotel more, we stay in the four poster rooms which are lovely. The only thing to make it perfect would be a more luxurious bath in those rooms, but hey, you can have everything!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the original part of the house are full of character and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeymagic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Many thanks for your feedback. I notice like many of our return customers you prefer our suites in the older part of the building which do have great character-however they get booked up very early on so let me know if i can book one in for you in the future
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,163 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
897 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
893 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing