We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunston Hall
Nearby Hotels
US$92
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$103
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$139
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$70
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Norwich Hotel(Norwich)
US$82
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stracey Hotel(Norwich)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,934)
Filter reviews
2,934 results
Traveller rating
989
816
590
325
214
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
989
816
590
325
214
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseterrace bardeluxe roomspa breakevening meallovely groundsmain barsteam roomleisure facilitiesfour posterplay golfnight breakpark and ridebirthday treatshort breaklovely roombiscuits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,314 - 2,319 of 2,934 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We were attending a Friday wedding at Dunston Hall and had booked a room for the same evening. The wedding was at 1400 and we arrived at 1300. We had hoped we might be able to freshen up in our room before the ceremony but this wasn't going to happen. We arrived at the reception and told the receptionist that we were here for the wedding we asked if we could check in but were told that the room was not ready. The problem was that at this stage, we hadn't given our names and he didn't know what room we had been allocated. It was just an outright refusal to even check if the room was ready. If he had checked and found that it was not ready then we would have accepted this with good grace but he wasn't prepared to check.

When we were given our room, the route to it was torturous..... walk a short distance, down some steps to a lower level, walk some more then into an elevator and up two levels. The room itself was very nice and was certainly spacious enough for our needs. Despite the 1100 latest checkout time, the chambermaid knocked several times on the door from 0900 onwards. We did check out at around 1000.

While waiting for the wedding to start, we waited in a section of the bar that had been sectioned off for wedding guests. Unfortunately the service was slow to non-existant at times with the bar staff favouring the other part of the bar. The next morning, breakfast was really good. No complaints there. Although not really related to our review of the hotel per se, the wedding itself was a great success. The function room was ideal for the occasion, the food was delicious and the staff were efficient and helpful. Sorry about the two star rating but it was those first two minutes that did the damage.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vendee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear vendee33
Many thanks for your feedback. It is often the case that rooms are not ready prior to the conditional 3pm check in time and the reception team are informed of any that are ready early so they always have a good knowledge of those that are ready. I’m glad you liked your room and that the food was delicious and I will pass this on to the team.
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Enjoyed a lovely short break at Dunstan Hall at a very good price. Reception staff extremely welcoming and friendly. Grounds beautiful especially with autumn colours.
Went for a King De Vere room which was large and quiet with good view over golf club and grounds, and very comfortable bed.
A good choice of food at breakfast, although cooked food could have been hotter on the first morning. Dining room staff friendly. Park and Ride very close, with frequent buses to city centre. Restaurant menu didn't appeal so we ate at Brewer's Fayre, just along the ring road at Thorpe but room service menu would be a good alternative.
Would certainly stay again, especially when the special offers are available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear rosyates
Thank you for your feedback. Im glad you enjoyed your stay and our warm welcome,the chef will make sure the breakfast is piping hot in future for when you come back to see us soon.
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Booked through travel zoo for two nights B&B. Great building, in side and out, every thing was great, the pool ,sauna and steam room was clean and safe, good position not far from Norwich and park and ride.Room was nice but noise from pump room next door kept me awake.We had a carvery for our dinner it was nice but expensive at £14.00 each when you can get the the same at our Harvester for £5.50 each.

Room Tip: Rooms in the same side as room No411 no go.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w00dw0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear w00dw0rm
Many thanks for your feedback. I`m glad you had a great stay. We are excellently situated as you have experienced and i`m glad you had the time to enjoy our leisure facilities. We pride ourselves in using only the best local produce so inevitably we charge more than branded pub carverys. I`ll look into what caused the noise next door and get that fixed for next time you come back to see us
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Dunston Hall for 2 nights on a B&B basis. I booked a deal through Travelzoo & it was great.
The room was clean & warm although the bed wasn't very comfortable.
Reception staff are friendly & welcoming.
The pool, sauna & steam are worth a visit.
The grounds are lovely to stroll around and the hotel is still very authentic.
Good choice of food at breakfast.
Park & ride only 1 mile away for Norwich Centre.
I didn't have an evening meal in the restaurant but I did find a lively bar/restaurant 2 miles from the hotel called March Harrier.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HertsLaracroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear Hertslaracroft
Thank you for taking the time to tell us what a nice stay you’ve had.. Our reception team pride themselves on their warm welcome, and our leisure facilities are indeed excellent. I`m glad you took advantage of our National Award winning breakfast, I hope you will try our restaurant on your next stay.
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed at the Dunston for two nights this past week on business and a few elements delivered an average rather than a very good rating. firstly the car park and access surfaces were uneven and lots of puddles ensued not expected at a 4 star hotel.
my main issue was with the bathroom in my room, broken fascia behind the toilet, horrendous grout, badly stained, and bath and basin sealent was both broken and missing..... in a 4 star???
thankfully it was clean, in fact the housekeeping throughout the hotel appeared exemplary.
the staff were curteous and helpful from reception to the bar and restaurant.
A colleague experienced issues with her door swipe, having to change it 5 times, before maintainance actually changed the whole door lock, which sorted the issue for the second night.
overall the Dunston could learn a lesson from other hotels in the area such as the Stowergrange or the Old Rectory in terms of room maintainance and then justify its 4 star rating.

Room Tip: the upper floors have less footfall and are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Revbev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear revbev69
Many thanks for your feedback. I`m glad to report we will be fixing the car park in the new year and we are embarking on an extensive refurbishment program of some of our bedrooms.We have recently replaced all our door locks with the latest in door lock technology so gaining entrance to your room is now completely seamless.
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews