We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the city of Norwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for the city of Norwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

After a good vacation at a certain hotel it is often disappointing to go back again but no such problems with Dunston Hall in Norwich. We stayed for 3 nights from 27th Dec and the hotel has lived up to its normal high standards - excellent restaurant, friendly staff, great full english breakfast just a shame about the wet weather!
But its our first choice hotel when visiting Norwich and after this stay we have no reason to change.

Room Tip: Bring your golf clubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear phillip w
Thank you for your feedback, firstly apologies for the weather! I’m glad you enjoyed our great food, service and hotel-we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    688
    508
    264
    165
See reviews for
388
1,096
36
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times and our latest stay was for 1 night over Christmas. Previous stays have been great, so Dunston Hall has provided us with high expectations.
On arrival we were swiftly checked in by a very polite member of staff and our room was spotless as usual. Although our room only had 1 pack of biscuits for the three of us, which was disappointing as on previous stays we've enjoyed a packet of biscuits each.
We enjoyed our stay and breakfast was lovely and the staff in the restaurant were very polite.
After breakfast we sat in the bar area to read papers and when we went back to our room to get our bags before 11, to check out. The maid had cleaned our room, even though our bags were still inside. It was as though the hotel wanted to get rid of us and get the next guests in as quickly as possible.
Although when it came to checking out the member of staff who served us seemed very impolite and distracted by the chelsea footballers, which were gathering in the reception. Yes I do realise they are famous, but we are paying customers too.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GoodaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear goodatours
Many thanks for your feedback .I`m glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of the bedroom you stayed in. We are always happy to bring more biscuits to the room on request as we know how good they are, try our home-made biscuits in the bar next time you come to stay. You are quite correct in that we do have many premiership teams stay with us as the premier hotel in Norfolk, though we always try to treat all our customers like superstars.
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed here for one night. Slight confusion re our room but swiftly resolved. Very friendly and helpfully staff. We stayed in the deluxe room, (although also went round the four poster room) both lovely. A few tired bits in the communal areas but to be expected in a hotel of this size which has a high footfall. Dinner and breakfast was lovely. Swimming pool busy but nice. We took our baby in for a swim as the water was lovely and warm. Wish we could have stayed for two nights. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Either the Four Poster room Number 205 - great view of the golf course. Lovely bathroom. 341 - Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kebab3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear kebab3112
Thank you for your feedback and for recognising our brilliant team and how friendly they are. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield
Level Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

This hotel is 'nearly there'. The main amenities are all there and the hotel looks and feels impressive as you arrive. We felt that everything needed a little freshening up, including bathroom grouting etc. In reception, the carpets need a thorough clean and there would have been some merit in having automatic doors as you carry in your luggage. It all felt very dark in reception but some clever lighting would have helped to make it more welcoming. We had to queue to check in (to be fair, not their fault), but the member of staff on welcome refreshments just stood there, when she could have come along the line to apologise in advance and to offer goodies while we were waiting. This was in sharp contrast to the Marriott Hotel(Sprowston Manor), which we visited on the same trip to play golf with friends. Though also a traditional hotel, reception felt light and airy and the staff were warm, friendly and smart (hair tied back etc). Not a lot needs to happen at Dunston Hall to make things feel so much better. We had a great time and were very comfortable in our spacious and well appointed room. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked and the beauty salon was first class.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyBeaconsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear tiffanybeaconsfield
Many thanks for your feedback. We have made some changes in reception with some candles and lighting so i`ts a lot more welcoming now-were also revamping some of our bedrooms currently .I`m glad you’ve noticed our new improved breakfast as it`s getting a lot of good feedback at the moment
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Not a smooth booking experience (they kept getting our surname wrong and trust me its a very common name) and payment was not without complications. Generally enjoyed a nice Christmas break with the family, not cheap but reasonable value for the time of year. Our room size a standard room was good and comfortable however the bathroom was very dated and worn. The toilet was like pumping from a well to get a flush as was our neighbours, we used to discover that during the night when they used the loo. Our daughters room the other side was the same a good sleeping area but poor bathroom. The mastic around the taps even had a good selection of hairs sticking from it and the taps were very weary looking. The door handle area in the bathroom was best described as very grubby! However the over all break was of a reasonable standard and the food was quite good (we paid extra for the elegant and intimate package.) Our daughters friend was due to join us for Christmas eve dinner for which we paid extra however she developed the D & V bug the day before so we decided it best for her to stay at home as you need 48 hours post illness. we notified the hotel only to find the seating arrangements were still as if we had not cancelled and also when we checked out they had still charged us despite us challenging the receptionist and her scurrying away to ask the unseen person behind the door. At best I find this distasteful as we could have risked taking our companion and risked the other hotel guests, however we acted responsibly to our financial cost. (It is also worth mentioning the value of the other guests, apart from the normal Christmas guests the Chelsea team were there staying prior to their match against Norwich City. I wonder how the reputation of the hotel would have been had the team been unwell!!) next year we will probably take our in excess of £1,200 booking else where, very short sighted by the hotel I think....what a shame!

Room Tip: our rooms were 510 and 512 so steer clear of these unless the bathrooms are upgraded to reflect the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Norfolkdumplings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear norfolkdumplings123
Many thanks for your feedback. We are currently embarking on revamping some of our bathrooms so they are as good as our deluxe bedrooms. I`m glad you enjoyed the food and I`m glad we sorted out the table arrangements on the evening
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel has kindly refunded my payment which they originally declined but I have an illness which could affect other guests so they have now agreed to this. We were going there for my birthday which will now be spent at home. Thanks to sales staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrywright_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear barrywright
Many thanks for your feedback. I`m glad we sorted out the cancellation issues and hope you come to see us in the future
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Very impressive building and excellent facilities with spa, pool and golf. Best of all though was the staff--reception, leisure centre, restaurant--everyone was exceptionally helpful, charming and smiling!
Will definitely pay a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Trevor s
Thank you for you recent feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time, and thank you for acknowledging the warmth and friendliness of our team of which we’re very proud
Kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing