We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Place For Special Weekend”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed at Dunston Hall last weekend for a 50th birthday celebration. We chose Dunston Hall because of our previous excellent experience at one of the De Vere Groups other hotels at Belton Woods ( highly recommended also). Dunston Hall is a stunning building in beautiful surroundings. The interior is charming, our room (go for a deluxe) was spacious, well equipped and spotless. We enjoyed relaxing in the spa and pool area. The restaurant offers a couple of menus and a well stocked buffet and carvery area. The food was lovely and the staff friendly and attentive. The breakfast selection was varied, plentiful and delicious! It's been mentioned that Dunston Hall is ideally placed for Norwich but in fact it's an ideal place to visit the whole of the north Norfolk area including the coast and the Broads. And if you're in the area visit the lovely Bure Valley steam railway. All in all a lovely weekend in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear simonl
thank you for your feedback.I`m glad you had a great stay and appreciated all we have to offer in terms of location and facilities
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,915 - 1,921 of 2,729 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

We booked a night at Dunston Hall as a much needed break.First impressions of the hotel were lovely and the interior didn't disappoint. Out room had 2 double beds and a good view of the golf course. The staff were very helpful in all areas. We would definitely go again.

Room Tip: If you are disabled,although there is a lift it is a long walk to get to it. It would be best to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear lindat
Many thanks for your feedback-I`m glad you had a good shopping trip-Norwich was recently voted in the top 5 shopping destinations in the UK and is easily the most welcoming and friendly.Next time try one of our spa packages or deluxe rooms for a real sense of occasion
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We finally booked a much needed night away and now cannot wait to go again. The hotel is easy to find on the main road and very impressive as you drive down the huge drive way. The hotel is luxurious, clean & friendly. We had lunched & shopped in the many shops in Norwich before hand and then after booking in spent the afternoon in the spa at Dunston Hall, sauna, jacuzzi etc. really relaxing. We had drinks in the evening in the bar over looking the magnificent grounds, we only wished it had be a warmer evening so to sit outside. The evening meal was delicious and all included in the price we paid for the room. The restaurant was large and not over crowded. The had a comfortable & quite night's sleep. The breakfast was again delicious with a huge choice of buffet as well as the option to order freshly cooked items such as eggs Benedict. The staff were friendly & efficient. We are going back again soon for our anniversary. Highly recommended. Look out for the deals that they offer on the website**

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear 95sarah
many thanks for your feedback,I`m really pleased you enjoyed your stay,our cuisine,breakfast and team.Next time try our new Chambre Unique rooms for an extra special occasion.
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is our 2nd visit to Dunston Hall, what a magnificent place to visit. We had a lovely deluxe room with patio. The staff were excellent and the Manager Ian Russell took time to ensure our stay was satisfactory.
Will be visiting again as situated in a lovely location with great facilities.

Room Tip: 302 ground floor with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear casBerkshire
Many thanks for your feedback.I`m pleased you had a great stay and it`s great you`ve noticed how good our team is,Ian in particular.Do come and see us again soon.
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just returned from a great weekend with great friends at Dunston Hall. The accommodation was first class with all you could possibly need. The food was hot and very tasty, but what sealed the 5 stars for us was the friendliness of ALL the staff and not just a few individuals which is our normal experience. Everyone seemed genuinely happy in their work and did everything possible to accommodate all of our needs. Norwich is only 4 miles away and we found it to be a lovely City with a beautiful Cathedral and plenty of shops to browse in. The Golf Course was of a good standard and the Driving Range was good value for money. All in all a great place to stay and we will definitely return next time we visit Norwich.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChippenhamWoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear chippenhamwood
Many thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay-We are indeed superbly situated for the city centre and yet in a rural setting.I`m glad you enjoyed our superb food and service and we hope to see you again soon
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The grounds and the drive up to Dunston Hall are so impressive. Impeccably kept. However, this belies the condition of the rooms. Reception is smart enough, staff very helpful, but the room I stayed i was a disappointment. Rather dated, though very clean. However the bathroom is showing a lot of wear and tear which is very offputting. Again, very clean, but not what I'd expect from a De Vere hotel.

I appreciate it's a very big hotel and must be hugely expensive to maintain, but that's no excuse. There was also a wedding going on and music from the marquee could be heard up to midnight, though it did stop promptly. Hugely disappointing for me as I'd come away for a bit of peace and quiet.

Breakfast was appalling. Poor quality food (stale pastries, microwaved bacon, strange tasting scrambled eggs, to list but a few). Requested hard boiled eggs which should've taken 5 minutes, came 15 mins later rock hard. Staff very young and very sweet but not attentive enough, though there are several of them flitting about.

Mentioned this on check out and staff very receptive and gave us money off our bill, but such a disappointment.

Room Tip: Check if there's a wedding on, and ask for a room far from the marquee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chunkylongtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Chunkylongtail
thank you for your feedback-I`d recomend you chose one of our more modern deluxe rooms on your next visit,or our traditional four poster rooms.I`ve passed your comments re breakfast to the chef and his team in order that we can improve this in future.I`m glad you experience friendly,warm service whilst you were with us and i will pass this onto the team also.
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The minute you enter the main gates the hotel and surroundings are just stunning . The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The rooms are large and most look on to the stunning woodland or golf course. The hotel is very large with a lovely terrace bar overlooking the golf course which is lovely to just people watch . The food is very nice and service was brilliant . Drinks can be a little expensive but most hotel are the same so not too much to say on that. The spa is clean and covers a fairly large area with steam room , sauna, swimming pool etc . You can have beauty treatments but need to book in advance and are on the expensive side. Only slight issue we had was the rooms were very hot and had no way of turning the heating off or down so was a rather sticky night . In all this is a very beautiful and relaxing place and would be going back again

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful view from my knowledge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Heidib
thank you for your feedback on your stay,I`m glad you had a really good time and enjoyed our friendly team and their genuine hospitality-do come again soon
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,199 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
905 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
223 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range: £89 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing