We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough to justify four stars”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not good enough to justify four stars”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lovely building hard-working staff but nothing special as a hotel for a weekend break. The room was okay but jaded. The restaurant and bars were okay but jaded. Breakfast was a hot(ish) and cold buffet. Dinner also had a similar (optional) arrangement but labelled as a carvery. With a little more effort they may well raise the standard of their buffet/carvery to that of a good Toby Inn. One of our party mentioned that their food was cool and received a small discount. Personally I think they are more interested in looking after the golfers and spa customers than the hotel guests. I doubt very much if I will consider returning or recommending this place to anyone for a weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zarneywoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    738
    539
    293
    196
See reviews for
427
1,177
38
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Visited this lovely hotel to attend an auction being held there. My partner and I along with my mum and our dog were given a very warm welcome. Everyone there was dog friendly and made a real fuss of our little fella! The rooms were very nice and not second rate as we've experienced in other hotels that accept dogs, there were also plenty of rubbish bins around in which to put 'doggie litter bags', something that is seriously lacking in other hotels that we've stayed in that claim to be dog friendly.

We dined in the Brasserie and chose the buffet option which at £19.95 for 3 courses was very good value. There was a selection of cold starters (I didn't try these but my partner said they were nice) then a choice of hot meats and a couple of vegetarian options available along with good variety of vegetables for main course which was very nice. The dessert choice was excellent although marred for me as all but a couple of them were garnished with strawberries which I'm allergic to! Having said that, the bannoffee pie I had was delicious. The buffet breakfast was nice enough, never as good as having breakfast freshly cooked and served to you but I guess trying to cook as many breakfasts as would be required in a hotel of this size individually would be impossible without a huge kitchen team, which I guess would then push the cost up ridiculously!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAISY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel this weekend 25th-27th. A lovely building, room 533 was a good size, bed comfortable, clean towels room clean, but the mould on the tiles behind the taps was black.
The cleaning staff need to be shown how to clean the tiles!! The staff are very pleasant and helpful. There was quite a trek from reception to this room, so you need to be quite fit and strong to get your luggage from car park along corridors, down steps, along corridors, then into a lift and then along the final corridor to this room.
The service in the restaurant was very good, drink prices not reasonable, if you want a drink take your own and drink it in your room. A friend of ours bought two double single malt whiskeys and the bill was £20.60.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillatbeesmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed this weekend. Great building. Checked in fine. Room was a good size and bed comfy. However there was black mould on the windows, the wallpaper was hanging off in places, the bathroom was mould ridden, the toilet wobbly and lime scale all over the taps and shower. Not what you expect from a
De vere 4 star hotel. The food was good from the buffet but you feel that the hotel lacks a silver service restaurant given it's image. The staff were very slow in the bar. I stood at the bar for twenty minutes before being asked if I was "ok". I was the only person at the bar and there were 4 people behind it. Ridiculous!! They were too busy playing on mobile phones and chatting amongst themselves. I had a massage in the spa and the staff were lovely and very good. The worse thing about the whole stay was the reception trying to say I had £85 on my rooms bill for drinks when it should have been £24!!! I queried and they got frustrated but when they eventually found the signed receipts and saw it was £24 and not £85 they didn't even apologise! Very poor customer service. Shame really, the building and grounds paint an image of a fantastic retreat, but the shabby interior and undertrained staff let it down.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macker1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

Show Prices
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We had a night here following our wedding. They upgraded our room free of charge. The room was stunning immaculately clean and just very nice. Leisure facilities ok but looking a bit tired now especially in the changing areas and the pool room had loose tiles. Steps down to ladies changing room were very slippery. We had a treatment at the lilac room. Massage lovely but the atmosphere and location was not as nice as other hotels. Didn't feel that exclusive. Meal was exceptional and service good. Bar was a bit slow seemed disorganised but ok. The lads who did our room service were lovely. Overall we had a lovely lovely break

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

my boyfriend had booked a 2 night stay for my birthday as i have always wanted to stay here (having spent far too many times passing it on the A140!)
i wasn't disappointed and we had an amazing weekend!
i do not know how much he paid but there is very little that i would have changed.
when we checked in the guy was very professional whilst friendly, he seemed genuinely interested in us and our reason for staying. we got a free upgrade for my birthday and also for dinner there were balloons placed on our table which i was pleasantly surprised at.
both nights we ended up having carvery as it looked at smelt so good! both nights we both overate and had a lovely walk outside afterwards which was nice.
drinks weren't cheap but i guess this is to be expected, we were however more than surprised that we paid 5 pound for a jug of tap water on the table?!
the pool facilities were nice although the chlorine level seemed wrong as both our eyes were stinging very quickly after getting into the water.
i had a massage at the spa which was truly lovely and the staff there are very professional.
we had a lovely weekend and will definitely be returning !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is a beautiful old building with a newish extension, but it's not easy to get to the new building and the signs aren't good. Rooms are a bit shabby, shower screen didn't fit, so floor ended up like a swimming pool. Heating didn't work in our room. Toilet stopped flushing but they did fix this right away. The buffet in the inclusive meal is very nice, the staff in the restaurant are very good and helpful, the breakfast is also very good. My husband enjoyed the golf. The pool/spa area is ok but if you want to visit a really good spa, fairly close, go to the aqua sana in centre parcs at elveden!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,162 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
895 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
890 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing