We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply lovely”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“simply lovely”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here for a night for business
There is the nice mix of old and new. The old building is beautiful with oak panelling etc. My room was in the newer bit. Nice size good bed, quiet and nice furnished. Bath with shower over, the water could have been hotter but that is my only real complaint.
The pool is lovely with sauna etc and the gym is very good, not the most modern but good none the less.
Evening meal is not too expensive and is in nice surroundings, well presented and very tasty
Breakfast is a good buffet and well worth an indulgence.

Really overall very very good, just a couple of tweaks and it would be fabulous

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Russell E
Many thanks for your feedback and i`m pleased you had such a good stay,do come and see us again soon
Kind Regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    738
    539
    293
    196
See reviews for
427
1,177
38
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrington St John, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Me and my partner stayed for one night to celebrate our 10yr anniversary, we got a complimentary upgrade. On arrival to our room there was chocs, water and bottle of wine to help us celebrate. The room was lovely and the bed very comfy, service excellent when we needed help with the heating in the room it was sorted almost straight away. Breakfast was great with a wide selection of food. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the staff for making our anniversary special.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephmerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear stwephmerr
Thank you for your feedback and i`m glad you ahd a great saty and anniversary.Do come and see us again next year.
Kind Regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel on 1st sight is very impressive very large a bit too large for me and very bland also we rang the restaurant to book a table for two we were told that they were full but if we got down there straight away and we were out in the next two hours they would be able fit us in on arriving at the restaurant of the 40 or so tables there was only about half a dozen in use we told the waitress at the door we had just booked and she said " She had no right to book us in as they were full " the eventually found us one of the thirty or so empty tables to have our dinner we were there about an hour and none of the other tables were still in use from that i take it that about thirty odd people must have given back word . either that or my face did not fit or my money wasnt good enough for them . maybe they didnt want a busy night that night

Room Tip: Dont expect too much
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lovely building hard-working staff but nothing special as a hotel for a weekend break. The room was okay but jaded. The restaurant and bars were okay but jaded. Breakfast was a hot(ish) and cold buffet. Dinner also had a similar (optional) arrangement but labelled as a carvery. With a little more effort they may well raise the standard of their buffet/carvery to that of a good Toby Inn. One of our party mentioned that their food was cool and received a small discount. Personally I think they are more interested in looking after the golfers and spa customers than the hotel guests. I doubt very much if I will consider returning or recommending this place to anyone for a weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zarneywoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Visited this lovely hotel to attend an auction being held there. My partner and I along with my mum and our dog were given a very warm welcome. Everyone there was dog friendly and made a real fuss of our little fella! The rooms were very nice and not second rate as we've experienced in other hotels that accept dogs, there were also plenty of rubbish bins around in which to put 'doggie litter bags', something that is seriously lacking in other hotels that we've stayed in that claim to be dog friendly.

We dined in the Brasserie and chose the buffet option which at £19.95 for 3 courses was very good value. There was a selection of cold starters (I didn't try these but my partner said they were nice) then a choice of hot meats and a couple of vegetarian options available along with good variety of vegetables for main course which was very nice. The dessert choice was excellent although marred for me as all but a couple of them were garnished with strawberries which I'm allergic to! Having said that, the bannoffee pie I had was delicious. The buffet breakfast was nice enough, never as good as having breakfast freshly cooked and served to you but I guess trying to cook as many breakfasts as would be required in a hotel of this size individually would be impossible without a huge kitchen team, which I guess would then push the cost up ridiculously!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAISY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel this weekend 25th-27th. A lovely building, room 533 was a good size, bed comfortable, clean towels room clean, but the mould on the tiles behind the taps was black.
The cleaning staff need to be shown how to clean the tiles!! The staff are very pleasant and helpful. There was quite a trek from reception to this room, so you need to be quite fit and strong to get your luggage from car park along corridors, down steps, along corridors, then into a lift and then along the final corridor to this room.
The service in the restaurant was very good, drink prices not reasonable, if you want a drink take your own and drink it in your room. A friend of ours bought two double single malt whiskeys and the bill was £20.60.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillatbeesmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed this weekend. Great building. Checked in fine. Room was a good size and bed comfy. However there was black mould on the windows, the wallpaper was hanging off in places, the bathroom was mould ridden, the toilet wobbly and lime scale all over the taps and shower. Not what you expect from a
De vere 4 star hotel. The food was good from the buffet but you feel that the hotel lacks a silver service restaurant given it's image. The staff were very slow in the bar. I stood at the bar for twenty minutes before being asked if I was "ok". I was the only person at the bar and there were 4 people behind it. Ridiculous!! They were too busy playing on mobile phones and chatting amongst themselves. I had a massage in the spa and the staff were lovely and very good. The worse thing about the whole stay was the reception trying to say I had £85 on my rooms bill for drinks when it should have been £24!!! I queried and they got frustrated but when they eventually found the signed receipts and saw it was £24 and not £85 they didn't even apologise! Very poor customer service. Shame really, the building and grounds paint an image of a fantastic retreat, but the shabby interior and undertrained staff let it down.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macker1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,162 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
895 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
890 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing