We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special.........”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Visited the De Vere Dunston Hall recently and as the title of my review suggests it was nothing special. Upon arrival you are met with a very grand entrance and superb looking building. This really set the expectation and my wife and I both thought this place was an excellent choice. Upon entering they have a nice reception with a country feel and the receptionist was very courteous and efficient. We were allocated our room and then started to make our way to the room. As we walked down the corridor that special feel quickly started to erode and the closer we got to our room the lower the quality feel went. Entering the room I have no other words than to say it was an absolute dump. The room was dark, dingy and looked like they had forgotten to upgrade from around 1930's (not that there is anything wrong with this era)! The bathroom was very poor and mould was growing around the sides of the bath/shower and toilet. The bathroom had a flourescent light and extractor fan which rattled loudly. I immediately exited the room and went back to reception and advised them this was not acceptable. I had to then pay more money to be put into an area of the hotel that had better rooms and to be fair it was a vast improvement from our initial allocation but still not perfect. Drinks at the bar are quite expensive and in terms of food choice the main place to eat was bunkers bar where we ate a 2 course meal with wine from the a la carte menu that came in at around £70.00 - a little dear given the overall quality of the meal. Personally, I would not return to this hotel again and in my opinion the rooms need a real overhaul to get them fit for this century.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akp247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear akp247
Thank you for your feedback,I`m please we found you the sort of room you were looking for as we have many different types and some people prefer the classic style of the older rooms,especially the grandiose four poster rooms in the older part of the building,which dates back to the mid-Victorian neo-gothic era,architecturally rather than in terms of decor
.Our brasserie restaurant offers dishes from less than £15 as do our other restaurants which offer great value.
Kind Regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,807 - 1,813 of 2,766 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Food was "average" at best and the place is starting to look very shabby in parts.
Staff were friendly enough
Don't bother paying the extra for a "Deluxe" room upgrade, we got an extra double bed in the room (not needed) and the rest looked identical or actually worse than our friends standard room and they paid £40 a night less!
Better off staying in town somewhere unless you're here for the golf...

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank D6AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear D6aN
Many thanks for your feedback.We offer 3 different restaurants with varying styles of food and offering.I`d recomend our new Brasserie and Bar menu as our new Chef has refined the dishes and overall feedback has been very good.
We also have several types of bedroom and the deluxe room you were in would differ as it is a relativly new refurbishment to the other rooms in the hotel.Being a historic property we do differ in style to the city centre modern block hotels though we are regularly updating pulic areas,such as our fantastic new bar area.
Kind Regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Jekyll and Hyde

Having stayed here before I seem to remember that this hotel is a mix of good and bad, I was not disappointed; there are some really nice parts and also some really bad parts. We stayed in the standard King Size room and must say this was 1 of the better points, Great bed ceiling fan, even a mini fridge and clean. However the bathroom was a disgrace, mould in the grout shampoo bottle left from previous guests dead fly’s in the light.

This hotel looks like it is trying but is let down but that finishing touch. The reception area is dark (maybe to hide that it needs a lick of paint) whilst here we tried out the pool and steam room, the pool was ok as was the Sauna and the steam room, however the Jacuzzi was freezing. After a quick dip and a short stay in the steam room followed by a quick in and out of the Jacuzzi we returned to the changing rooms which again were filthy with tiles missing and discarded towels on the floor.

We eat in the Bunker Bar, which served good plain food at reasonable prices.

This hotel has a golf course pro shop and driving range. The man in the pro shop was very knowledgeable. The golf course itself is not the longest but does have some very tricky holes.

We was woken the next morning by the maids banging around outside the room (I was wondering why they bothered starting this early if they could not clean the bathrooms) we went for breakfast in the main restaurant, the breakfast itself was again quite nice however I could not help to notice that the restaurant needed a coat of paint.

A nice place to stay but could be so much better if it was cleaned and had a lick of paint.

Good Points

Room,
Bed
Golf
Pro Shop
Bunkers Bar
Steam Room

Bad Points

House keeping
Bathroom
Changing rooms
Jacuzzi
Time Bunkers closes (stops food at 16.30)

This place needs a make over and it would be nice to put a corridor from the main hotel to Bunkers and have Bunkers open later and keep serving good plain food at reasonable prices. The Hotel has improved from m last stay but still needs improving

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Edward B
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.We are constantly refurbing and updating areas (such as reception which was painted a year ago) in order to keep improving,I`m pleased you have noticed our improvements since your last visit ,such as our brand new bar area,and i`m sure you and your very handsome teddy bear will notice many more when you next return.
Kind Regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here for a night for business
There is the nice mix of old and new. The old building is beautiful with oak panelling etc. My room was in the newer bit. Nice size good bed, quiet and nice furnished. Bath with shower over, the water could have been hotter but that is my only real complaint.
The pool is lovely with sauna etc and the gym is very good, not the most modern but good none the less.
Evening meal is not too expensive and is in nice surroundings, well presented and very tasty
Breakfast is a good buffet and well worth an indulgence.

Really overall very very good, just a couple of tweaks and it would be fabulous

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Russell E
Many thanks for your feedback and i`m pleased you had such a good stay,do come and see us again soon
Kind Regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Me and my partner stayed for one night to celebrate our 10yr anniversary, we got a complimentary upgrade. On arrival to our room there was chocs, water and bottle of wine to help us celebrate. The room was lovely and the bed very comfy, service excellent when we needed help with the heating in the room it was sorted almost straight away. Breakfast was great with a wide selection of food. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the staff for making our anniversary special.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephmerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear stwephmerr
Thank you for your feedback and i`m glad you ahd a great saty and anniversary.Do come and see us again next year.
Kind Regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel on 1st sight is very impressive very large a bit too large for me and very bland also we rang the restaurant to book a table for two we were told that they were full but if we got down there straight away and we were out in the next two hours they would be able fit us in on arriving at the restaurant of the 40 or so tables there was only about half a dozen in use we told the waitress at the door we had just booked and she said " She had no right to book us in as they were full " the eventually found us one of the thirty or so empty tables to have our dinner we were there about an hour and none of the other tables were still in use from that i take it that about thirty odd people must have given back word . either that or my face did not fit or my money wasnt good enough for them . maybe they didnt want a busy night that night

Room Tip: Dont expect too much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseph k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lovely building hard-working staff but nothing special as a hotel for a weekend break. The room was okay but jaded. The restaurant and bars were okay but jaded. Breakfast was a hot(ish) and cold buffet. Dinner also had a similar (optional) arrangement but labelled as a carvery. With a little more effort they may well raise the standard of their buffet/carvery to that of a good Toby Inn. One of our party mentioned that their food was cool and received a small discount. Personally I think they are more interested in looking after the golfers and spa customers than the hotel guests. I doubt very much if I will consider returning or recommending this place to anyone for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zarneywoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,219 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
914 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
224 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range: £88 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing