We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location with excellent service”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have just had a wonderful break here to celebrate a special occasion which was made even more memorable by the excellent service we received. Staff went out of their way to enhance our stay with lovely personal touches. We had purchased a spa break and made good use of the ample facilities - the pool, steam room and sauna were great.. The spa treatment was delivered by lovely staff who helped us relax further. The food was excellent and there was plenty of choice, the restaurant staff showed good attention to detail. The room was pleasantly decorated, warm and furnished to a high standard. Although the hotel was busy there were plenty of places to sit and relax with a wide variety of food & drink. The bar is particularly stunning with one of the largest selection of spirits I have seen for a along time. We will definitely be returning as this was affordable luxury.

Room Tip: The hotel is so large there is a room suitable for everyone. We were some distance from the centre o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jollypop14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,902 - 1,908 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

The hotel was easy to find, and the staff were all very good, very informative and helpful. The Carvery was excellent and we found the winter menu which consisted of three courses was good value for money, the swimming pool was a good size and very clean. Overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Dunston hall is only just down the road from where we live, but have never been.. we got a mega deal so decided to go for a friend's birthday. Lovely place, great rooms... restaurant was lovely, the food was average, but we did have the carvery rather than the al carte.. drinks are a bit pricey. Had a good night's sleep.. soft bed. Shower kept running hot and cold, but lovely fluffy towels. Very good choice at breakfast.. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 159Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

On driving up to the hotel, you cannot fail to be excited! Beautiful tree lined driveway. The reception staff were efficient, the public areas clean, warm and inviting! My room however, was dirty! On 1st impression it looked clean, the bedroom itself was clean but the bathroom was grubby and tired! The grout around the tiles was orange, a light was hanging loose from the ceiling, there were cobwebs on the cornices and the toilet had brown limescale on the bowl. I'd already unpacked when I noticed so didn't bother with a room change. Apart from that, the public areas were clean, I ate in the bar on both nights and the food was good and inexpensive. Noticed a big crowd of elderly guests, think this is the norm as a taxi driver said it attracts large coach tours! Would I stay again? Yes, I will be back next month due to work but hope to avoid room 515!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irisheyesaresmilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights on the autumn deal with my boyfriend, found the reception and eating area 'brasserie' nice but the main corridors and stairwells like an old people home.
hotel so dated its depressing, we booked a king room- expecting to find a luxurious room.
walked in to a dated and sad looking room, bathroom was not very appealing. bath looked liked it belonged in a Pontins and shower head pathetic.
so glad we got the autumn deal so 2 nights £70 each as if we paid proper price would of been really annoyed.
staff very friendly though, just a shame hotel wasn't great

definitely wouldn't bother returning, felt bit depressed on check out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlulu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We arrived Friday afternoon & booked a treatment in the Spa, there was plenty of treatments to choose from on the list. & it was very nicely done.
We stay at the hall for 2 nights for a dinner & dance the hot buffet food on the Friday night was very tasty & cooked very well, bar service was very slow it needed more bar staff at one point we waited 20 min for a drink. The Saturday I went for a swim & my husband played golf. We went in the main bar for lunch which was very disappointing & tasteless the only thing in the wrap was the pesto & there was so little of it it did nothing, & I did tell them! Saturday evening the food & service was very good as was the hall but the bedrooms & parts of the hotel are tired they need some smarting up, breakfast was very nice & overall we were happy & had a good weekend there. We would go back again as the atmosphere was very nice & relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

we stopped here for one night on a shopping trip to Norwich the room was very nice with four poster bed and seating area very large room . we used the spa which was very nice with small pool steam and sauna room also a small hot tub in the evening we dinned in the restaurant which was very nice all in all a good place to stop for a night or two

Room Tip: pay extra for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,227 reviews
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
980 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range: £80 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing