We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dunston hall what a superb place”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Reviewed 6 December 2013

a place to return too excellent establishment and a staff from cleaners to management second to none we stayed 1st dec to the 2nd dec ive travelled the world stylish but not snobby if you honestly have to fault here then you don't appreciate such a good service once again thank you one and all for making our stay such a memorable one for all the right reasons Geoff and Carole Pallett

Room Tip: ground floor if like me you are a terrible smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d103648g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,899 - 1,905 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We couldn't have wished for more! A busy 2 day shopping trip to Norwich & then to unwind later in the spa. A shopaholic's paradise with the all the luxury trimmings. Great facilities, great location & a well stocked bar!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Taniadavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a 1 night deal for 3 course evening meal + overnight stay and breakfast............oh how I wish we were there longer! We had a beautiful Kingsize room which overlooked the golf course. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The evening meal was fabulous. When we sat down to our meal we were brought a glass of wine each and balloons were put on the table - a total surprise as we had mentioned it was my husband's birthday! Starter was from a bar with lots of choices to help ourself to - all lovely. We both had the carvery which was very tasty! There was also a very good choice of main meals if you didn't want the carvery - we saw some that others around us had and they looked equally appealing. Then dessert was from another self service bar with an amazing choice. Breakfast was self sevice and I really cannot think of anthing that was missing! Full english, meats and cheeses, cereals, toast etc, crossiants etc, juices, tea, coffee etc etc!
The whole building is beautiful, clean and just as lovely as I expected it to be from the outside.
We can't wait to make a return visit to Dunston Hall - hopefully for a bit longer next time. Thank you to all the staff - all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HAPPYLASS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Beautiful setting and amazing building. The room was nice. It's a shame that the breakfast was not great. I've seen this kind of breakfast in a normal travel lodge. The basics were not really done. There was hair in the butter in the morning and we constantly had to ask for new cutlery as it was dirty. Don't go there when there is a wedding on or at least ask to be away from all the drunken people rolling past your room at four in the morning. I have no reason to slate this hotel but thought it would be a good idea to let others know.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mattevo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just got back from a weekend here - Checked in on Saturday 3pm and check out was by 11pm on Monday morning.
On arrival the receptionist was really friendly and couldn't fault. Got offered coffee when arriving - but i dont like tea or coffee so would of been nice to have something other than coffee but this is me being picky.
Although the lady serving the coffee when walking past her i said to my nan were room 649 - and the lady said "thats the hardest and furthest room to get to - just saying". i thought this was a very odd thing to say and i thought was boarderlinging rude.Not sure why she said it or how the comment was helpful.
The room was lovely - we had two double beds - large tv - heated towel holder which was lush. No clock though in the room - this is one of my pet hates when a hotel doesnt have a form of clock - i like to know the time but everything else was great.
Dinner/breakfast. Breakfast is everything you can think of - orange juice and the usual - cooked - oriental, breads,muffins, cereals, toast etc... the plates though were ridiculously hot even when taking a napkin to hold the plate - it actually burnt my hand - both mornings they were to hot.
Dinner - a large lemonade was £3.50 - bit pricey. i did ask for no ice but got ice which i picked out. Bit slow on serving but overall was nice. we had dinner included so we had the buffet - autumn menu - starters pasta,rice and few meats and salad. Main was carvery - turkey,beef or ham - everything was lovely except the yorkshire puddings - they were just lacking tasteless is the only way i can describe them. The desert was chocolate cake which i had with cherry coolie - so nice :) the second day they didnt have the coolie so we asked if they could get it for us and they did which was great. The wine was quite pricey but was expected. We was missing a desert spoon and the server said shed get us a replacement and never did we had to re-ask. drinks coming to the table were slightly slow but again overall was nice.

we had spa treatments - mine was a shoulder, back and neck massage. It was nice - she left me way to long to get changed and ready - i think i waited 5 minutes and was ready by 1 so felt this was wasted time. The massage it self was nice but felt she went a bit to hard on my bones on my top half - so was a bit hard for my liking - to the point i was uncomfortable - i felt like she was rubbing my bone literally on my shoulder made me very uncomfortable - normally they ask how was the pressure but wasnt asked this once and also wasnt asked how i liked it ie hard or medium etc... which would have been nice. Luckily she only rubbed my bone really hard on one occasion.
Think the treatments were slightly overpriced - but again we knew the prices before going.

We went for the spa weekend and this was how it was sold but in the pool/sauna area there were children - which was a shame - for me if a hotel offers a spa it should be relaxing with no children screaming and shouting and should state when booking children will be around the pool area. They did have a swimming lesson going on when we was there and the instructor i felt was shouting very loud not really relaxing at all, which was a shame after the spa treatments.I think being a hotel like it is it would have been nicer to have adults only personally.
We showered in the bedroom and Shower in the room wasnt the best - bit weak in power and the head on the shower wasnt the best either but thats the only criticism on the room . Shampoo and bits offered by the hotel were really nice. They did clean our room rather late at approx 3pm which was when we needed the room to set it up for my nans birthday surprise - quite surprised us to see cleaners in the room at this stage especially as this is fairly late and being a spa people tend to head back around then.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estebonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

we went to see Thursford Spectaculal in November,it was amazing with lots of things to see.The show had loads to see all the artists were good the could sing dance and play instruments. It was like being in wonderland with all the lights and things there were shops all lit up with lovely things to buy. We went with the coach company Yorkshire Rose the drivers were so friendly they did everything to make our time as good as they could. we stayed in the De Vere Dunston Hall hotel which was a great place to stay. Everything about the hotel was well run clean and the food was very good, it had a buffet so you helped yourself. there was golf swimming pool and lots of other things to do. I would recermend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have just had a wonderful break here to celebrate a special occasion which was made even more memorable by the excellent service we received. Staff went out of their way to enhance our stay with lovely personal touches. We had purchased a spa break and made good use of the ample facilities - the pool, steam room and sauna were great.. The spa treatment was delivered by lovely staff who helped us relax further. The food was excellent and there was plenty of choice, the restaurant staff showed good attention to detail. The room was pleasantly decorated, warm and furnished to a high standard. Although the hotel was busy there were plenty of places to sit and relax with a wide variety of food & drink. The bar is particularly stunning with one of the largest selection of spirits I have seen for a along time. We will definitely be returning as this was affordable luxury.

Room Tip: The hotel is so large there is a room suitable for everyone. We were some distance from the centre o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jollypop14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,229 reviews
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
981 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range: £81 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing