We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired hotel, patchy service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tired hotel, patchy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed here with a friend in November.
On arrival check in was quick and easy and our room was fine if abit dated decor-wise.
We went to the bar for a drink and snack where service was very slow and food really isn't value for money.
We used the spa - pool area and facilities are quite old and very busy at weekends. Certainly not spa-esque more like a fitness pool.
We both had treatments which were good however treatment rooms we both found to be cold.
We ordered room service but couldn't even get through to the kitchen by phone so left our order with reception who took it to the kitchen. Came quickly but again poor quality for the price charged.
Breakfast is good, nice choice and good selection.
Checkout was a trauma, with receptionist forgetting things and took quite a while.
Overall it's not a luxurious hotel - rooms and facilities are in need of refurbishing and the staff in need of training in the art of customer service!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    677
    501
    260
    162
See reviews for
377
1,075
36
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Went with a group of friends (8) to celebrate and see in the New year for a gala dinner. Please do not waste your money. I upgraded us to a 4 poster room which I have to say was looking really unloved and in need of a redec The bathroom was looking tired with stains down the toilet not what I expected. Then the dinner was an experience, although I did complain and the manager at the time who did try and compensate for the catalogue of errors so I don't fell I can go into too much detail. However on checking out this morning there were a lot of people complaining and people receiving part refunds. Dunston Hall you have a fabulous place here but you need to get the details sorted quickly

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms and don't waste money on what should be superior rooms unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Went for one night 23rd December for our wedding anniversary on a Groupon deal incl dinner and bottle of wine. I did pay for an upgraded room as well.
On entering the hotel was welcomed by the receptionist who couldn't have made us feel more welcome if she tried, lovely. Went to our room (via stairs and lift, was a bit of a maze) and it was so nice, huge comfy bed, two large chairs and very spacious with view of golf course.
Our wine arrived with a card from the staff, much appreciated. I had two treatments booked in the spa, they were absolutely wonderful and then we went for a swim/sauna/steam. Had the pool to ourselves. Went to dinner which we had pre booked, served by Rachel who didn't mind that we moved tables twice due to a hot radiator and then away from a large family.
Had soup and a carvery which were very good. The chef was friendly. Rachel brought us two glasses of complimentary bubbly to the table and said she'd heard we had an anniversary. A really nice touch. Skipped pudding, went to the bar and had liqueur coffees which some hotels struggle with but Dunston Hall know how to make them properly!
Breakfast in the morning was superb, our waiter Will introduced himself and was attentive and polite. Lovely choice of food and everything you needed.
Had a wonderful stay, made to feel special and all credit to the staff at the hotel. Thank you again, we shall definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Rooms a little jaded but nevertheless were comfortable. Hotel staff friendly.Excellent grounds.We were with a coach party and porterage was a mess but some of this could be due to our driver.The food was excellent.Very good carvery and excellent breakfast.I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is set in beautiful grounds. Food is excellent with friendly staff. Very large but easy to get lost finding your room. Minor niggle was no there was shower cap in the bathroom. Surprising for this level of Hotel. Overall, a good Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This the first time we have spent the Xmas break away from home, a new experience. On arrival we were met with mulled wine canapés and mince pies this was very good. There were so many people booking in was really
surprised at the amount of people doing the same thing. First impressions was very good booking in was very organised and friendly welcome. Our room. Was a bit jaded could do with a freshen up. Ripped wallpaper, tapes very dirty with lime scale, lime scale around the bath and grouting all in all a bit off putting. The bed was quite comfortable would have been better if the sheet fitted ended up lying in the mattress cover not what anyone desires,yuk.
The meal on Xmas Eve, on arrival of the menu was advised there was no vegetarian but could do pasta, why oh why is it assumed veggies love pasta no thought in it at all. Decided on fish which we waited well over half an hour for, service not the best. When it arrived? I ordered hack which should have had a lemon infused herb crust what arrived was a bright green slime which had been laid in top of fish and had congealed, after taking this off the fish underneath was no better a dry tasteless fish of some sort. Could not even tell what type of fish it was white is best I can say. The maître de did come over and apologised so assumed I was not the first to complain. She did offer a bottle if wine, I dud refuse as did not wish her to think we complain just to gain from it. She did handle the complaint very well I must say.
Christmas Day meal well there was a veggie meal vegetable type hotspot. A pile of veg with a pastry top not even in a hotpot type bowl just laid on the plate not great. Xmas evening was a buffet here they excelled themselves vegetable lasagne, fish veg tarts you name it they had it excellent.
It has been a mixed stay but although not good in all parts would not out us off trying it again not necessary at this hotel. The package was not cheap and would have been so much better if the food had been up to the 4 star the hotel commands

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leithy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here end of November on the Autumn special deal for two nights b&b.
on arrival just before lunch our room was already ready so nice to be able to check on straight away.
Used pool which had been updated since our last stay 2 years ago and found it nice and clean and given nice fluffy towels to use when arrive there.
Breakfast is the usual buffet style you find at most hotels but there was plenty of choice of cooked breakfast items, fruit, cereals and continental. Certainly enough to set you up for the day.
Our room was a king size located in the older part of the building on the second floor and was nice and clean but smaller than rooms in the new annexe. The bed was very comfortable and the duvet nice and warm. Only complaint is that the pillows were rather hard. Bathroom was fine with nice power shower and plenty of hot water.
There was a lot of work parties on but we were never disturbed by any of the music or noise of people coming back to their rooms.
We had a drink in the bar both nights which was quiet but have to say the prices were strep. £9 for a large glass of white wine is a bit much and think the bar would have been busier had the prices been cheaper.
However we enjoyed our two night stay and would return as it is a nice hotel in a lovely location just outside Norwich town centre.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melliegirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing