We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic setting - a vegetarians view”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic setting - a vegetarians view”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed recently overnight to enjoy the setting and relax using the excellent leisure facilities. It is a fantastic sight driving into the grounds and seeing this enormous mock Elizabethan House at the end of the drive. Our welcome was warm and efficient. We were given a suite right at the top of the house which was charming and very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities are supplied and the bed was quite comfortable.

The evening meal was not as successful as the main kitchen was closed for refurbishment so meal choices were limited, especially for us as we are vegetarian, had only one choice which was the old favourite of pubs - lasagne! We chose not to have that so went to the bar where they sell bar meals. The only choice there was a salad. It was ok, but a bit pricey for what it was. The good news was that breakfast was very good - they even cooked us veggie sausages!

The leisure facilities however were excellent. A beautiful swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, and gymnasium kept us occupied for a good while, and there was also a spa.

A great stopover if you are visiting Norwich as it is only 10 mins ride away.

Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddhaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    738
    540
    293
    196
See reviews for
427
1,177
38
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

With Norwich being rural is only right you stay in accomodation that matches, however, each to their own. I have stayed in many deveres but non quite as mesmerising as Dunston hall. It oozes history which reflects a super warm, welcoming feel when entering and incorporate in a modern bar, a suitable gym and way above average swimming and sauna facilities. I stayed in the penthouse one night amid must add, some people may think he rooms are tired and need modernising but this for me is what makes the stay. Who would want a classic car with a new car engine? Is perfect. Breakfast o's beautiful, the restaurant is grand and boasts many a choice and the service is very very professional. I had an excellent stay here whilst working in the area and would reccomend Dunston hall as a place to stay when in Norwich without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear samuelp
thank you for your feedback on how much you enjoyed your stay in our historic house hotel as well as how much you enjoyed the food,do come and see us again soon
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The service was excellent and professional. Staff were very helpful. The exterior of the building was breathtaking, however the rooms were very dated and the bath tub was not particularly relaxing. Ask not to be put near a lift! The noise was not good. Breakfast was also disappointing and the food felt as if it had been sitting out for sometime. I hope the suites were nicer than the rooms, but the staff were fabulous and knowledgable.

Room Tip: Not near a lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear nelpel
Many thanks for your feedback.I`ll pass your very kind comments on to the team and look at how we can improve our breakfast.We also have some contemporary rooms in our deluxe wing which some guests prefer to the more classic,traditional rooms, for next time you come to see us
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Excellent service from staff. Room was very tired, furniture cheap, stained and well bashed about. Our room was under the conference store room, furniture was trundled on trollies up and down in what seemed all night.
This started again on 2nd morning at 4am
breakfast very nice lots of variety, nice figs too.
carvery mixed - salad very tired looking like it had sat there all day, meat ok, veg again looked tired. Desserts were fab so they made up for it!
was given a free drink for my birthday - nice touch
staff took on board complaints about the room and refunded one night so really they should not charge that rate in the first place.

Room Tip: Avoid ash room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Julie t
thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.I`m pleased you received such good service and will pass on your comments regading the deli counters and carvery.We also have a brasserie menu available for next time you come to stay
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on the 19th December.
We were greeted by friendly staff and when we had trouble finding our room someone was happy to help and even carried my bag to the room when he saw me struggling.
Even though we stayed in the older quarter (as it was cheaper) the room was lovely and I liked the room just the way it was, I wouldn't have wanted a modern room as it doesn't suit this picturesque, historical hotel.
The food was nice, I preferred breakfast to dinner. We had the carvery but the potatoes tasted like they had been sitting there for a while, but the meat and everything else was lovely. We had to wait a long time for our drinks to arrive though and a long time to get someone to give us the bill even though the restaurant wasn't full, but breakfast was delightful with a big selection.
I enjoyed everything about this hotel and will defiantly return again as we had a lovely relaxing and quiet stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannivic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear dannivic88
thank you for your feedback.I`m pleased you enjoyed our traditional rooms and food ,next time try one of our contemporary deluxe rooms and our ala carte menu, for an extra special experience
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by friendly and welcoming staff - mulled wine and biscuits on arrival too!! Our party consisted of 2 children, who were also made a fuss of. The food was delicious and disco was much better than the previous year - catering for a more varied audience!! We opted for the extra night so we were able to swim too, which al adds to the experience. This was our 3rd year running and a huge thumbs up from us, the best one yet

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear catherine r
many thanks for your feedback and i`m really glad your new year went so well at Dunston Hall.I`ll pass your compliments about the food to the chef,and do come back to see us before next NYE
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely relaxing weekend at Dunston Hall. We enjoyed a walk around the grounds and had a nice view from our bedroom window. The breakfast was yummy with plenty of choice. We only had evening drinks in the terrace bar but it was very comfortable and relaxing. The bedroom was nice and spacious but the bathroom a little tired and in need of re-grouting.
The pool and spa area were lovely and of a very good size so still plenty of space even when busy.
Overall a very enjoyable and lovely relaxing weekend away.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Debbied
thank you for passing on your feedback on how enjoyable your stay was with us.I`m glad you enjoyed our fantastic breakfast and generally had a relaxing stay
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,162 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
895 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
890 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing