We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay... Just a few niggles”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had another overnight stay including dinner and breakfast and cannot fault the service, food or the price. The staff overall are perfect and cannot do enough to make our stay any better. ( apart from the older woman serving breakfast who must have got out of bed the wrong side as Ashe didn't seem very happy and certainly not customer orientated ) the room which was this time on the ground floor was very dated and needs freshening up and our double bed was 2 single beds pushed together. Also when using the facilities there were young children bombing and screaming in the pool also in and out of the sauna and steam room. Not their fault as they're children but not that great for relaxing and unwinding. Overall a good stay again and will go back again. Great value for money and a bottle of wine was in our room on arrival... Bed wine and dine package.

Room Tip: Our first stay was upstairs and the room was nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,702 - 1,708 of 2,719 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the De Vere Dunston Hall for a Spa Break. Upon arrival the outside of the hotel and it's grounds were amazing we we're welcome by friendly staff at reception. Our room was ready as soon as we arrived which was good. The room was very spacious but a bit shabby, I'm guessing because we were on an spa package we were given the most basic room. The rooms could do with updated as it we'll worn. The bathroom wasn't very nice, the bath had green like lime scale in it could have done with a bit of Cilit Bang, and the floor could have done with a scrub but I think this was do to the leaking shower as u could tell from the side of the bath that the wood was very damp, and after having a having shower the floor was flooded, again could do with updating. The spa area is very nice, with a big pool, jacuzzi saunas and steam room. Lovely area for relaxing but as we were on a spa break I was disappointed we didn't get a bath robe and slippers, wasn't very nice walking around the hotel and spa areas with bare feet and in our swim wear rapped in a towel. We had a lovely back massage though and would come back just for that. The restaurant was very nice we had a nice 3 course meal and breakfast included in our package and again the staff were really friendly and food was very nice with a good selection both times.

Overall we did have a nice time, and slept really well, just a shame the room wasn't up to the 4 star standards we are use to but the grounds and the hotel itself is lovely with great friendly staff, but I wouldn't come back for a spa weekend as I've been to better facilities elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed for two nights to see a show in Norwich. Staff very helpful, room great - bed enormous. Room had french doors and a patio - would have been great with good weather. Had dinner (Carvery) - excellent. Very good bar in main hotel, plus excellent golfers clubhouse bar. Situated just outside Norwich - taxi to town centre for show £10.00 each way. Very good leisure facilities and pool. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Chambre Unique room, which had sky movies, patio, great bed - well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julieandgrahamrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Just a single night stay for business but very impressed. Lovely setting and a very impressive building. Very friendly staff and well stocked bar, clean rooms and good decor.

I would say at breakfast the plates could be slightly cooler and the food slightly warmer!

Otherwise excellent stay, and will look forward to returning in the near future... loving the wing backed chairs!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustJim79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear justjim75
Many thanks for your feedback and i`m really please you enjoyed your stay.Next time try one of our Chambre Unique rooms for a special occasion.I`ll pass on your comments to the chef so we can enhance our breakfast expereince even further.

kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

my husband and I stayed here for 1 night on their wine and dine deal. f
we were very lucky to receive a free upgrade and our room was amazing. The restaurant was lovely and we opted for the 3 course carvery which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast was also a self service carvery style although you can order some things to be cooked to order. The staff make you feel welcome from start to finish. I didn't want to leave and we are looking forward to going again :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FamilyHJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear familyHJR
Thank you for you feedback,I`m pleased you enjoyed our food so much and our new Exec Chef has expanded our menu and choices as well as improving our much-lauded carvery and gourmet buffet,come again soon!
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This Hotel is first class in every department. The building is superb as are the grounds. The bed rooms are more than adequate and the beds unbelievably comfortable and extremely large. There is a superb wooden staircase in the middle of the hotel which leads to some lavish banqueting suites. Although a carvery on the night we stayed, there was a good choice and the food was first class. Breakfast was also above standard and not the "plastic" taste that many large hotels provide. The leisure facilities, although not used by us, were very impressive.
The only draw back, as in most hotels in this country, is the price of wines and some drinks. That said the bar staff were most helpful and very friendly. A terrific place to stay and we hope to be back here again very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmj46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear bmj46
Thank you for your comments on our hotel and cuisine.I`m really please you particularly enjoyed our restaurant food and breakfast and will pass this on to the kitchen team
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed recently overnight to enjoy the setting and relax using the excellent leisure facilities. It is a fantastic sight driving into the grounds and seeing this enormous mock Elizabethan House at the end of the drive. Our welcome was warm and efficient. We were given a suite right at the top of the house which was charming and very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities are supplied and the bed was quite comfortable.

The evening meal was not as successful as the main kitchen was closed for refurbishment so meal choices were limited, especially for us as we are vegetarian, had only one choice which was the old favourite of pubs - lasagne! We chose not to have that so went to the bar where they sell bar meals. The only choice there was a salad. It was ok, but a bit pricey for what it was. The good news was that breakfast was very good - they even cooked us veggie sausages!

The leisure facilities however were excellent. A beautiful swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, and gymnasium kept us occupied for a good while, and there was also a spa.

A great stopover if you are visiting Norwich as it is only 10 mins ride away.

Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddhaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,196 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
905 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
222 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range: £90 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing