We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired rooms”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired rooms”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

For the price, not good value. Room was old with limescale, mould and stains in bathroom. Pool nice but cold, even Jacuzzi was cold. Rest of hotel looked sumptuous and classy, however, it had an oppressive feel to me. Not much daylight. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinnamonPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    698
    510
    273
    173
See reviews for
395
1,119
36
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Second stay in two months, on business. Last time was OK, but with a few reservations. This time things weren't as good though. The check in staff were polite but advised that my booking had been cancelled. In fairness, this was sorted but my entire visit was punctuated with questions about whether or not I was paying the bill.

My room was scabby. The door had boot marks on it, the veneer was flaky, paint and plaster finishes at the end of their life, the bedside lamp shade had been smashed before being coaxed back into shape....

I had an interconnecting room and noise transmission through the internal doors was severe. It didn't help that the occupant of the next room liked watching TV until 3 am but there was too much noise from both sides. The walls are too thin.

The carvery dinner was pretty good, but at £20 it was expensive. Service was good but diners are crammed in way too tight and it felt claustrophobic.

Although the room rate is broadly comparable to a Premier Inn, next time I'd actually prefer to stay in one because they are consistently in better repair, and guarantee a good night's sleep!

In summary: this place needs money spent on it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank inspec71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Booked again (5th time) for few nights away, travelled from Scotland to see family and a few days away at Dunstan, We upgraded at a small cost, the room is fab(room 3) in the old part, great space OMG the bathroom is massive , Areas of the Hotel are dated but look at the place its breath taking. Breakfast is never a problem anything you want. Spa area is the reason we stay here relax and chill out. Thanks for a great stay again
see you soon x

Room Tip: room 3 ( ceder ) is facing the golf course, high bed very comfortable (on the soft side) double si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very friendly and efficient staff. Food was good too. I left an item in my bedroom and it was returned by post within two days which was very good service. However the décor and rooms are very tired and shabby. A net curtain at my bedroom window was badly torn and I was amazed housekeeping had ignored this. After I brought the problem to the attention of reception the curtain was replaced. This hotel needs a lot of investment to bring the décor and rooms up to standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizhawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

consider dunston hall to be the best hotel in the area.All round,accomodation ,facilities,and staff excellent.Will continue to recommend.Have yet to experience the golf course the setting of which appears very attractive.

Room Tip: standard rooms adequate,upgrade a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norman e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had another overnight stay including dinner and breakfast and cannot fault the service, food or the price. The staff overall are perfect and cannot do enough to make our stay any better. ( apart from the older woman serving breakfast who must have got out of bed the wrong side as Ashe didn't seem very happy and certainly not customer orientated ) the room which was this time on the ground floor was very dated and needs freshening up and our double bed was 2 single beds pushed together. Also when using the facilities there were young children bombing and screaming in the pool also in and out of the sauna and steam room. Not their fault as they're children but not that great for relaxing and unwinding. Overall a good stay again and will go back again. Great value for money and a bottle of wine was in our room on arrival... Bed wine and dine package.

Room Tip: Our first stay was upstairs and the room was nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the De Vere Dunston Hall for a Spa Break. Upon arrival the outside of the hotel and it's grounds were amazing we we're welcome by friendly staff at reception. Our room was ready as soon as we arrived which was good. The room was very spacious but a bit shabby, I'm guessing because we were on an spa package we were given the most basic room. The rooms could do with updated as it we'll worn. The bathroom wasn't very nice, the bath had green like lime scale in it could have done with a bit of Cilit Bang, and the floor could have done with a scrub but I think this was do to the leaking shower as u could tell from the side of the bath that the wood was very damp, and after having a having shower the floor was flooded, again could do with updating. The spa area is very nice, with a big pool, jacuzzi saunas and steam room. Lovely area for relaxing but as we were on a spa break I was disappointed we didn't get a bath robe and slippers, wasn't very nice walking around the hotel and spa areas with bare feet and in our swim wear rapped in a towel. We had a lovely back massage though and would come back just for that. The restaurant was very nice we had a nice 3 course meal and breakfast included in our package and again the staff were really friendly and food was very nice with a good selection both times.

Overall we did have a nice time, and slept really well, just a shame the room wasn't up to the 4 star standards we are use to but the grounds and the hotel itself is lovely with great friendly staff, but I wouldn't come back for a spa weekend as I've been to better facilities elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing