We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very classy”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I was made to feel very welcome as soon as I arrived at the Hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful. My room was very nice, clean, warm and plenty of storage space. Obviously with it being an old building there is some touching up and minor repairs that need doing but nothing to spoil your stay. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and again very attentive staff. The Terrace Bar was really comfortable and prices only a little above Pub prices. The Health Spa was great fun, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, swimming pool and a huge gym. This place is well worth a visit whether it be to play golf, relax in its splendour, or enjoy the spa, go on treat yourself.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    723
    531
    283
    193
See reviews for
412
1,163
38
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Hello

I recently came to a spa day/relaxation day at Dunston Hall and I have always loved the venue because I had my wedding reception there 10 years ago now. However we came last Saturday for a relaxation day to use the spa and facilities and I was horrified how awful Dunston Hall has become. We first went into the changing room which were filthy, floors were covered in hair and dust, the ceilings in the showers were covered in mould and the shower floors were disgusting and we had not even got in to the pool area yet. It was only ten o'clock in the morning so in theory it should have not been too bad but the pool side and floors were covered in clumps of hair and dust. It just looked like it had not been cleaned in ages. Actually in the jacuzzi there was some lovely squashy stuff that I stepped on and I was just so disappointed and the place has gone series lay down hill. Previously I recommended Dunston Hall very highly but after the tired , disgustingly dirty swimming pool, changing rooms and showers I can not give a high recommendation anymore. I am not a person who just review bad things, I love to praise places, items and people and my previous email has just been to next to say how amazing there staff are. I really would love to see something done about the filth all over Dunston Hall and ideally it needs a serious revamp. A paint would do it the world of good. Just look at the doors as you push to go in the changing rooms. Seriously I can't stress enough how disappointed I was. Good job the company I was with was good that all I can say, however your chocolate cake was amazing.

Sorry for complain but if you expect a certain kind of service/place/standard it's not good when your greeted with that and I won't be coming again until I know it's had a revamp.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carinamcmorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

Show Prices
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel, we booked a cheap two night bed & breakfast deal at £59 a night. We were allocated a family room which I specifically booked as the photograph showed that it had a settee. The room we got did not have one, I mentioned this whilst passing the reception and to my surprise we were given a king size room, which had a separate lounge are and had views of the golf course, so thank you to the staff.
Breakfast was very good as was the attentive staff.
I recommended this hotel the first time and would do so again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

stopped on a wine and dine deal which was very good value.The hotel is very fine but feels homely,with very professional staff.We received a room upgrade,a bottle of wine on the dinning table,an excellent 3 course meal,and breakfast(with lots of choice).All this for £99 for the two of us.

The hotel is well placed for the city center,a 10 mins drive or 5 mins to the park and ride.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the de vere Dunston Hall for a celebratory day and night for the Mrs' birthday. We visited the spa and I used the golf range to entertain ourselves through out the day and the services were ok.

Where We had a problem is with our room. I had asked for the best room they had. Indeed I got the most expensive however I hope the other rooms did not have the problems this room had.
Firstly room advertised as having a smart tv. These only work when connected to the internet. This was not so was basically just a digital tv.
Secondly, mould marks throughout the bathroom grouting.
Thirdly, skirting board had fallen off due to what appeared to be poor fitting and warping. It was leant up against where it should be and was quite dangerous due to its location.
Fourthly, the 'four poster bed'. Not a classically made four poster. A four poster bed that had been crudely screwed together with large visible silver bolts. Very classy! Also the fabric trim at the top of the bed had suspicious stains all over them. Nice.
To make it 5, the carpet had a huge split 2meters long where a join had come away and it created a trip hazard.
Finally, I had been asked to supply feedback. My feedback was fair and balanced but asked for a apology and recognition in which I have never received and have decided to complain for the first time in my life.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bully81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The building was beautiful, the staff were kind and helpful. The food was lovely and the rooms very clean and comfortable. This is great value for money and a must for anyone thinking of visiting the area

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very imposing building as you arrive along the driveway. Hotel is lovely. All rooms are clean and tidy and the staff are very courteous and polite. Loads to do during your stay with amongst othe things a lovely pool.
Good value for money and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,116 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
888 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
880 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing