We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some TLC”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Laxey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In need of some TLC”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here on a special offer weekend, in a so-called "King Room" - I doubt any king would even think of staying in so poor a room! Dunston Hall is a wonderful labyrinth of a building with a Gothic look and a relaxing atmosphere, but it is all in need of some intensive tender loving care, especially in the en suite bathroom we had. Tiles were cracked, paint chipped, and the plumbing was just not up to even 1 star standard - it took 3 flushes to flush the loo and all the time the pipes groaned and shuddered. And not just ours - we could hear next door's pipes groaning too, which is not a particularly endearing feature.

Staff were pleasant and helpful, and breakfast was good, with a good range on offer, but the toaster spat out black bread charred to a crisp (and there was no way to adjust the settings, so everyone had the same burnt toast - or gave up) and although there was jam and honey on offer, there was no marmalade.

Grounds are great, with a lovely golf course wrapped around the house, and the pool was very good. I saw no evidence of poor upkeep as described by another reviewer - for me, the pool and changing room were clean and inviting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwpiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    710
    516
    277
    179
See reviews for
400
1,137
38
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Me and my partner have just come back from a 2 night stay at Dunston Hall and we both wish we could of extended our stay. From the moment we arrived we felt like valued customers and the staff could do more to help us. The receptionist were lovely and even offered a tea or coffee on arrival which was a very nice touch. The room we opted for was a Deluxe King room, which we upgraded before our stay, and it was the best room I have stayed in. I would definatly advise upgrading to this room. During our stay we had a massage each and the spa staff were just as friendly as te hotel staff and made us feel at ease about the experience. The location is fantastic only being 10 minutes from Norwich city centre meaning it is very easy to get to. The resturant was amazing and there was a good range of tasty food for you to select from. I will definatly be planing another stay very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for Valentines night and could say it was rather overpriced for what we got - we found out we could rent the pent house for the same amount that we had paid for Valentines night!! Lack of choice for desert too - it was simply cakes/pastries! We didn't pay for that kind of quality food....

We've stayed here before last year also, and once again, we had a poor view from our bedroom, and I believe were promised an attractive view of the grounds.

Service was OK - room and reception service were good, restaurant staff were not... pretty sure they were new and had no clue what they were doing. I asked for a glass of water and about 30 minutes later it finally arrived on my table....

Room was nice, clean, good size.. their hot water never seems to be very hot, more like "warm".

Overall - an average stay at Dunston Hall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eferg93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch and I have to say I am rather shocked at the very negative customer service from the young bar staff - everything was 'NO!' You can't etc.

Then we got the food and just when we though things could not get any worse... Disgusting oily concoction of fish and so called chips. The ham wrap was also ordinary and the Gnocci simply a reheated mush.

We were 100% refunded for the good but I'll never forget this experience.

Best to avoid this once grand establishment.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VintageAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

Show Prices
Norfolk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Visited for a Spa break - beautiful building and grounds.......but what a disappointment. Stair carpet down into the health club is dirty and frayed - changing rooms dirty, cramped and outdated - dirty, stained tiles in to and around the pool area - whole swimming pool area needs gutting - everywhere you look there are signs of neglect. Not what we expected at all. Terrace bar was also disappointing - there are no sign of the little extras that make a five star hotel - drinks served without coasters, bare tables - just felt the whole place was not living up to its image - wouldn't recommend it, there are better offerings in the area!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightning5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great location, amazing building both inside and out. Very quiet due to being surrounded by a golf course.
the room I had was nothing amazing and nothing bad, the standard "corporate design" layout. It was warm but not overly so, it was all clean and well kitted out.
Everything worked as it was supposed to, the bathroom looked as though it was mostly new but the work around the bath was a little below the standard of work the owners should expect, Not dirty or anything along those lines just poor standard of work on the sealant and tiling.
The staff I encountered were very friendly, efficient and helpful and a credit to the hotel.
Breakfast was a help yourself affair and was very good, the ingredients all seemed decent quality. I got a better price for a night by going through the central reservations than was being offered by laterooms, booking.com or the de vere web site for the hotel.

The health club was great, pool big enough and the correct shape to swim in, jacuzzi, steam room and well equipped gym also available for use free of charge.

Free WiFi that actually worked Ok and a good selection of channels on the TV, definitely worth a return visit if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyfatnbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The building and grounds are beautiful and the staff very helpful. The rooms are very tired, 1990s faux country house style. The whole place is stuffy, in need of redecoration and the cheap wood veneer furniture is chipped or marked with coffee rings. The first room I was given had not been cleaned properly. There were coffee granules on the dressing table, crumbs on the nightstand and the kettle was dirty. The last straw was the parting gift from the previous guest of a little sprinkling of toenail clippings on the carpet beside the bed. I complained and was shown to a "deluxe" room which was larger and cleaner, but the bedspread had a hole in it and the furniture was also damaged. The food was OK, but not worth the price charged.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,103 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
877 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing