We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel is impressive but service of staff is the outstanding memory of our 3 day stay there. The receptionists were most helpful, courteous and professional and in particular Dani and Nicola gave friendly in depth advice when needed.
Wine list however was too pricey, or else we would have ordered a bottle for dinner.
The chefs were outstanding and worked very hard to keep our jazz party well fed and served in time for the concert.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Pat L
I am delighted to hear that the outstanding memory of your stay at the Hall was the team, in particular Dani and Nicola. They have both seen your review and are delighted to receive such praise. All the team at Dunston work hard to ensure they deliver excellent customer service to all our guests and we are very proud of them all.
Thank you
Kind Regards
Catrin Long
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    723
    531
    283
    186
See reviews for
411
1,162
38
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here first week in May with a friend on a voucher deal.
Plus points - beautiful building & grounds, good customer service at front desk and in the Garden Lounge. Room comfortable, good decor with tea/coffee making & relatively well sound proofed. Main communal areas nicely decorated. Pool area clean and relaxing. Prices for bar drinks average.
Minus points - poor signage for reception (it's not through the doors at the front of the original building as you would think), brasserie waiting staff not overally attentive in the evening & in the morning (buffet breakfast confusing as no one explained how to get toast or what was on offer - we weren't the only ones who seemed to have this problem), carvery was average - thinly sliced meat & poor choice of overcooked veg, got charged for 2 rooms due to online booking prob inspite of being assured that we would only pay for one at time of booking in - still had to explain again when checking out, had to ask for the 'complimentary' bottle of wine, view from the room was of the back of the building, view from the Garden Lounge was of conifer trees blocking the view of the golf course which appeared to be lovely but it was too cold to sit outside on the terrace beyond to see.

Overall - seemed to be favoured by the business fraternity & older couples on golfing trips. Nice hotel for an overnight stay and a good deal if you can get a voucher to reduce the cost. Had a pleasant stay in an outwardly beautiful building & the location is good as is just on the edge of Norwich. Would go back if on a voucher deal/business expenses but wouldn't pay full price for what we had.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view - ours had the back of the next wing looking onto bricks and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

When you arrive to dunston hall it's very impressive and the communal reception and bar areas etc are nice but the rooms are pretty tired and the facilities are a bit lacking
I asked for a shower cap and was told it was an extra perk and housekeeping kept them hidden??!!

The food in the bar was nice but on a dbb you get a £20 allowance but can't have wine? So we only spent £13 of the allowance and then had to pay separately for a glass of wine to go with out meal?!

Ok for a business stay but I'm glad the company paid for it not me... Wouldn't rush back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank anniepankles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear anniepankles
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at Dunston Hall.
It was lovely to read that you found the communal areas nice. We have recently redecorated our main bar and had lots of positive feedback on it. We are continuing to invest in our bedrooms and redecoration of them is ongoing.
The DBB package offers 3 courses from our carvery, 3 courses from our Spring menu or £20 allowance from the a la carte menu, unfortunately we are not able to transfer the allowance for drinks.
Once again thank you for your feedback and I do hope you will consider returning to Dunston Hall soon.
Kind Regards
Catrin Long
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked this hotel through Booking.com by ticking for dog friendly hotels.
I called prior to arrival just to inform the hotel we would be bringing a dog. I was informed very abruptly that a further charge would be enforced. Upon arrival we were told dogs were not allowed in the restaraunts not even in the bar areas. At breakfast we were told our dog who is well behaved and gentle could not even come through the doors of the breakfast rooms to sit at a separate table isolated from other diners. The facilities at this hotel for non dog owners are good enough and the staff very friendly. DeVere hotels just need to understand if you encourage dog owners to patronise their establishments they have to make them feel welcome. I am sure that all dog owners will read this and come to there own conclusions. Just a small piece of advice to the DeVere management there are NO hygiene laws which eliminate dogs from food establishments and I do realise that there are many people who do not wish dogs to be in the same place as they are eating ,it is very simple to facilitate the needs of dog owners. So ,you 12,000,000 dog owners out there choose somewhere else, oh by the way DeVere £100/night multiplied by 12,000,000 is ££120,000,000. Just a thought.

Room Tip: If you have a dog go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Barry H
Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that you had not found the hotel as dog friendly as you had expected.
The hotel welcomes pet owners with walking routes, pet bedding, food bowls and we do try to balance the needs of all our guests to ensure everyone has a comfortable stay. Unfortunately we are unable to accept dogs in the food service areas.
Kind Regards
Catrin Long
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We wanted just a nice place for a single night while we were visiting a couple of attractions around Norwich. While researching hotels and offers, Dunston Hall became obvious as a possible and I finally managed to find an even better deal from the De Vere Hotel website itself so proving it's always worth shopping around!.
I was a bit nervous due to some of the negative reviews but on balance decided that the majority had found the hotel very good and so proceeded with the booking.
The reality was better than I had hoped. It is in a lovely location to the south of the city and despite the obviously busy golf course the ambiance was overall relaxed and quiet which is what we wanted.
Upon arrival we were immediately upgraded by the friendly and attentive reception staff and so this made us feel very welcome. We asked for a "quiet and clean" room and we were not disappointed.
The room (450 - Deluxe Plus) was spacious, spotlessly clean and was located at the end of one of the buildings overlooking the front area of the Hotel and this was a nicely quiet location.
The Hotel Spa and Gym appeared overall well equipped and looked after and also well used by non-residents but when we used the pool (early evening) it was not busy at all and so we felt very relaxed. The pool was a good size compared to other Hotels and so you were able to get a good swim.
The restaurant (Brassiere) was very pleasant and offered a wide choice of menu types including a carvery. My wife was also very pleased with the range of gluten-free options available. The room deal included dinner and a bottle of wine (not a bad bottle either) and although the food choices wouldn't be considered "fine dining" by some it was overall, a more than pleasant experience. Breakfast was a normal buffet type but the service was attentive and quick without feeling rushed.
One other thing that we noticed particularly was the friendliness of all the house staff that we bumped into - unusual but very welcoming for a hotel of this size.
Would we go back again or recommend it to others? - absolutely!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a bit of a walk and some stairs/ or lift then try and ask for rooms away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We decided to stay at Dunston Hall the second night after our wedding. We got married in Norwich and spend the first night in the Hotel Nelson Premier Inn, so we could be with our friends at breakfast (it exceeded expectations!). We were booked into the Wellington Suite (£200+ per night including breakfast). We were quite shocked! The hotel itself is beautiful... the staff friendly and the food wonderful. The room itself was shabby and tired. The pictures had slipped down in their frames where the tape had lost its sticky, the lining was falling away from the curtains, the furniture was scratched, handles were missing off drawers and the long mirror couldn't be moved so it was the correct angle. The white bath was old and very stained, parts were missing off the toilet seat attachments and the tiles were cracked. The four poster bed was just a wooden frame around a 'normal' bed. We were also kept awake by other guests in the corridor and people upstairs. In all very disappointed. Certainly not worth the money. Go for tea, drinks and a meal. Don't bother staying over!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star7772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

Show Prices
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I booked and was very happy with a 'Chambre Unique' room, it was modern, spacious and well appointed with a lovely outdoor patio which I dissapointed my didn't get to use.

The restaurant however is a disaster, the staff are surly and disinterested and whilst the restaurant was less than half they couldn't be bothered to find me a table for one apart from the dodgy table that is always free next to the kitchen door!

Breakfast was very lacklustre and the toaster didn't work. I am 150 nights plus per year in hotels and frankly Premier Inn do a lot better for 50% of the price.

Would I come again, probably not!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paulm7067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,114 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
885 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
875 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing