We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, will be back again”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice stay, will be back again”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night on the £119 dinner bed and breakfast package.
Located the hotel easily, plenty of parking available. Check in was swift and smooth. Stayed in standard double room which was a good size. Small bathroom but did have a bath and shower.
Was expecting a bottle of wine to be in the room upon arrival, which it was not. Spoke to reception and they informed us to ask at dinner, which we did. Worked out to our advantage really because we would of probably drunk the bottle if it was in the room and ordered another during dinner.
Dinner was a little confusing, buffet or menu options available. All 3 courses were available in self service buffet or you could order from the monthly menu, or you could order from the a la carte menu and pay the difference in price. Starter buffet was disappointing, not a great selection and only cold options, no bread to go with the pate and no soup?? Jugs of sauces wouldnt pour and no spoons available. Dinner buffet was a choice of carvery, fish or vegetarian. Meats on the carvery were fantastic and the vegetables were cooked to perfection and hot. Desert buffet, only cold deserts, I would say passable but not exceptional.

Breakfast was buffet self service with some options available from a small menu.
Quality of food was not that same as experienced at dinner. Greasy oily bacon, small sausages and cold has browns. Table also very crowded with milk jugs, teapots, coffee pots, side plates, cups, glasses, cutlery, butter, sugar!!! Left not much room to eat.

Used the swimming pool on site. Was fairly clean and tidy but showing singes of ageing.

The grounds were well kept around the hotel, although you can't venture too far around the hotel as it is surrounded by "do not walk onto the golf course" signs.....

Good points
Staff were all very friendly, pleasant and happy.
For the price we paid represents excellent value for money.
Comfortable bed
Food was good to excellent.


Bad points
Strolling around the path around the outside of the hotel we discovered the staff smoking shelter .... Hope the kitchen isn't left in the same state..
Needs some care and attention, bath taps and shower heads really need replacing.
Ceiling fan in room didn't work. Mains fan located in the wardrobe. Needed to leave fan on and window open all night as room was stuffy.
View from room was of a flat roof only. No view of grounds or of anything interesting at all.

Suggestions
Don't try to be all things to all people. Simple things like serving tea and coffee at the table doesn't really go well with a help yourself buffet and the tables for two don't have sufficient space to cope with sugar, milk, pots etc.
Keep your staff smiling, they all seemed to enjoy their work whoever we spoke to or saw.
Speed up the lift! Takes ages to get from floor to floor. We never used I. The end as we gave up waiting.
Make sure wine is in room upon arrival, you lost a sale for a second bottle at dinner.

In all I would have no hesitation at staying again. Thoroughly enjoyable stay for the price. Well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear TimPatrick

Many thanks for your review of the hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it excellent value for money. Our monthly menu and carvery are both very popular choices, I am glad that you found the carvery fantastic. I have passsed on your feedback to our Heads of Departments to act upon.
Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Kind Regards
Catrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    710
    516
    277
    179
See reviews for
400
1,137
38
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel set in awesome grounds (shame about the glofists). The rooms are excellent and the facilities first rate.
On the negative note... a ham sandwich and a pedestrian bottle of pinot grig cost thirty quid and was probably worth a tenner for the convenience of room service.

Room Tip: Be nice to the receptionist, making her laugh at your misfortune gets a room upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XIA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear XIA99
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you found the rooms excellent and the facilities first rate. We continually review our extensive wine list to ensure we offer quality wines for all budgets and tastes so I was disappointed to hear you did not rate the Pinot Grigio you chose on this occasion. I do hope that I will be able to welcome you back to the hall soon.
Kind Regards
Catrin Long
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Nice base for travelling round Norfolk.

Stayed here for a wedding over 2 nights and the room was big, clean.

Use of the gym was great, swimming pool was warm.

Breakfast was ok.

Bar drinks were expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear KITTENKB
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay at Dunston Hall. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The location of the Hall provides a great base for exploring the county and many local attractions and I do hope that you will be returning to us soon.
Kind Regards
Catrin Long
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just wanted to get out of the city for the weekend and this was the perfect place to relax and get away.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Food (in the bar and breakfast) was lovely. The grounds are gorgeous (particularly liked sitting out on the Terrrace Bar in the afternoon sunshine). The pool/sauna/steam rooms were lush and relaxing. It's close enough to Norwich city centre that you can get a taxi in and back if you want to have a drink and don't want to drive.
The only thing that could have made it better is if we golfed!
Thanks for a great weekend away from it all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Lizlon
Thank you for the fantastic post and awarding Dunston Hall 5 stars. I am delighted that you found the staff friendly and helpful, the food lovely and the grounds gorgeous. All the team at Dunston really appreciate your wonderful feedback.
Kind Regards
Catrin Long
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

So even though we were disappointed with the first visit we want back. We like Norwich, and the price at Dunston is not bad.

Two nights stay with breakfast. The room on this occasion was better located. When we booked we told them of our previous experience. They therefore made sure we had a quiet room. This time on the 3rd floor not on a thoroughfare. The room was clean and reasonably well appointed (under the beds had not been cleaned for sometime. I dropped a coin that rolled under).

Breakfast was good. Help yourself buffet with full English, cereals, fruit, continental etc. staff at breakfast very friendly and made sure drinks were refilled.

The venue is very impressive from the outside and as such is a sought after location for balls, weddings etc. this lets the place down. On wanting to go into the bar for a drink and maybe a bar meal there were no seats available due to wedding guests and others flopped over the seats (clearly more comfy than the function rooms), kids running around etc. my advice don't plan on eating in the bar when there are multi functions on.

Overall a more enjoyable stay than last time. Yes I'd go back (providing the price stays the same) and I would recommend it as a base for exploring Norwich.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Rob H
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Dunston Hall. I am sorry to read that there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Guest feedback is very important to us and I assure you we shall use your feedback to improve our offering. I do hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Catrin Long
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We enjoyed our weekend in the Wellington suite, Room was very spacious and clean.
Food was good .However we were disappointed at breakfast to see one of the kitchen staff,empty
what was left of the scrambled egg emptied into the fresh container of scrambled egg.rendering my breakfast cold. We brought this to the attention of the manager
Mike and Jacqui.

Room Tip: Pay for an up grade.Good discounts available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Mike & Jacqui
Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Wellington Suite. Our four poster bedrooms are very popular due to their size and traditional elegance.
We pride ourselves on providing one of the best breakfasts in Norwich and our Executive Chef has reviewed procedures to ensure we continue to do so.
I do hope you choose Dunston Hall to celebrate your 26th wedding anniversary!
King Regards
Catrin Long
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful location, grand imposing dining hall. Food was very good , staff were a little slow but overall a thumbs up. The gardens were a joy to see and could be a fantastic wedding venue. Would be a lovely place to have a weekend break !!!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1d1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear 1d1d
Thank you for your great comments about Dunston Hall. I am so pleased you had a lovely lunch. We are very proud of our chefs and they were delighted to receive such a great review.
Thank you
Catrin Long
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,103 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
877 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing