We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful venue, great team”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue, great team”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just returned from a short break at this beautiful hotel. On arrival the private drive gives a hint of what is to be found when Dunstan Hall comes into view. Stunning! On entering reception we were greeted by polite and friendly reception staff offering tea & coffee as we checked in. Our room was a standard double and very spacious, it was however very warm and we noticed a slight issue with the bathroom. Within 5 mins of calling reception we had a member of the facilities management rectifying the issue and an air-con unit delivered which sorted the room temperature. Staff here are fantastic! During our stay we used the spa facilities and once again found both facilities and staff perfect. Breakfast is buffet style and more than plentiful, something for all diets and appetites and quality. We loved this hotel and will return. Last point, Norwich City is only a couple of miles away but there is a very good park and ride a few hundred yards from the hotel drive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilnSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Philnsal

Thank you very much for the review of Dunston Hall, im so pleased to see that the team here at the hotel looked after you so well during your stay, i know the team love to read comments like yours.

Its also pleasing to see that the issue with your room as sorted so quickly.

I hope we will see you again at the Hall in the near future.

Kind Regards

Catrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    723
    531
    283
    186
See reviews for
411
1,162
38
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I was quite apprehensive about staying after all the bad reviews but then just before I went I saw that there was some good reviews so i was a little less apprehensive. Now upon arriving I was quite impressed and but I did notice that there were a lot of dirty Windows which had cobwebs on them as I was going along to my room. I was surprised with my room. (In a good way)There was just a few issues with my room but nothing majorly wrong firstly the distance from everything for a disabled person is really hard and access isn't easy. There was something on the wall in the bathroom and I don't know what that was and the shower dripped constantly which is really annoying when you're trying to sleep. The bedspread was worn and could do with a couple of stitches but it's still has got life in it yet so it you can still be used. The carpet was not worn but sustained and could benefit from a steam cleaning. Staff where exceptionally friendly apart from one lady on reception would just didn't speak or smile. And the food was good. I do not believe that this hotel is old-fashioned and tired and not good this is an old historical building that is going to look old to a lot of people and the only thing I would say about it is the chambermaids need to clean a bit better and carry a feather duster with them and the carpets throughout the hotel need to be cleaned. Treatments were good . So don't be put off by the reviews and I'm sure that the staff will help if they can this is a vastly huge hotel and they cannot possibly send someone round to check every single room so if there is a problem just let them know and I am sure they will fix it. I will go back to stay again .

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank buttercupp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Buttercupp53

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Dunston Hall, it was good to read that over all you enjoyed your stay with us, a little disappointing to see that some areas of the hotel were not cleaned to the high standard we expect.

I have passed your comments onto the head housekeeper and Front of House Manager for them to look into.

I hope we will see you back at the Hall in the near future.

Kind Regards

Catrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night with my boyfriend as a treat. The hotel looks amazing in the inside as well as the outside alongside stunning views around the hotel. The room was a good size with a very comfy bed, however the 'king' size bed was just two doubles pushed together which was a bit disappointing. However, that was the only negative, the staff were nice and friendly and the hotel had a very homely feeling!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamie-LeighRoehrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Jamie-leighroehrig

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of Duston Hall, its great to see you both enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope you will be back to see us again soon.

Kind Regards

Catrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for a golf break with 7 other guys. What a great hotel. Rooms very good, food the same, staff excellent, across the board. The golf course is a challenge. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a de-luxe room. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99CEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear 99Cem

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, its good to see you had a great time, I hope you will come and see us again soon.

Kind Regards

Catrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My son Ashley and his girlfriend had their wedding reception here on 9th August. I really must say, it was well organised and very enjoyable. The staff were brilliant. We used the swimming pool and other facilities, again with lovely staff. I will say though there could be better house keeping in the bedrooms, dried water marking on the bathroom surfaces and dust on window sills. However, my granddaughter aged 11 was very sick and couldn't make it to the toilet in the room. The help we had from the two men staff at 1.30am was brilliant. My other two of four grandchildren were hungry and one of the men sorted out some food and water. We know we did disturb other guests who were not from the wedding party, but we were sorry and it was hard to keep the two children under three from crying as not in familiar surroundings and very hot in the bedrooms without any air conditioning. The fan only put around the already hot air. The breakfast was extremely good and again nothing was too much trouble. But it was still very nice to stay at Dunston Hall with all its history.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C12jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear C12jax

Thank you for taking the time to review Dunston Hall. I'm so glad the wedding was fantastic and every one enjoyed it, please pass on my best to the happy couple.

Its great to see the 2 gents from our nights team helped when your granddaughter was unwell, i hope shes ok now.

I hope you will return to Dunston Hall soon.

Kind Regards

Catrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We are here right now. On the whole this place has been a real disappointment. The check in receptionist was thoroughly glum! Not a bit of enthusiasm from her at all.
The room is a twin deluxe room. Paying full price....we are still looking for the deluxe part. It is dull. We had no tea bags, no bottled water provided, no bathrobes, no face clothes...just no personal touches at all. The brasserie staff are very nice. The decor and layout are glum! Nothing pretty about it. The food was below average at best.
We have paid £808 for two nights bed and breakfast. Really not worth half of that. The carpets throughout the hotel and including our room need a good scrub.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsgrunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Scotsgrunny

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, i was disapointed to see your stay was not up to the standard expected. Please contact me on catrin.long@devere-hotels.com to discuss your stay with me.

Kind Regards

Catrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

Show Prices
Thirsk
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Second visit to Dunston Hall, once again very enjoyable. Nicely fitted rooms and very quiet, good quality food with plenty of choice. Nice spa area, nice for a re-charge. Would certainly come back again..

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patroni2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrin_Long, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Patroni2013

Thank you for your review of Dunston Hall, its great to see you had another nice and relaxing stay with us, i hope we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Catrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,114 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
885 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
875 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Property: Dunston Hall
Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing