We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Excellent facilities, Fantastic restaurant and sports bar. Extremely comfortable and well thought out rooms with good attention to detail - Molton Brown toiliteries, bathroom night light, black out curtains, large flat screen TV, proper coffee, huge comfy bed, quite effective climate control, no noise from neighbouring rooms, easy to use wifi, the list goes on - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    303
    109
    51
    30
See reviews for
116
369
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

If you want a spa hotel where you can wander about in your robe and slippers, pottering from sauna to massage to lunch, this is not the place for you. What it is however, is a lovely hotel with a leisure centre and spa and a great place to relax.
Our room was huge, quiet and very comfortable, with Molton Brown toiletries. The food in the restaurant was really nice and the service was very attentive. As a golf club, it was fairly busy but the lounge area was still quite quiet and I happily spent ages just peacefully reading a book and enjoying a coffee. My husband was able to use the driving range for a very reasonable price.
Other spa hotels we've been to have always been very busy, with lots of people having day spas. This is not the case at Barnham Broom, and as a result the spa area was really quiet and our treatments unhurried and very relaxing. There were scented candles burning and the therapists took the time to give really personal service. Even my hand treatment took place in a private room, whereas in other hotels there is often a communal 'nail bar'.
The only downside is the leisure centre, which does feel like a public baths. In the end I didn't bother going for a swim as the pool was really small and full of kids. The cafe felt very 'golf clubby', but then it is a golf club so fair enough! Not sure I'd bother with Afternoon Tea as I don't think the cafe surroundings really lend themselves to the whole Afternoon Tea experience.
Overall my husband and I had a brilliant short break and came home feeling refreshed and relaxed. Just be aware if you're booking a 'spa break' that it won't quite be the robe and slippers experience you may be expecting.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and had a really relaxing stay. My husband used the gym which he said was great and not crowded. The pool was full of children splashing about and diving in, even though the signs say no diving, but it was Bank Holiday weekend. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I found the corridors dark which did not help when there was a powe cut as you could not see a thing and had to feel your way along the wall to find your room. Things are spread around the hotel therefore I would not go to the spa area or pool in the bathrobes provided as you have to walk through reception and the sports bar. The food was lovely and beautifully cooked. The restaurant staff were a bit slow taking our orders on the second night, but once this was done, service flowed nicely. There was a power cut for 6 hrs on the Sarurday night which could have caused problems for the Restaurant but they coped admirably, serving a limited menu and the food was delicious. The Restaurant staff worked their socks off this night and did an amazing job having to read the menu by torch light and then serve everyone. All staff were friendly and helpful adding to the enjoyment of your stay. The rooms have tea/coffee and nice biscuits, great hair dryer and lovely bath/shower/shampoo supplies. It also has a large TV and good sound proofing as we never heard the people staying either side. It's a bit off the beaten track so a car is necessary, but we had such a lovely weekend that we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Myself and my Mum had booked the spa package that included a massage or facial, use of the leisure facilities, an overnight stay and breakfast.

The spa treatment area is on the other side of the hotel to the leisure facilities meaning that to walk between the two you have to go through the reception, a lounge area and a busy sports bar. The spa treatment area looked nice and the staff were helpful and friendly.

As our treatments were booked for later in the day we decided to use the leisure facilities first. The changing rooms looked like those in a public pool and the pool itself was small and luke warm. A large portion of it as roped off for children who were jumping in and playing loudly. It was not a relaxing 'spa' experience at all.

We were so disappointed with the quality of the facilities and the distance between the treatment rooms and the pool that we made a complaint and asked for a full refund. The deputy manager handled our complaint well and gave us a full refund immediately.

I think that what is shown and described on their website completely misrepresents what is available and I would hate to think that anybody had booked a spa package for a special occasion and arrived at the hotel to find what we did. It is not a spa but a series of treatment rooms and an old fashioned leisure centre pool.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Pacificpanda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds a few miles south of Norwich. If you stay there you will either need a car or spend money on taxi's as it is in the middle of nowhere.

The hotel has been refurbished relatively recently and has a nice leisure centre and a very nice restaurant which I would recommend. They have small dining rooms which can be booked for a private function which is particularly nice. If you like golf the course is pretty good although the area is blessed with several good courses.

Room Tip: i believe that the most recently refurbished rooms are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyGNCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in January in one of the holiday villas and were totally surprised by the quality of the accomodation, it was exceptionally clean with all the required facilities. The 2 golf courses are fantastic, kept in great condition and well maintained. The hotel, golf and restaurant staff were ever so helpful. The food is first class and of a very high standard. We would definately reccommend staying there as this venue should be rated at 4* or above

Room Tip: The suites are perfect for a romantic stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

A very nice and comfortable place to stay. Very nice bedrooms and public rooms. Reasonably priced. Coffee at breakfast hadn't been exposed to many coffee beans and was only slightly stronger than water.

Room Tip: Avoid room 30 if you don't want everyone entering the hotel accommodation looking through into y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Property: Barnham Broom
Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing