We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice stay”
Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We arrived at the Barnham Broom on Friday evening. Travelling from London it was a pretty straight forward journey but I suggest a satnav! Parking is very available at the front of the main building and we checked in very quickly by very nice reception staff. The building is very nice, the rooms are impressive without being over the top. There was a string of very small issues along the way, the first being here when we got to our room. We couldn't enjoy a bottle of champagne that I ordered to the room the day before arriving as there wasn't an ice bucket / glasses (strange I know). Anyway, the staff allowed us to take this to dinner on the Saturday without any problems. We didn't get the experience the full gold course(s), however we did use the small driving range and the course looked amazing! The Spa and fitness centre has everything you need, Gym, Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna etc.

Dinner Saturday night was nice, the food was amazing! The service however, slow and inexperienced. This was only down to the fact that a wedding was booked in over the weekend we were there, being held in the private function part of the building. We used the bar after dinner to have a few more drinks and went to bed, which I must add is one of the biggest and most comfortable beds I have ever slept on!

Before we left on the Sunday, I asked to speak to the standards manager Samantha, who was most helpful and addressed the small issues incredibly professionally. She was adamant that these areas were re-visited so that nobody else has the same problems, along with a small gesture of goodwill and we were on our way home.

We will definitely be heading back to the Barnham Broom for another weekend in the early part of next year. Overall it was a very nice stay, food was excellent and we will definitely take the golf clubs to hit the course next time round!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review after recently staying with us at Barnham Broom. We take pride in our beautiful Hotel and our 2 stunning Golf courses so thank you very much for your kind words. We always appreciate our guest’s comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are working and maintaining the excellent service that we strive for everyday.

Thank you again for your feedback and we shall look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We arrived late on the Friday night after a really bad car trip. All I can say is within 5 minutes of our arrival we had forgotten all about it. The service was second to none, with nothing being to much trouble. I had arranged to entertain my top customers with golf for the boys and spa for the girls, again this was a fantastic experience. The food was great, we ate an evening meal Friday which was fabulous and breakfast both mornings, there was plenty to eat.

All staff were brilliant.

Never a frown everywhere smiles all round.

Well done to all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzz208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you very much for such a kind review and for taking the time to share your experience at Barnham Broom. I was delighted to read that you received an exceptional level of service and excellent food that we strive for everyday. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority.

Thank you once again and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed as part of secret escapes deal which was very good value and included a nice afternoon tea. The breakfast was good and the staff were pleasant.However, we were really disappointed with type of clientele that was at the hotel on the Saturday afternoon,we had our afternoon tea booked for 3pm and there was a large group in the sports bar,their language was absolutely awful and could be heard through the whole of the lounge area.For a four star hotel I was shocked to hear such vile language,if I had of had my children with us I would have left the hotel immediately,at no point did any member of staff intervene to calm the rowdy group down.even when the group was walking through the lounge their language was awful. I loved the hotel but really don't think we would book again if this sort of behaviour is the norm

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcela40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your afternoon tea, that the staff were very pleasant and that you loved the Hotel. However, i would like to sincerly apologise for the bad language you experienced from another party. Please be assured that i have made staff and Management aware of how much disruption that was made to you and your guest and this is something that we do not tolerate at Barnham Broom. We take great care to ensure that important matters such as this are properly looked into and have taken steps to insure that this does not re - occur.

I am very gratful for your feedback, we hope that you would return to Barnham Broom in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The rooms are well appointed and clean, lovely Molton Brown toiletries. We found every single member of staff to be friendly and polite, they made us feel very comfortable and welcomed. The spa treatements were done to a very high standard. All in all a great place to for girls getaway weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G66Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you very much for such a kind review. It was so lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that all the staff at Barnham Broom were friendly and made you feel welcome. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority.

We really appreciate your kind words and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed as part of secret escapes deal which was very good value and included a nice afternoon tea. The breakfast was good and the staff were pleasant and courteous on the whole. However, we were really disappointed with the pool/sauna area - very tired, dirty grouting and pretty shabby overall. It does taint the experience and general perception of the hotel, because it was difficult to relax in the pool area and hence the reason the break wasn't quite what we were looking for. If you don't plan to use the pool, your experience may be different.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fonzy_harlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay at Barnham Broom and the staff were pleasant and courteous. However, I was concerned with your comments regarding the pool area and Sauna. Please be assured that i have spoken to our Health & Fitness Manager who will be looking into all the points you have raised.

We thoroughly appreciate your feedback so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We decided to book Barnham Broom for our daughter's wedding and could not have made a better choice. We had a fantastic day, as a result of the attentive service from Andrew and his excellent team. The room looked beautiful and the food was excellent, both for the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet. Jerry the toastmaster kept the day moving with a balance of organisation and fun. I would strongly recommend this venue for your wedding day.

Room Tip: WE did not stay at the hotel as we live locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are so pleased that we made your daughters wedding day so special. Providing Our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our passion.

I will pass on your kind words to Andrew and his team who will be delighted with your lovely comments.

Thank you ones again and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed with 22 close friends for my 40th birthday. Everyone had a wonderful time, the standard of rooms was excellent as was the restaurant and lounge area. We all enjoyed the golf, incredibly challenging (especially in the wind). Wives loved their treatments and were very well catered for. Overall we had a great time, Most importantly we were made to feel at home and that allowed everyone to relax, the hotel managed even with a large group to create a great balance between formal and relaxed, happy to keep bar open late.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J, Guest Relations Manager at Barnham Broom, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments after your recent stay at Barnham Broom. I am so pleased to read that all your needs were met and you received exceptional level of service. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority.

We thoroughly appreciate your feedabck and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,227 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,877 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
980 reviews
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range: £87 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing